We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queens Pub

Victoria Street, Windermere LA23 1AB, England
+44 15394 43713
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good27%
  • Average21%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Victoria Street, Windermere LA23 1AB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After spending the day hiking around the mountains and lakes I abandoned the fine dining at my hotel to venture out for some classic pub grub In nearby Windermere town. If you can overlook the restaurant being above the pub, this was exactly what I...More

2  Thank Matty_Gunning_81
j_j_3_j_j, Manager at The Queens Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your review! Please pop back and see us when you are next in the area, your majesty ;)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a rip off! Advertised as home cooked food which lured us in & paid £14.95 for what was a very greasy cheap burger on a dry bap served on an unhygenic wooden chopping board thats seen better days! Not at all value for money....More

Thank clarecowap1
j_j_3_j_j, Manager at The Queens Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Our food is all home cooked as advertised and our most expensive burger is our best selling Queens burger, at £13.95 (not £14.95) for a 12oz Aberdeen Angus beef burger with cheese, bacon, onion rings and burger relish, a generous side of chips and salad...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ended up here only because the other 3 places we tried weren't open. It was awful. We should have turned around and found anywhere else when we saw there was only one other table occupied. I think it was, without a doubt, the worst...More

Thank cathcook1
j_j_3_j_j, Manager at The Queens Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Your review is so vague, what was awful? Did you let any of the staff know you were unhappy? We may not get it right all the time but as you can see from other reviews, we always make sure to rectify any issues... we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

windermere is very nice to visit, problem is there are a lot of high priced places waiting to take your money off you.This is a proper pub with good food nice atmosphere and real prices.

2  Thank Stephen C
j_j_3_j_j, Manager at The Queens Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks! We do our best to keep our prices competitive and your comments mean a lot to us, come back and see us again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, very friendly. We came here as a party of 11. I might add the only place that would take a large booking. Couldn’t fault the food or the service. Some nice local ales. We won’t hesitate to come back next time we are...More

1  Thank LeeTaylor58
j_j_3_j_j, Manager at The Queens Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we’re glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and We look forward to your return next time you’re in the area!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's a proper spit and saw dust pub with a pool table. The bar staff were really friendly and the other clientele. Had a great couple of hours in here

Thank Marieanne F
j_j_3_j_j, Manager at The Queens Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good to hear you enjoyed your visit! We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 9 September 2018

On Sunday 2nd of September four of us called at The Queens pub for lunch. Due to the prices expected for the food, we felt we would be provided with a good quality meal. We ordered 3 beef dinners at £11.95 each and one chicken...More

3  Thank ebuxton1
j_j_3_j_j, Manager at The Queens Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We were very sorry to hear you weren’t happy with your food, we take all complaints very seriously and your comments have not been ignored. All our food is freshly cooked to order and we will always do our best to rectify any issues if...More

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We popped in here today for a quick hot drink after a long walk. Lattes...no. OK filter coffee will do. That was fine but the tea for two had one teabag in the pot...like dishwater. And at nearly 11 quid for the four, very bad...More

2  Thank Pete B
j_j_3_j_j, Manager at The Queens Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We’re sorry to hear you were unhappy with your visit, we do serve only freshly brewed filter coffee, however we have a selection of different teas on offer. A pot of tea for two should not have had only 1 teabag, this sounds like an...More

Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

We visited with friends for Sunday lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the meal and service. Well done and 5 stars. As a result, we returned for the Wednesday evening curry night and had two of the worst meals ever. The manageress was lovely and did her...More

Thank Alan K
j_j_3_j_j, Manager at The Queens Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

It would seem you have the wrong pub! There are a few establishments that share our name in Cumbria but we don’t do a curry night nor was our kitchen open last Wednesday, and while our Manager is rather fabulous, he is definitely not a...More

Reviewed 21 August 2018

We ordered a variety of meals for eight Adults, most were poorly presented and 3 meals left. 2 meals half eaten and 1 meal was reasonable and the other two were picked and left.

2  Thank John S
j_j_3_j_j, Manager at The Queens Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

We’re sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meals, if you had made us aware at the time we would’ve gladly rectified this for you - we hope you give us another try !

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Windermere
Applegarth Villa Hotel and Restaurant
1,387 reviews
.08 km away
The Lamplighter
350 reviews
.09 km away
The Windermere Hotel
955 reviews
.22 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel
1,260 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Crafty Baa
713 reviews
.02 km away
The Screes Inn
76 reviews
.13 km away
Just Good Food
68 reviews
.06 km away
Sugar&Spice Cafe and Bistro
276 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Orrest Head
1,410 reviews
.79 km away
High Street
183 reviews
.13 km away
Lakeland Pony Trek
94 reviews
.99 km away
Windermere Information
27 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
steve c
9 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from paulainsworth | Property representative |
every Thursday night from 9pm.
0
Votes
Sayers-Bates
5 May 2017|
Answer
Response from angelg2965 | Property representative |
yes they are. as long as they are on a lead.
0
Votes
Bigello
21 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from angelg2965 | Property representative |
Nice to have someone in from my home town. warrington. we do our best but we cannot please everyone. But we do our best in a very difficult climate for pubs that are rented of large pub company's who do nothing to but... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$18
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Victoria Street, Windermere LA23 1AB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Windermere
  • Phone Number: +44 15394 43713
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing