We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Riverside

#14,868 of 18,389 Restaurants in London
$$ - $$$, British,
5 St. George Wharf | Hamilton House, London SW8 2LE, England
+44 20 7735 8129
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good28%
  • Average18%
  • Poor21%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“roast dinner” (3 reviews)
“poached eggs” (3 reviews)
“pudding” (5 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Gastropub, Pub, Wine Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5 St. George Wharf | Hamilton House, London SW8 2LE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Fabulous gastropub located, as the name suggests, on the south side of the river Thames very close to Vauxhall rail and tube station (less than 5 minutes walk). Huge inside with nice seating area and armchair and sofa furniture. A friend and myself visited one...More

Thank Chippa368
Reviewed 1 week ago

First time visiting this place and was I surprised. It was buzzing which meant quite a wait at the bar but once we sat down for our meal it just got better and better. The service was amazing - unfortunately didn't get the lady's name...More

Thank dougalchew
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tiajh was really helpful when I wanted to reserve a couple of tables for drinks at the last minute. The venue has a great location and is very spacious - good for groups.

Thank Ilovechoc
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

About 15-20 minutes walk to the Bridge, this excellent riverside pub offers a good range of beers and food. Booking is recommended on match days and allow a little longer for service.More

Thank A1n2thony
.Riverside V, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at The Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi There, Thank you for leaving us a review and we love that you have called us a excellent pub! I would love to hear your ideas on how we can turn your 4 star review into a 5 star on your next visit. Pop...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I’ve lived in St George Wharf for 2 years but this was my first time to Riverside. It wasn’t bad to start. The door doesn’t close on its own, and it’s freezing outside, but there was more character than I expected. After some time we...More

Thank sswor
.Riverside V, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at The Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time out to let us know about your experience, however we are sorry that you feel this way about your visit. We are very sorry that this mistake happened with our new member of staff, we did try...More

Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Partner had the burger which came with skinny chips. All of it was under salted. I had the sausages. They were bland shockingly. The mash was under salted and the gravy was limited. Poor. Service was ok but the ladies behind the bar did not...More

Thank Koolbreeze51
.Riverside V, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at The Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time out to let us know about your visit, we really do appreciate all the feedback we receive as it helps us grow as a business. We are very sorry to hear the meals you had were not...More

Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Never been here before and my boyfriend brought us here for valentines and It was perfect! The restaurant is widen away off the main road along the riverfront and we had a really delicious meal. All the staff were really jolly and spreading the valentine...More

Thank j987H
.Riverside V, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at The Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Hi There, Thank you for your kind words and for leaving us a 5 star! We are always very happy to hear our guests enjoyed thier visit, especially on Valentine's day. I will be sure to let the team know they did a great job....More

Reviewed 14 February 2018

I booked a table for a social event with the motorcycle club I am part of and we had a great time. Fast, amicable service and great food too. Will be coming back on a warmer evening to enjoy the views from the esplanade!More

Thank Susana M
.Riverside V, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at The Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Hi Susana, Thank you very much for leaving us a 5 star review! We are very happy to hear you and the other members of your motorcycle club had a great time. Whenever you feeling like visiting us again pop me an email on riversideevents@youngs.co.uk...More

Reviewed 12 February 2018

I drove from Southampton to Vauxhall to have lunch with a visiting Canadian friend. The 6 hour round trip didn't bother me. What did though, was the complete lack of knowledge and appreciation for the customer. They absolutely weren't interested in their customers. I have...More

Thank neptune21
.Riverside V, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at The Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hi There, We are really sorry you had this experience while visiting The Riverside. Your complaint has been received and investigated with our team. Our Operations Manager has sent a response directly to your email address regarding the feedback. Kind Regards, The Riverside Team

Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

I come here a couple of times after work for drinks and it’s a nice bar with a great view of the river Thames. The outside area is nice for the view but it’s bit on the pricy side.More

Thank LisaGoss
.Riverside V, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at The Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi Lisa, Thank you for leaving us a review. I am happy to hear you are a regular of ours and enjoy join us for after work drinks! We love the view of the river and glad you feel the same. We take pride in...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,080 hotels in London
Travelodge London Vauxhall Hotel
1,530 reviews
.22 km away
Staybridge Suites London - Vauxhall
834 reviews
.56 km away
Holiday inn Express London - Vauxhall Nine Elms
443 reviews
.58 km away
Best Western Plus Vauxhall Hotel
35 reviews
.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kennington Lane Cafe
470 reviews
.40 km away
Pop Art Sushi
382 reviews
.13 km away
Pico Bar & Grill
292 reviews
.34 km away
Cottons
36 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tate Britain
3,256 reviews
.57 km away
Pimlico
95 reviews
.59 km away
Vauxhall City Farm
62 reviews
.54 km away
Whistle Punks Urban Axe Throwing
67 reviews
.31 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Riverside staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$33
Cuisine
Bar, British, Gastropub, Pub, Wine Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 St. George Wharf | Hamilton House, London SW8 2LE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7735 8129
  • E-mail
Description
An eclectic British pub, The Riverside offers a modern British menu, showcasing the best in seasonal produce. Hearty mains and wholesome weekend brunches are bolstered by a menu of old school desserts, while the bar at The Riverside offers the stock of real ales Young's pubs have become famous for. Chunky wood tables and a spirit and pump-lined bar make this a popular spot for relaxed and informal all-day dining. Our Head Chef Tony & his team of chefs have created a delicious menu using only the finest of seasonal ingredients, to satisfy the most discerning of taste buds. Serving amazing roasts on a Sunday and a tasty brunch, lunch and evening menu throughout the week. We are the ideal space for your up and coming celebrations, Whether its a birthday, engagement or even retirement. Get in touch to find out about our range of packages. We also have ideal space for day time meetings during the week.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing