We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Slug & Lettuce

#15,090 of 18,247 Restaurants in London}
$$ - $$$, British,
City of London 5 Fetter Lane, London EC4A 1BR, England
+44 845 126 2905
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good37%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible14%
2 Sep 2017
“The usual from this large chain”
23 Dec 2016
“Don't choose the Chicken strips or the skinny fries”
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Brew Pub, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
City of London 5 Fetter Lane, London EC4A 1BR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Booked a table of 6 to cerebrate end of a busy summer season at 12:30. Got the starters quite quick but waited 50 mins for the remaining mains. We told the server that we needed to go that our lunch time was over. We would...More

Thank Jun_Oh
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I have been a regular in this pub for 5 years and I can not believe how downhill this pub has gone. They got rid of the manager and 3 great barman in Pedro, Pedro and Carlos and the replacements have no concept on how...More

3  Thank SneakyBeers
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Nothing remarkable from this chain, but a very efficient establishment doing what it does very well. Nice 'clean' atmosphere. Plenty of room, & seating. Large range of drinks. Enjoyed our visit.

Thank dace520
slugfetterlane, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback :)

Reviewed 2 July 2017

I don't have the words to describe what a horrible experience this was. We will definitely NEVER visit this place ever.... We were a group of 6 and when we arrived the place was empty except for few folks drinking their lunch. We were never...More

Thank RicoRicky
slugfetterlane, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, I would like to apologise for the experience you had. Can you please email me and we can discuss the matter further. sales.s&lfetterlane@stonegatepubs.com

Reviewed 29 June 2017

A central London establishment would be conscious of the needs of clientele, you would think, but not here. We booked a table for 4 for 12.30pm, but were told on arrival to sit where we liked - in a standoffish way. So we did, and...More

Thank theholidayingsisters
slugfetterlane, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, I would like to apologise for the experience you had. Can you please email me and we can discuss the matter further. sales.s&lfetterlane@stonegatepubs.com

Reviewed 7 June 2017

Our tour co. Booked our pub dinner here. The tour guide gave the pub the food count and no. Of guests 24 hrs before our arrival. When our group of 75 arrived we found tables set up with mismatched chairs. It took 30 mins. For...More

1  Thank georwc
slugfetterlane, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hi Georwc, Thank you for your feedback, and we apologise for any problems caused.

A TripAdvisor Member
41
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

Extremely packed restaurant/pub, if you can call it either of those. A nonplussed service all round and worse than average food. We took the liberty of renaming some of the dishes. Grilled chicken burger = fowl burger, bangers and mash = bangers and smash (if...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
slugfetterlane, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

I am so sorry to hear of your unfortunate dining experience with us, we are in the process of menu change and staff recruitment within the kitchen and floor. In the next coming weeks we have a brand new menu, if you would like to...More

Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

We went as part of a hen do for their cocktail making class. Didn't realise we would have the whole bar to ourselves!! It was super good value we got food, bubbles, we made our cocktail and a shot. The guys running it were very...More

1  Thank Hayley H
slugfetterlane, Director of Sales at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you so much for complimenting our service and the masterclass! We're glad you had a lot of fun and the guys running the shift had a great time hosting you and your party!

Reviewed 21 April 2017

I went there with a group of friends on (Wine) Wednesday evening for birthday drinks. I phoned a week before to book an area and was told they would check and call me back. They did not so I called again and was told they...More

1  Thank Sharon W
slugfetterlane, Director of Sales at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

I am sorry to hear of this unfortunate experience you had with us last week. Since your visit the start of this week has seen a growth in staff, with myself taking on bookings and sales management, the food ordering is now being managed and...More

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Drinks good food awful as bit onto glass in my wrap. I gave my details to them but even after I contacted them to say I have a problem with my tooth they have not contacted me back. Very rude and will never go in...More

1  Thank lindjoy
slugfetterlane, Front Office Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Hi, We are so sorry to hear that no one has got back to you! Could you please email us on slugandlettuce.fetterlane@stonegatepubs.com Thank you, Gemma Harris Sales & Events Manager

Nearby
City of London
From its ancient past as a Roman trading outpost to
its 21st century status as the wealthiest square mile
in the world, the financial district known simply as
“The City” is one of London's most historic and
fascinating neighbourhoods. Here high rise office
towers such as Norman Foster’s Gherkin mingle with
Roman ruins and architectural marvels from virtually
every era in between, including Christopher Wren's
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese
1,476 reviews
.14 km away
Brasserie Blanc Chancery Lane
155 reviews
.14 km away
The Tipperary
195 reviews
.11 km away
Pilpel
100 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Temple Church
469 reviews
.17 km away
Royal Courts of Justice
216 reviews
.26 km away
Dr. Johnson's House
162 reviews
.11 km away
St Bride's
85 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Slug & Lettuce staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19 - US$21
Cuisine
Bar, British, Brew Pub, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Monday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: City of London 5 Fetter Lane, London EC4A 1BR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > City of London
  • Neighbourhood: City of London
  • Phone Number: +44 845 126 2905
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing