We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crooked Well

#3,455 of 18,173 Restaurants in London}
$$ - $$$British, ,
16 Grove Lane, London SE5 8SY, England
+44 20 7252 7798
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (11 reviews)
“gazpacho” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Bar, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
16 Grove Lane, London SE5 8SY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice pub in a good setting. Starters crab and prawns cocktail. Main course sea bass was very good. Hake main dish was way too salty as also the greens. Service was average.

Thank trackah
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We threw a surprise meal for my sisters 33rd birthday and had a party of 22 in the red room, it was fabulous from the greeting to the delicious meal, service and atmosphere. The staff were extremely attentive, friendly and welcoming. The restaurant is one...More

Thank Tee Word S
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Dinner menu very disappointing. Seriously expensive hamburgers were okay. Soup swamped with sugar. Salmon served with a sauce as sweet as treacle and truly awful. We were chased out at 11 pm by very loud music. Give this place a miss.More

Thank Jeremy F
Jennifer A, Owner at The Crooked Well, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Jeremy, I am very sad to hear you didn't enjoy your visit to us. I will pass on your comments about the food to the kitchen, though we have been receiving very good feedback about the menu. We pride ourselves on our customer service so...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Fresh tender squid to start, roast lamb for two was amazing - well seasoned and cooked in rosemary and of course accompanying mint sauce! Great selection of wine and beer. It was a warm afternoon and we sat outside where the service was absolutely great....More

Thank bay-back
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We have been going to the Crooked well when we are staying in Dulwich for 6 years and this year we were really disappointed. We went twice because we could not believe how it had changed since the last time,it was very noisy and felt...More

Thank kateellery40
Harry S, General Manager at The Crooked Well, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Hi kateellery40, Thank you for your review. We are often very busy here at The Crooked Well and I can understand that during these more hectic moments it can feel like a busy space. We are a local pub, however, just as much as we...More

Reviewed 5 July 2017

The Crooked Well is consistently perfect. The staff are cool and friendly and the calamari is the best I've ever tasted. The food is always great and they have some interesting specials nights.

Thank Ben V
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

For £65 we enjoyed entrees, mains and a glass of wine each. Specifically the caper salmon and the flat-iron with a divine pepper sauce alongside well-priced Italian wine. Will be returning presently as the menu has 4-5 choices worth trying!

Thank bfn_abroad
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

The gazpacho was oily and oddly sweet, the aubergine parmigiana was overcooked, the house wine was unimpressive... and the bill was £84 for a light lunch for three. There are several better places within a few hundred yards (e.g. Theo's, Phoenix, Camberwell Arms). We won't...More

Thank Kim W
Harry S, General Manager at The Crooked Well, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Hello Kim W, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your meal with us on this occasion. In regards to the price of your bill, any price can feel too high if you don't enjoy your meal; as such it is our...More

Reviewed 18 May 2017

This restaurant has a lovely, relaxed atmosphere and fantastic, friendly staff. It's so nice to visit somewhere where you can hold a conversation without shouting! The menu is great and all enjoyed our food. Will definitely return.

Thank IshBees
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Second time at the Crooked well. This is exactly what I look for when in London. To start with the venue is lovely.A traditionnel pub but nothing drabby.Good crowd. I had the beef on the rib.Slowly cooked and just peeled off the bone.Excellent dish. Plaice...More

Thank angelo65Geneva
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Silk Road
203 reviews
.10 km away
FM Mangal
181 reviews
.08 km away
THEO'S
105 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
South London Gallery
18 reviews
.71 km away
The CLF Art Cafe
12 reviews
1.58 km away
Now Gallery
5 reviews
1.36 km away
Myatt's Fields Park
6 reviews
.96 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Daniel D
31 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Daniel D |
business casual, not jeans and tshirt, lots of family outings, smart attire but not semi-formal, hope this helps.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:30 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:30 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
12:30 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:30 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Grove Lane, London SE5 8SY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7252 7798
  • E-mail
Description
The Crooked Well is a neighbourhood favourite in the heart of Camberwell. Our award winning drinks list of classic cocktails, local beers and handpicked wines is sure to quench your thirst. And whether you are looking for a light bite or a full slap-up meal, our seasonal menu of family-style sharing dishes, and modern european home-cooking will fit the bill.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing