We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Geales

$$ - $$$
Kensington and Hyde Park
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
2 Farmer Street, London W8 7SN, England
442077277528
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 226: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

First off, this is a fish and seafood restaurant so since I am allergic, my choices were limited. I went with the lunch special and I found the food with little taste and the service quite slow. Nice place and probably a hidden gem for fish and seafood lovers.

Helpful?
Thank Dominique G
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Seafood at its best. The choices of fish and chips are superb, and so is the way the fish is cooked. The seafood platters are also very nice. On one of our visits the mac and cheese tasted very bitter, however the waitress immediately took care of that and offered to make it up to us with a new plate.... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnnathanD
Management response:

Thank you Johnathan for the review. At Geales we like to provide the best customer service and serve the best food! We hope to see you again! Dita Rudzite More 

Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we arrived at 7.40pm. by 8.40 we got our starters and they didn't all arrive at the same time. By 9.40 we got our mains. The restaurant was less than half full on a Friday night. My fish pie had more potato than fish. It was so hot I burnt the roof of my mouth. My partners meal, had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill-F1-fan
Management response:

Dear Bill, I hope you are well & enjoying your day. We are really upset to hear that your experience was not satisfactory. At Geales we pride ourselves on hearty portions and fantastic customer service. Its why we've been here for 70 years! We have looked into the situation in full - please can you contact us at info@geales.com at... More 

Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017

The fish and chips are good. However, the best is the fish pie and fish soup, really delicious, and fresh ingredients. Must try.

Helpful?
Thank Cymtl
Management response:

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We hope to see you soon! Dita Rudzite More 

Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

I'm regularly away on business in London and just fancied good fish and chips. It's a bit tucked away but close to Notting Hill Gate station. I ordered the Skate Wing and chips and it was spot on. I'd never tried Skate before but loved it. Nice friendly staff, nice wine and a pleasant relaxed atmosphere. I love seafood generally... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
Management response:

Thank you Paul so such for this wonderful review. We all really hope to see you again! Dita Rudzite More 

Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Booked lunch with a Groupon voucher Usually you get treated awfully but thought I would give it a try Even though I emailed them dozens of times via Groupon to confirm booking when arrived there it was shut due to a gas leak. The lady greeting us apologized and explained that Groupon doesn't communicate with them. Anyway she rebooked Very... More 

Helpful?
Thank christopysas
London UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

We have not been to Geales for some time but remembered it as a fantastic, if slightly expensive, fish restaurant. Sadly that wasn't our experience recently. No atmosphere, poorly trained staff and food that really missed the mark. Fish pie had great ingredients but no seasoning and virtually little flavour. A 12.5 % service charge slapped on the bill.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ellroy1962
Management response:

Dear Ellroy 1962, Really sorry to hear that you had such such a disappointing experience. Fish Pie is one of our most popular dishes, sorry you didn't like it. Really hope we can make it up to you, if you would be happy to come back again. 12.5% service charge is discretionary, sorry that you felt, you have to pay... More 

London UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This is the restaurant of choice for me when I want a lunchtime treat. Their beer battered fish is always cooked to perfection and I find myself drooling just thinking about it. I always have problems with their selection of starters - I want them all! I can recommend the oysters, the whitebait, the crispy squid and the soft shell... More 

Helpful?
Thank g_parry
Management response:

Thank you Garry so such for this wonderful review. We all really hope to see you here again soon !! Dita Rudzite More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Dinner mid week. Friendly, attentive staff but in a restaurant that was almost empty and badly over lit. Starters of mussels in white wine and cream and soft shell crab were pretty average. Battered fish and chips (a speciality) were large and well presented but the fish was tasteless and the batter thick and stodgy. Reasonable bottle of Malbec. Probably... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ian T
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I've found this place by chance and I was definitely well impressed. Staff very welcoming and friendly, food sooo delicious! I tried the fish soup as a starter and the fish pie as a main, both of them simply amazing, tasty and so good. We were sitting by the window with the heating just next to us so very cozy... More 

Helpful?
Thank dheboracoconut

Travellers who viewed Geales also viewed

 

Been to Geales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$28
Cuisine
Seafood, British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Farmer Street, London W8 7SN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Kensington and Hyde Park
  • Neighbourhood: Kensington and Hyde Park
  • Phone Number: 442077277528
Description
Geales has been London's most loved neighbourhood fish restaurant for over 70 years. Since 1939 this reputable restaurant has been a firm favorite with devoted locals and celebrities' alike. Geales offers a menu that retains the great British chip shop mentality... No frills, just fresh fish and fabulous service. The updated historic site provides a rustic yet chic local diner with a relaxed, nostalgic nod to the brand heritage.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Geales staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?