We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kensington Place

) #2,895 of 17,852 Restaurants in London $$ - $$$ Seafood, European, British
201-209 Kensington Church Street, London W8 7LX, England
+44 20 7727 3184
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good42%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (18 reviews)
“tuna ceviche” (6 reviews)
Opens in 2 min
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
201-209 Kensington Church Street, London W8 7LX, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 357 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I went with some friends and there were different disappointments first the menu in their website is not the same as the one in the restaurant. Their lunch menu is about £25 for two dishes but the dishes are very small. I had sea bass...More

Thank blanxiiii
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Met a business colleague for a catch up lunch, used the bar first which is well served, the maitre D was welcoming and friendly. Not sure about the overall decor, it has high ceilings and is light and bright with a mix of traditional tables...More

Thank Daring-do
Management response:

Dear Daring-do, Thank you for your fantastic review both our prawn cocktail and our skate wing remain very popular dishes with our guests and in partenship with our exceleent fish shop next door we strive to serve the freshest seafood possible. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Modernist interior and tables, we had a table for 8 of us but it was a bit cramped. Good welcome. We opted for the brunch which was nice with a varied choice. Service was mixed. Our first waiter was attentive, second less so.More

Thank RAUTW11
Management response:

Dear RAUTW11, I am glad to hear you enjoyed a popular brunch menu with our free flowing prosecco available for £15 we feel it represents excellent value. Sorry to hear the service was mixed however and would advise you to contact our acting general manager...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered medium rare steak. Receive a cold, well done steak. No apology. When I pointed it out waitress told me they had no more and just walked away. 5 minutes later a small plate of cod chips arrived that I was told I needed to...More

Thank AJS1001
Management response:

Dear AJS 1001, I would first of all like to sincerely apologise for what was clearly an unacceptable service on our part. It was clearly evident to both me and the rest of the staff that you and the rest of your party had an...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pre booked table of 30 asked to pick from 2 starters and 2 mains. Service was terrible. Ran out of one of the two mains and then the majority of the chateaubriand steaks were so cold they were inedible. Staff un-empathetic. Disappointing all round and...More

Thank JamesDeanJD
Management response:

Dear James Dean, I would first of all like to sincerely apologise for what was clearly an unacceptable service on our part. It was clearly evident to both me and the rest of the staff that you and the rest of your party had an...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointingly, this was a poor experience. We attended as a work group, we were advised of a limited menu to order from - they couldn't fulfil our choices from this. The food was brought out cold, steaks were not cooked as requested, vegetables and accompaniments...More

Thank LjbRgbEmb
Management response:

Dear Ljbrgbemb, I would first of all like to sincerely apologise for what was clearly an unacceptable service on our part. It was clearly evident to both me and the rest of the staff that you and the rest of your party had an extremely...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Prices high, portions small, service all over the place. An experience never to be repeated. There are so many excellent restaurants in London so why go to one which offers such poor value for money? So-called nouvelle cuisine went out with the ark. This restaurant...More

1  Thank robinlegard
Management response:

Dear Robin Legard, Thank you for your review I am very concerned to hear of your negative experience with us. Please contact me directly so I can discuss your experience further at tristanm@danddlondon.com. Kind Regards, Tristan Moore. (Senior assistant manager)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've come here twice for a Friday fish and chips lunch, and was very pleased with both the food and the service on both occasions. I was greeted with a friendly smile by the staff and was seated immediately by the window--great for people watching...More

Thank tabersboss
Management response:

Dear Tabersboss, Thank you so much for your kind words. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your fish and chips just like so many others do. I will pass on your positive feedback to the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017

Overall food was okay, but the servers could not describe the dishes accurately. The pureed fish soup was awful, inedible. Other dishes such as the spicy calamari were nice and the butter lettuce salad really lovely. FIsh and Chips were also fantastic, but HUGE portions,...More

Thank tamtamcracks
Management response:

Dear Tam Tam cracks, Thanks for your feedback I am very sorry to hear parts of your evening were not up to our high standards however am extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed our popular fish and chips. Please contact me directly on jackh@danddlondon.com so...More

Reviewed 1 April 2017

Went for lunch and the restaurant wasn't so busy with plenty of staff. We were seated without menus and had to wait to get someone's attention to ask to bring them (and were left with a desert menu the waiter said was a brunch menu)...More

Thank JW52_12
Jack C, Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Kensington Place, I am sorry to hear that your meal was not up to our usual high standard. I would very much like to discuss your visit further if you would be...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Churchill Arms
1,250 reviews
.14 km away
The Shed
476 reviews
.11 km away
Tequila Tex Mex
262 reviews
.13 km away
Black & Blue Steakhouse - Notting Hill Gate
181 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Diana Princess of Wales Memorial Playground
654 reviews
.48 km away
Kensington Palace
3,576 reviews
.62 km away
Notting Hill Carnival
54 reviews
.47 km away
Notting Hill Coronet
20 reviews
.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kensington Place staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$40 - US$56
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
Monday
18:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
18:30 - 22:30
12:00 - 14:45
Wednesday
18:30 - 22:30
12:00 - 14:45
Thursday
18:30 - 22:30
12:00 - 14:45
Friday
12:00 - 14:45
18:30 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:45
18:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 201-209 Kensington Church Street, London W8 7LX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7727 3184
  • E-mail
Description
Kensington Place remains one of London's iconic neighbourhood restaurants serving simple and stylish food in a relaxed atmosphere, surrounded by the buzz of Notting Hill. Dan Loftin's menu celebrates the best of British fish, as well as featuring classic brasserie dishes. All dishes are made using local ingredients and sustainably sourced fish from Billingsgate Market and the British coast. KP (as it is affectionately referred to by locals), also has an extensive wine list available both by the glass and bottle. Next door to the restaurant is The Fish Shop, offering a wide choice of fish and crustacea.