We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The National Dining Rooms

$$ - $$$
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Sainsbury Wing Trafalgar Square, London WC2N 5DN, England
+44 20 7747 2525
10:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Fri 10:00 - 22:00
Sat - Thu 10:00 - 17:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 363: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My sister and I bought Peyton and Byrne vouchers as a present for my Mum for us to go to the National Dining rooms for afternoon tea. The tea was fine but did not match the menu online, at the entrance to the cafe or the table menus so if you have specific diet requirements worth checking before what you'll... More 

Thank Rebecca M
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

A useful location for a light lunch or tea, although the view and light is very restricted - so can feel gloomy. Also, the food selection has become more limited - although scones still good.

Thank 28HBS
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

OK for a pot of tea and really quite decent carrot cake. London prices. Minimal service. Almost always plenty of space

Thank Mike P
Peyton B, Manager at The National Dining Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Mike P, Thank you for your review. As always we appreciate all feedback provided by our guests. I am glad you found our carrot cake to be decent. It is a counter service designed to have guests grab and go without any fuss. I do hope you visit us soon. Kind Regards, Jamal Williams, Restaurant Manager More 

Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were there about lunch time and there was not a large variety to chose from; however, the cake was decent. The service was abominable as the wait for anyone to serve us was quite long and then it seemed the staff were not trained well. I put my jacket on 15 minutes before anyone came to give us the... More 

Thank arazi1991
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

The make over of this cafe very disappointing- more of a works canteen and all the old ambience gone. The food slow but when it came excellent and well presented. Our lunch made by the first class service from our waiter Mario. He was friendly, efficient and just gave that extra to make our visit enjoyable.

Thank Irene H
Peyton B, Manager at The National Dining Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Irene H, Firstly I would like to thank you for your feedback which I will pass on to the National café team. The Café has recently undergone a refurbishment to create a more up to date look. The management team are always working on how to create the right ambience to ensure guests have an enjoyable experience. I am... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2017

This place used to be smarter, tables laid with white table cloths. That's gone, but it seems to me the prices stayed about the same. My guests had fish, apparently well done, and I enjoyed a duck confit. The side dish of potatoes was advertised as 'pink fir', which are a really nobbly, distinctive shape... these weren't. But what was... More 

Thank NickG1951
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Booked for lunch eventually using the website. No-one answers the phone number on the landing page. Food was indifferent and over-priced - but worst of all was the air conditioning, which appeared to be on at full blast on a chilly London afternoon. Not an experience I'd recommend.

Thank orxata2017
Peyton B, Manager at The National Dining Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Orxata2017, Thank you for your review. Guest feedback is very important to us and we are always working on solutions to improve our product and service. I am sorry that you felt our food was indifferent and over-priced. I would like to assure you that we source our products only from the very best suppliers in London. The air... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Late lunchtime so not overly busy. Was given menus but had to call over a waitress ten minutes later for our order to be taken. Unfortunately we chose the wrong waitress who pointed to a waiter and said "ask him, I can't take orders". The two salads were tasty but unfulfilling.....the bread we requested and charged for was not supplied... More 

Thank lesleyd
Peyton B, Manager at The National Dining Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Lesleyd, Firstly, Please accept my sincere apologies for the experience you encountered with us. I am disappointed that on this occasion you found our Staff indifferent and the salads unfulfilling. Our chefs are constantly working hard to ensure that our menu caters to all. Our staff are always training on a daily basis, however this is ongoing and admittedly... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Afternoon tea is average, service was lacking. The staff were not paying attention to customer. Management needs to supervise more

Thank Anteater222222
Peyton B, Manager at The National Dining Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly I would like to thank you for your feedback. We take our guest experience very seriously and pride ourselves in offering great service. I am disappointed that on this occasion you found our afternoon tea average and the service lacking. Rest assured we are forever making improvements to ensure all our guests leave satisfied. We always aim... More 

Southern England
Level Contributor
328 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Staff indifferent even when empty. Coffee tepid and unremarkable and you had to go to order and collect. Needs more charm and atmosphere. Some seating has views over Trafalgar Square and the empty plinth. Assorted cakes were expensive. Did not look at menu.

Thank travell_a_lot
Peyton B, Manager at The National Dining Rooms, responded to this review

Dear travel_a_lot, We take our guest experience very seriously and pride ourselves in offering great service. I am disappointed that on this occasion such experience was not met. Rest assured I have passed your feedback to our team so that we can make immediate improvements. Kind Regards, Jamal Williams Restaurant Manager More 

Travellers who viewed The National Dining Rooms also viewed

London, England

Been to The National Dining Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Open Hours
10:00 - 17:00
10:00 - 17:00
10:00 - 17:00
10:00 - 17:00
10:00 - 17:00
10:00 - 22:00
10:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sainsbury Wing Trafalgar Square, London WC2N 5DN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
  • Neighbourhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7747 2525
The National Dining Rooms offer stunning views over Trafalgar Square; the perfect place for an indulgent, unhurried lunch away from the crowds below. Our chefs use regional produce that represent the best of Britain’s independent, agricultural traders. Open daily (and until late on Fridays) for both formal lunches and casual snacks. Our cosy cafe area holds host to our famous National Afternoon Teas: a lavish spread of sandwiches, scones and cake, fine loose leaf teas and champagne. Surrounded world famous artworks, The National Dining Room is the ideal environment to enjoy a culinary masterpiece while discussing the galleries contents below.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The National Dining Rooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Trafalgar Square / Embankment

Neighbourhood Profile
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
With its iconic Nelson’s Column, majestic oversized lions and brightly-lit fountains, Trafalgar Square is not just considered the heart of this bustling London hub, but the very core of the city itself. Beyond this esteemed gathering place are more famous icons, as well as a disproportionate numbers of the city’s most popular cultural attractions including the National Gallery and many West End theaters. Along the way to these major sites are quiet lanes and antiquated pubs to discover, as well as riverside vistas to enjoy on the embankment. With a calendar full of celebratory events, any time of year is a fine time to visit.
Explore this neighbourhood