We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Salsa!

$$ - $$$
Neighbourhood:
Covent Garden
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
96 Charing Cross Road, London WC2H 0JG, England
+44 20 7379 3277
Website
Today
17:00 - 02:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 17:00 - 02:00
Fri - Sun 17:00 - 03:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

402 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 373: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

You usually wait a lot because of it's nice prices, but it worth it. You can drink in a nice and calm terrace or you can drink in a busy floor dance. But our dinner was a total nightmare.

Helpful?
Thank Silvia B
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A large group of us went to Salsa for food and dance yesterday evening. The staff were kind but they all seemed very stressed, i feel that maybe more staff are needed aboard to share the work load. Not too much of a wait for our food considering it was busy, we had main course and deserts and both were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tatiana W
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I met up with some friends here for dinner and a few drinks. There is a decent selection of food and it is reasonably priced. The food was tasty but nothing amazing. Cocktails were half price between 5pm-8pm making them very reasonably priced! The best thing about the place is the music and salsa lessons/dancing. The whole place has a... More 

Helpful?
Thank V_gets_around
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice backyard restaurant in the middle of London, but the front desk guy was rude, they didnt mention anything that minimun amount you can pay by card is 10 pounds when they have happy hour and 2-for-1 drinks were 8, so i got pissed. Food was almost bad, nachos were terrible and the bartender had no idea how to make... More 

Helpful?
Thank zenney
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sad to see the negative reviews below, and the responses also. I do love this place, for both food and dancing. I've been here a number of times, although I agree with the other reviews about the service, it can be slow, but I, personally have never had an issue. This bar gets very busy very quickly come 5pm and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Estie-P
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When we arrived the staff seemed very stressed especially the lady behind the counter making our cocktails. Not very polite service the cocktail just tasted like her bad mood. The music and the Latin American decoration is very nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank chefnightmare
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Average food and the worse customer service ever! Arrived at 5pm and decided to sit outside but were told we couldn't as we had reserved a table and it was inside. We didn't mind so moved downstairs however when we got down there they didn't have a table for us... thankfully the table outside was still free. We were told... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Faye_T89
Liam2018, Manager at Salsa!, responded to this review

Hello Faye_T89 Thank you for your review and please let me start by reassuring you that it is never our intention for a customer to leave having a negative experience. I discussed at length with Daniel and his colleagues about your concerns and it was believed there was no rudeness or arguments. The manager on duty advised me that the... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I don't recommend this place. I was with my family and friends there for eating something like at 8 p.m. The manager was so rude and he told us that we couldn't eat there because my friend (he's 25 years old) didn't have the ID. This place is a shame. I don't gonna come back NEVER!

Helpful?
1 Thank Esther S
Liam2018, Manager at Salsa!, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I reviewed and investigated the complaint through speaking the manager and reviewing cctv. Its very clear that the manager on duty requested I.D, however due to a person not having the Identification was put in a difficult position having to explain and repeat that it is against our policy with local government to ensure all... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

On arrival were told quickly and abruptly that we had to order at desk and pay immediately!!! Keep your hair on we never expected to get our food for free! No cocktails until 5.00pm they might tell you this when you sit down considering place is empty! Food very average, cheap and cold. Stick to dancing and leave the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mairead R
Liam2018, Manager at Salsa!, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, upon looking at the cctv and following up with the member of staff it correlated that he explained the ordering process. The mannerisms on cctv from all persons involved was friendly, and although you were disappointed that cocktails were not on offer until 5pm this is purely a logistical issue. It is totally understandable that... More 

Worthing
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We went here for dinner before seeing a show. The food and cocktails were brilliant and good value for money. Great atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Fkdw21

Travellers who viewed Salsa! also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Salsa!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$65
Cuisine
Spanish, South American, Mexican
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 03:00
Monday
17:00 - 02:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 02:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 02:00
Thursday
17:00 - 02:00
Friday
17:00 - 03:00
Saturday
17:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 96 Charing Cross Road, London WC2H 0JG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Covent Garden
  • Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7379 3277

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Salsa! staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Covent Garden

Neighbourhood Profile
Covent Garden
Whether you're headed here to check out the multitude of shops, theaters, cafes, pubs, and restaurants, or simply to be among the multitude of people who pass through this pretty part of town, you'll love soaking up the festive and historic atmosphere in and around Covent Garden. Even if you don't have tickets to the opera or a show at one of the many famous theaters here, don't be surprised if find yourself captivated by some impromptu act of a street performer wowing the crowds in Covent Garden's Piazza. If you do have tickets, you'll be pleased to note that many of the local eateries accommodate theatergoers with prix fixe menus, early dinners, and later than usual opening hours. 


Explore this neighbourhood