We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Viet Grill

$$ - $$$
Neighbourhood:
Shoreditch
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
58 Kingsland Road, London E2 8DP, England
+44 20 7739 6686
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 215: English reviews
Level Contributor
681 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

With so many Vietnamese to choose from in shoreditch it was hard to choose but we chose this one. Initially I was disappointed as I could not see Pho on the menu but then I saw the smaller Pho menu. I went for the bun bo hue which was spicy and tasty and comes with vermicelli noodles. My partner had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Well after a night out sampling shoreditchs best bars we came here on the strength of good reviews from people we follow on social media. It was closing and we didn't have long to order but we didn't really care. We got in, ordered and ate. Everything was really good. Staff friendly and very accommodating.

Helpful?
Thank Wizwilson
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Viet Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us, sorry you didn't have much time with us! Hopefully you come back to see us again and spend an evening with us. Thank you More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a Sunday evening dinner and I have to say that I have a mixed feeling about this place. On one hand, the overall atmosphere was enjoyable: many people chatting, good lighting, nice wallpaper. The service was ok: smiling waiters but sometimes a bit inaccurate (we did not get the water for long time); a bit over worried about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Giu_cn
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Viet Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review. I'm very sorry to hear you had mixed feelings after your visit to Viet Grill. We will be sure to chat to the staff and find out why they decide to squeeze you into an already busy section of the restaurant, this may have been down to tables being booked but we will look... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Great food and service. Also a nice bar downstairs. Easy to get a table even though it looks busy, we had wait 20 minutes on a saturday night.

Helpful?
Thank ekcn_ekcn
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Viet Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had great food and service with us. We hope you come back to see us again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited this place with some friends whom had previously attended this establishment. The service was good, we ordered like tapas starters which were very good ( though I found being charged over five pounds for one clam was a little excessive ). The mains were good, I had a seafood soup with noodles dish, enjoyed it fully. We had wine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimmybear2013
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Viet Grill, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your dishes and we appreciate your comments on the prices at our restaurant. We are in the process of making changes to our menu and will be sure to take all comments on board. Thank you More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

This is one of only 9 restaurants in the borough of Hackney to have a ZERO HYGIENE RATING I discovered. Avoid this like the plague!

Helpful?
3 Thank Luxe_Buff_Londoner
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

A slightly different menu to the other similar restaurants in the area but the curry chicken pho was very good . Highly spiced with plenty of noodles and no need to have anything else. I could not find any coconut based pho on the menu which was surprising . Worth a visit popular if a bit too noisy .

Helpful?
Thank Mary W
Vietnamesekitchen2, Public Relations Manager at Viet Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your chicken pho. We hope you come back to see us again soon More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016

the food was ok - not amazing but not bad... i came to the restaurant around 6pm on a friday eve with a friend. we ordered starters and mains with drinks and as soon as we finished, we decided to try a desert. we ordered 1 desert to share and after 15minutes waiting for it, the manager approached our table... More 

Helpful?
Thank mia071
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Nice decor, fine service but the food was disappointing at best. After asking for a recommendation I ordered the Shaking Beef. Flavor was ok but nothing special. The real problem was the beef which was really tough to the point of being inedible. It was also a small plate which was fine because it just wasn't very good. Had to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank James B
VietnameseKitchen1, Public Relations Manager at Viet Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your feedback. I am very sorry to say hear you had a disappointing experience at Viet Grill. We take reviews very seriously and make sure to pass all comments to the management and chef. Sorry you had such a disappointing meal. If you wanted to email us at abbey@vietnamesekitchen.co.uk to discuss it in more detail we... More 

Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

It's really average. But if u need that Asian fix then the minced pork rolls r nice. Don't get the noodles.

Helpful?
Thank jvcs112
VietnameseKitchen1, Public Relations Manager at Viet Grill, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your meal at Viet Grill. Your review will be sent to our head chef so they know of your comments thank you. More 

Travellers who viewed Viet Grill also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Viet Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$31 - US$37
Cuisine
Asian, Vietnamese
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Free Wifi, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 58 Kingsland Road, London E2 8DP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Shoreditch
  • Neighbourhood: Shoreditch
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7739 6686
Description
Our modern Vietnamese restaurant in Kingsland Road, Shoreditch emulates busy Vietnamese life, serving classic pho and aromatic street food.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Viet Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Shoreditch

Neighbourhood Profile
Shoreditch
The western front of the edgy East End, Shoreditch is a perennially trendy haven for anything “street” – be it art, food, or fashion. With its handful of well connected transportation links dotting its perimeter, along with an ever increasing variety of shops, hotels, bars, and restaurants, it's easy to explore this trend-conscious and youth-oriented neighbourhood. There's a lingering post-industrial grit about Shoreditch, but because it shares a border with “The City” financial district, the influence from its upscale neighbour can result in fascinating outcomes.
Explore this neighbourhood