We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mermaid's Slipper Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: This restaurant is only available for takeaway or delivery at this time.
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 21/09
20:00

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
Due to Coronavirus we feel it's unsafe to open as we were previously. However we have re opened offering our Seafood takeaway service, with a mermaids slipper twist. This change will be for the foreseeable future until we feel we can keep our team and customers safe with inside dining. All profits from the restaurant are still going to provide meals for some of the poorest children in the world. The charity has already drastically improved children’s lives in Tanzania, through dining with us you will help us transform the lives of others.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Contemporary, European, British
FEATURES
Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Wine and Beer, Waterfront
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
445
48
9
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
445
48
9
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops sea bass steak pudding potatoes sunday roast bread comfy sofas special meal a great evening recommend this restaurant food was fantastic the river stalham broads chef slippers
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 August 2021

Absolutely delicious food! The staff were friendly, we arrived without reservation and they managed to give us a table. Would go back

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 September 2020

We recently ordered a takeaway seafood hamper from the Mermaid's Slipper spending a short break in the Broads. Initially the price of £75 seems a lot but the range of seafood and other products is easily sufficient for 4 people of for 2 people over...2 nights, which is what we did. Just the thing if you want to enjoy good seafood locally without going to a restaurant.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 September 2020

Previous reviews of the Mermaid’s Slipper helped encourage our decision to cruise to (one of) the extremities of the River Ant for an overnight mooring at Stalham Staithe (which seems to be something of a secret as we were the only boat there that Saturday...evening), and we were not disappointed. The journey itself through Irstead and Barton Broad is beautiful, and the food served is excellent (and feels like a culinary oasis compared to some of the other riverside options of the north Broads). Freshly prepared delicious high quality food, albeit currently restricted to takeaway (but literally a few seconds walk away from the moorings). We look forward to returning (and, hopefully, at a time to enjoy the full restaurant experience.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
MermaidsSlipper1, General Manager at The Mermaid's Slipper Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

Called around 4pm to order a takeaway. Phone rang and went to voicemail saying leave a number and they will call back. Waited till gone 6 no one called back so had to hunt around the area to get food. 24 hrs later still no...one has called. Most disappointed in this restaurant.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
MermaidsSlipper, Front Of House Manager at The Mermaid's Slipper Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020

Good afternoon. I’m so sorry your call was never returned, our phones are manned Tuesday-Saturday from Midday so I’m not sure how your voicemail was missed. If you’d like to contact us via email we can look into this further for you. Kindest Regards Enquiries@themermaidsslipper.co.uk

Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

Our takeaway celebratory meal was excellent .We all had main course of Seabass Great quality perfectly cooked and presented . We look forward to ordering again soon Thank you

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
MermaidsSlipper1, General Manager at The Mermaid's Slipper Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 6 September 2020

We had a takeaway meal from here on a recent holiday. Faultless quality cod and chips, served in cardboard takeaway packaging. Well worthy of high trip advisor rating.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
MermaidsSlipper1, General Manager at The Mermaid's Slipper Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review.

Reviewed 31 August 2020

We enjoyed a delicious takeaway, the food was quality. Although only a limited take away menu is on offer the food was lovely. Many would find it expensive for a takeaway however the food is excellent and the service friendly. We ate outside on the...tables on the lawn and overlooking the waterways. We had to book and pay the day before as previous attempts to order on the day provided futile, although this is a first for a takeaway for us we were not disappointed.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
MermaidsSlipper1, General Manager at The Mermaid's Slipper Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review us, were pleased you enjoyed your meal.

Reviewed 6 August 2020

Had fish and chips what can I say but fantastic the fish was cooked so well so were the chips and the extras it came with was fantastic they need to keep hold of this chef absolutely fantastic....

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
MermaidsSlipper, Front Of House Manager at The Mermaid's Slipper Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2020

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 5 August 2020

Quite simply one of the best Seaford Restaurants on a par with Rick Stein's Padstow restaurants, working under difficult circumstances with the current Covid-a9 situation. I never thought I'd live to see the day when I could take home a fish-and-chip supper with Lobster Thermidor,...Coquilles St Jacques and Butterflied Sea Bass with Samphire in cardboard boxes! Very efficient booking system with allocated bays and waitresses all wearing masks so one felt that everything was safe and under control. So good we returned two nights later for another meal! I can throughly recommend this restaurant.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
MermaidsSlipper1, Front of House Manager at The Mermaid's Slipper Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2020

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. To keep our team and customers safe during COVID-19 we've had to adapt our business to keep delivering our top quality dining, so thank you so much for supporting us with this in...More

Reviewed 3 August 2020

Saw that the restaurant was open again forSeafood Takeaway. As it was one of our favourite places pre Covid, we decided to place an order. Given a time of 19.15pm for collection, arrived possibly 2-3 minutes early, Young girl came out and said that she...would get the order, 15 minutes later it finally turned up. We had ordered deep fried battered prawns, deep fried battered oysters, a butterflied sea bass grilled, and an oven baked cod loin and a side of samphire. The prawns and oysters were definitely battered, overly they were very greasy. The sea bass was perfect, however the cod loin had been battered and deep fried, this was also very greasy and had to be left. The samphire was awful not what I would classify as fresh, and well over cooked. Lesson learnt, no more seafood takeaways. Will still go back when the restaurant is fully open again just to ensure that this was a “one off” and the usual very high standards are still there.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Drjulianbrown, Owner at The Mermaid's Slipper Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2020

Dear Customer If you have dined with us previously you would be aware that we are perfectionists at the Mermaids Slipper and would have gladly resolved the issue with a full refund through a simple phone call. This is the first negative review regarding the...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Sutton Staithe Hotel
165 reviews
1.31 km away
The Keswick
333 reviews
8.72 km away
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
345 reviews
9.12 km away
Hotel Wroxham
934 reviews
9.60 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cafe Charlotte
194 reviews
.40 km away
Sutton Staithe Hotel
127 reviews
1.31 km away
The Swan Inn Stalham
306 reviews
.44 km away
The Harnser
119 reviews
.90 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Museum of the Broads
199 reviews
.02 km away
Sutton Staithe Boatyard
52 reviews
1.35 km away
Richardsons Boating Holidays
122 reviews
.28 km away
The Old Fire Station
20 reviews
.40 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Julie W
27 February 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 31janed | Reviewed this property |
I believe they do offer gift vouchers. A great gift for someone special.
0
Votes
Z4564UYkarens
14 September 2019|
Answer
Response from MermaidsSlipper | Property representative |
I'm afraid at the moment we don't allow dogs inside. We are however looking into ideas for the future.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Mermaid's Slipper Restaurant

The Mermaid's Slipper Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5