We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chocolate Theatre Cafe

13 Thameside, Henley-on-Thames RG9 1BH, England
+44 1491 411412
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good31%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“cake” (66 reviews)
“scones” (51 reviews)
“pecan pie” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
13 Thameside, Henley-on-Thames RG9 1BH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Right by the river is this modern and lively coffee and tea room. Plenty of inside seating and clean toilets. Staff were attentive and efficient. Servcice was great and the food choice was wide. Lots iof home nade cakes on offer too!!More

Thank les s
Vivienne L, Owner at Chocolate Theatre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi thanks for the review on our cafe Did you know we run a VIP programme so you buy the prosseco deal direct through us as presents Our VIP list is for people who would like have an inside track to our latest deals (including...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the Cafe today for lunch with my daughter and two grandchildren. Food was ok and served promptly. Whilst paying, my grandson asked for an icecream - two small scoops to take out, one in a tub for him the other in a paper cone...More

2  Thank lizzie712
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Sorry, but very disappointed. Went there for breakfast today. Cheap ingredients used, wont be going back. Sorry

2  Thank Sophie R
Vivienne L, Owner at Chocolate Theatre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi thanks for your feedback and sorry your were disappointed. We have used the same local butcher for over 20 years and it is normally highly recommended. I am always looking to strive to improve and would value further feedback

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have passed this place so many times whilst in Henley and having read good reviews & liking the look of the menu we decided to give it a try. We were aware closing time was 6pm on a Saturday so checked with the waitress...More

3  Thank angelwings79
Vivienne L, Owner at Chocolate Theatre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Am really very sorry you felt this way as my staff and I are renowned for being friendly and my policy is to always serve until 6pm. We close at 6pm however that means last in at 6 not having to leave. The Ultimate Hot...More

Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

I loved this place. A lovely young lady showed us to our table. I had a the egg mayo and chive sandwiches. Lovely. It filled the plate. The only thing that spoiled it slightly was the bread was a little dry around the edges. This...More

Thank rosa71uk
Vivienne L, Owner at Chocolate Theatre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi thanks for the review on our cafe Did you know we run a VIP programme? Our VIP list is for people who would like have an inside track to our latest deals (including a special 25% discount from our experience range of offers). You...More

Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Have been a few times and noticed the service gradually getting worse. Dropped in early this morning (10 ish) waited 20 mins for coffee so asked at counter - waitress had given them to a cyclist as a takeaway - when Inasked how long they...More

2  Thank 872LJA
Vivienne L, Owner at Chocolate Theatre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Am horrified at this review as pride ourselves on our service above everything please return fro free coffees when you are netx in town and quote Vivienne

Reviewed 30 April 2018

Had enjoyed a wonderful visit to Henley-on-Thames walking around town and strolling on the river. Time for Tea - but where to go?? I broke the habit of a lifetime by going to a non-chain (as in a Starbucks). Chocolate Theatre Cafe is an absolute...More

1  Thank CasGor
Vivienne L, Owner at Chocolate Theatre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi thanks for the review on our cafe and our afternoon tea Did you know we run a VIP programme? Our VIP list is for people who would like have an inside track to our latest deals (including a special 25% discount from our experience...More

Reviewed 22 April 2018

very good service, lovely array of sandwiches on offer, we were too full to try any of the delicious looking cakes, we will have to leave that to our next visitMore

Thank CathS1
Vivienne L, Owner at Chocolate Theatre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi thanks for the review on our cafe Did you know we run a VIP programme? Our VIP list is for people who would like have an inside track to our latest deals (including a special 25% discount from our experience range of offers). You...More

Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Been looking forward to going back to this place for tea and cake. However, visited today with my partner and neither of us bothered with any of the cakes. They all looked very similar, so there didn't seem to be much variety. We have been...More

2  Thank Ann G
Vivienne L, Owner at Chocolate Theatre Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

HI Ann thanks for your feedback Since you have been we have refurbished the cafe as i am aware they were looking tired with regard to the cakes you mentioned these are only sold at a weekend the reason being generally they never sell midweek...More

Reviewed 15 April 2018

The birthday cake and chocolate platter were very tasty. The cafe offers freshly made chocolates and cakes. Will surely go again.

Thank Ana K
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Henley-on-Thames
The Red Lion Hotel
618 reviews
.09 km away
The Catherine Wheel
712 reviews
.22 km away
Hotel du Vin
905 reviews
.22 km away
Loch Fyne Henley
170 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Shaun Dickens at The Boathouse
825 reviews
.18 km away
Cafe Rouge - Henley
441 reviews
.14 km away
Pachangas
316 reviews
.22 km away
Villa Marina
647 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
River & Rowing Museum
314 reviews
.37 km away
Henley Royal Regatta
43 reviews
.16 km away
Lovibonds Brewery
50 reviews
.32 km away
Bohun Gallery
11 reviews
.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
RosieC26
20 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Judy H | Reviewed this property |
highchairs but not sure about changing facility give them a ring
1
Vote
Nightingale11
28 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Gloria E | Reviewed this property |
No they won't allow dogs in. They have a table right by the door & I don't know why they don't allow well behaved dogs in to sit at this area but the don't. Our dog is is small & well behaved & we asked if we could sit here... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 13 Thameside, Henley-on-Thames RG9 1BH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Henley-on-Thames
  • Phone Number: +44 1491 411412
  • E-mail
Description
We have a VIP list is for people who would like have an inside track to our latest deals (including a special 25% discount from our experience range of offers). You will also be the first to hear about events and the occasional VIP only invites.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing