We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Trout Inn

Lower Wolvercote 195 Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8PN, England
+44 1865 510930
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good28%
  • Average16%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (37 reviews)
“the river” (492 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Bar, European, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
$$ - $$$
Lower Wolvercote 195 Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8PN, England
Write a Review
Reviews (2,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 2,371 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I've visited The Trout Inn three times. Meals were lovely although on one occasion I felt short-changed on the seafood linguine (more linguine than anything else!). It has a warm atmosphere- full of chatting amongst guests. Pleasant venue for afternoon lunch/dinner!

Thank Charlotte22707
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

So disappointed- friends booked a table well in advance but on the day another place setting had to be prepared and we were stuck in an unpleasant corner location. Chair upholstery scruffy and stained. Food was extremely poor. The pub was very busy and is...More

Thank ClareofTralee
Reviewed 2 days ago

Location and ambience fantastic, food delicious, staff very friendly, efficient and professional. We had excellent service all night.

Thank MicheleGrand
Reviewed 2 days ago

A very attractive location topped off by obliging staff and excellent meal little surprise it is so busy

Thank johnQ1794OI
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We met some friends at this place yesterday never have been there or even heard of it! It was simply the half way point! The setting is beautiful with the river running past and a free roaming peacock calling out every so often. Food was...More

Thank Mike K
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Having had many meals at this restaurant I arranged to meet my family there for lunch. We were 3 adults and 2 small children. From the outset the service was mediocre. Once seated we had to ask for Children's menu. One would have thought that...More

Thank Bowlesuk
General Manager A, Manager at The Trout Inn, responded to this review

Bowlesuk, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. Please accept our apologies for your recent visit. We are working very hard to ensure all our guests will receive best food and service. It...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We didn't expect to get a table during what was a very busy lunch; but we were immediately seated overlooking the Thames. Service was excellent and we both ordered the Wagyu beefburgers which were delicious. Highly recommended!

Thank Bob B
General Manager A, Manager at The Trout Inn, responded to this review

Bob, thank you so much for your high rating! We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your recent visit Regards Peter K

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had the 2 course fixed price lunch. Crispy chicken starters good. Main courses were just ok. Chicken burger nothing special and chips were lukewarm. Fishcakes were good but waitress managed to upsell some sweet potato chips as well which really weren't necessary. Location is...More

Thank kel999
General Manager A, Manager at The Trout Inn, responded to this review

Kel999, we really appreciate your feedback! Please accept our apologise for food issues. All your comments have been addressed with kitchen and front of the house teams. We would love to have your party again to prove it was just unfortunate incident, so please give...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely big pub next to the river, perfect for sitting outside. Plenty of tables inside and out but doesn't feel packed. Great choice of food on the menu, something for everyone and very friendly staff.More

Thank FrancesLucy
General Manager A, Manager at The Trout Inn, responded to this review

Hi Franceslucy, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Trout Inn! We are very pleased that you recent visit was so successful. We will introduce new lager selection in next 4 weeks so maybe there will be good reason to pay us...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I came down to Oxford on my own whilst my husband was on a golfing trip. I am interested in Morse & Lewis so decided to visit the Trout Inn at Wolvercote. To be honest I half expected the pub to be a little pretentious...More

Thank lynnejonzy
General Manager A, Manager at The Trout Inn, responded to this review

Hello Lynnejonzy, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! We aren't thrilled that your visit was so successful and we are looking forward to your visit with your husband. Please remember to book table this time. Regards Peter K General Manager

Nearby Restaurants
Jacobs Inn
647 reviews
.56 km away
The Plough Pub & Restaurant
76 reviews
1.19 km away
Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill
32 reviews
1.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Port Meadow
253 reviews
2.71 km away
Cutteslowe and Sunnymead Park
20 reviews
2.49 km away
Somerville College
17 reviews
2.18 km away
St. Anne's College
16 reviews
2.18 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Do you take Amex?
15 April 2017|
Response from Robwilkes010 | Property representative |
Hi, philpot2017, Yes, we do accept Amex
am sorry to say we will not be rushing to book the Trout again in a hurry. We had a family lunch there on Sunday 17th January and frankly were disappointed. 3 of us had the beef Sunday roast. The meat was tough, the vegetables soggy and did not include all the ones promised on the menu. The whole thing was lukewarm and there was no horseradish! The child's burger looked like it had been chewed on one side. My Eton Mess pudding was indeed a mess. It looked and tasted like it had been thrown together with leftovers. The prosecco was revoltingly sweet and the wine was faintly corked. The service was slow and inattentive. We were reluctant to complain at the time as we wanted to concentrate on having a pleasant family gathering and did not wish to spoil the atmosphere with complaints. It seems you are trading on your delightful location alone. We have been to the Trout in previous years and were never previously so let down by the food. And your prices are not the cheapest
5 February 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Lianne S
Hello, I was wondering firstly if you have vacancy for the weekend of 11 - 13th July 2015 for 2 couples and 2 children and how much that would cost? Look forward to hearing from you. Best Lianne Smith
8 May 2015|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$52
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
11:00 - 22:30
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lower Wolvercote 195 Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8PN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 510930