We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Squirrel

Foldgate Lane, Ludlow SY8 1LS, England
+44 1584 879940
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good24%
  • Average18%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Foldgate Lane, Ludlow SY8 1LS, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Called in tonight for a meal for two. We were served our drinks immediately and the food arrived in 10 minutes. Nothing to fault. Even sat out in the sun to enjoy it.

Thank Flightfamily
Management response:

Lovely to read you review, pleased you enjoyed your visit and even some sun 👍🏿

Reviewed 5 days ago

For the price the food was below average and the service so slow nearly left! From ordering main courses only wanted 1hr 05mins for the food and what a disappointment....but no member of staff came to us and said their is a delay or anything...More

Thank ncokey
Reviewed 1 week ago

The vegetarian Sunday 'roast' appeared inviting on the menu - ale and vegetable pie. The reality was some large cold lumps of unappetising battery substance, with very little evident served with some congealed vegetables. Avoid.

Thank hedge_12
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really bad visit today 30 min wait to be given breakfast cold mushrooms burnt bacon and child's meal missing beans

Thank Kay L
Management response:

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback, I'm sorry your visit wasn't up to our normal standard. Since your review we have looked at a few changes for breakfast to avoid this happening again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We called here on the off chance of some food on a long journey back from Shrewsbury. We pulled in and upon entering were immediately greeted by a very friendly member of staff who advised us to take a seat at she’d be right over....More

Thank LeeDJones
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review from your recent visit. I'm pleased you enjoyed your experience and hopefully we will see you again if passing through.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying at adjacent Travelodge, so ideal from that perspective. However, be prepared for a VERY long wait for your food and drink order. I ordered rib eye steak and others in our party ordered chicken. All very well cooked and hot, but very slow taking...More

Thank HearsallHikers
Management response:

Thanks for your review, sorry you experienced a delay in waiting for your food.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The restaurant was meant to be serving breakfast at 9am however we had to wait a few minutes for the door to be unlocked. A member of staff took our order about ten minutes later. Although the restaurant at this time was not busy we...More

Thank P6075QXalan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Call in to the Squirrel after a day out as it look lovely from the outside and not overly busy for a later Sunday afternoon 4 pm Got served at the bar very quickly and told to pick any table which we did, waitress came...More

Thank Lynda B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

ok it was busy but wasn't told how long we have to wait for our meal, and after an hour we complained as people who came in after us were getting served first so eventualy we were served with our meal, it was terrible chips...More

Thank David J
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For the money, not bad. Definitely better than a similarly priced Wetherspoons meal I've had recently. Staff were friendly even though they were busy. Beer seemed well kept. Of course I've had better meals (that cost more) but The Squirrel fitted the bill on a...More

1  Thank pablopz
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The French Pantry
660 reviews
1.54 km away
The Fish House Shop
191 reviews
1.57 km away
The Queens
396 reviews
1.48 km away
Koo Japanese Restaurant
156 reviews
1.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Parish Church of St Laurence
540 reviews
1.66 km away
Ludlow Castle
1,177 reviews
1.95 km away
Ludlow Brewing Company
224 reviews
1.74 km away
Clee Hills
139 reviews
7.42 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
davandra
Is it a carvery
22 March 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from lublu500 | Reviewed this property |
No it is but they do a Sunday lunch
0
Votes
Derran J
Does the pub have free wifi or just the restaurant
6 September 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Bankss-Brewery | Property representative |
Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the premises.
0
Votes
Rhiannnn
Are dogs allowed?
19 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Bankss-Brewery | Property representative |
Unfortunately pets are not allowed into the pub, they are however more than welcome on our patios. Only guide dogs are permitted indoors, sorry.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Foldgate Lane, Ludlow SY8 1LS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Ludlow
  • Phone Number: +44 1584 879940
  • E-mail