We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lion + Pheasant

50 Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1XJ, England
+44 1743 770345
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good23%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“duck ravioli” (9 reviews)
“plaice” (8 reviews)
“steak” (27 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
50 Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1XJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 478 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I came for dinner on a Thursday evening with my family.We decided to not have starters and to go straight to the mains.We all decided to have the chicken and you could see that the chef had put a lot of detail into every item...More

Thank Silviu-Adrian S
Reviewed yesterday

After reading all the reviews we decided to book this restaurant for a Sunday evening meal. After a really good start in the bar...we were warmly welcomed and chose two very reasonably priced cocktails...things started to go downhill fast! We ordered a parfait to share...More

1  Thank johnken1912
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I thought we would give this a try last week and we weren't disappointed! Lovely food, the waiter was attentive and couldn't do enough for you. The couple sat next to us, constantly moaned - loudly about peppercorn sauce, they got free...More

Thank Rachel A
ShropshireLad50, Front Office Manager at Lion + Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Lion + Pheasant soon. Kind Regards Lion + Pheasant team.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely amazing experience. I stayed here with my wife for two nights as we've been married for 26 wonderful years, so decided to see the sites of Shrewsbury. Let's start with the staff. They were professional, courteous and helpful and most of them were young...More

1  Thank Gwelfro
ShropshireLad50, Front Office Manager at Lion + Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Lion + Pheasant soon. Kind Regards Lion + Pheasant team.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my other half came to enjoy a taste of the new menu. I personally am a fussy eater but I couldn't fault anything I had. The food was amazing. The pork was very delicious. Hats off to the chefs at Lion and Pheasant,...More

Thank Bethan A
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I often travel and eat on my own. I stopped here for a meal. Glad I did. I was warmly greeted as I entered the restaurant. Lovely, clean and well Presented. The service and food was excellent throughout. The staff and female manager could not...More

Thank Thelonetravellerman
ShropshireLad50, Front Office Manager at Lion + Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Lion + Pheasant soon. Kind Regards Lion + Pheasant team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Incredibly disappointed with this restaurant. After seeing such good reviews, we were really hoping for a lovely experience. Instead we received mediocre food and appalling customer service. If you are wanting well cooked food in nice surroundings be prepared to be let down.More

Thank teds7178
ShropshireLad50, Front Office Manager at Lion + Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed that we didn't meet your expectation to this occasion. If possible can you E mail us at info@lionandpheasant.co.uk explaining your issues, we can then look into this matter. Kind Regards Lion +...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful birthday dinner here on a Monday night. Wasn't feeling very adventurous at the time, so had fish and chips, but it was by far the best I've ever tasted. So fresh and delicious. Dessert was very nice too. The atmosphere was very...More

Thank 236dan
ShropshireLad50, Front Office Manager at Lion + Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Lion + Pheasant soon. Kind Regards Lion + Pheasant team.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with family, and not impressed at all. Good very nice but small portions. Table service poor. Was not asked if we wanted a top up of drinks, or if everything was ok with the meals. Not asked if we would like any puddings or...More

Thank Fred E
ShropshireLad50, Front Office Manager at Lion + Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, We would of done our very best to rectify any issues on the evening had we been given the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went with family for our anniversary and we were treated to a wonderful night. Gwen, Dani and Silvio who served us made us feel really special. The food was wonderful the tomato and mozerella starter was a work of art and tasted amazing. Two of...More

1  Thank PGV63
ShropshireLad50, Front Office Manager at Lion + Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Lion + Pheasant soon. Kind Regards Lion + Pheasant team.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Casa Naranjo
517 reviews
.19 km away
Henry Tudor House
966 reviews
.16 km away
The Good Life
295 reviews
.19 km away
La Lanterna
341 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shrewsbury Abbey
254 reviews
.38 km away
Shrewsbury Cathedral
49 reviews
.38 km away
Town Walls Tower
28 reviews
.38 km away
The Hive - HMM Arts Ltd
13 reviews
.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
karen e
13 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from debgarbett1 | Reviewed this property |
They have a lovely area to sit in out the back of the hotel - it's small but very pleasant and will suit you and your dog
0
Votes
brochurebrowser
30 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ShropshireLad50 | Property representative |
Thank you for getting in touch. Yes, we do offer a childrens menu in the restaurant. Kind Regards, L&P x
0
Votes
Keith W
1 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ShropshireLad50 | Property representative |
Thank you for contacting us. We have vegetarian options on our all our main menus plus a vegetarian/vegan menu available. Also we have vegetarian options for all our Christmas + New Year Menus. I hope you will find this... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 50 Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury SY1 1XJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Shrewsbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1743 770345
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing