We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hope and Anchor

) #157 of 416 Restaurants in Bath $$ - $$$ Bar, British, Pub
146 Midford Road | Midford, Bath BA2 5SD, England
+44 1225 832296
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good35%
  • Average10%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
146 Midford Road | Midford, Bath BA2 5SD, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Called in for a drink only and was greeted and served promptly, which is excellent Being just after lunch and mid-week it was quiet and it is on a busy road and just past the old railway bridge and this can be missed as people...More

Thank Ann L
Ljs186, Owner at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - don't worry, we'll still be here next time you are passing! H & A

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great meal here-- nothing fancy but good quality food at reasonable prices, with lots of choice. Service was friendly and timely, and we would happily return

Thank Levoyageur
Ljs186, Owner at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and thanks so much for your 5 stars! We hope you come back soon, H & A team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for meal on a Friday night and the place was fairly empty except for a few odd couples. The food was cooked from frozen, chips were soggy and overall the meal was very poor. Decor in the bar looked 30 years out of dare....More

Thank IAN S
Ljs186, Owner at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this review

Sometimes we are quiet - it can't really be a criticism! The food is NOT cooked from frozen. We are sorry you didn't enjoy it - we are always happy to replace a meal if we are made aware at the time.... The decor is...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here on a Friday lunchtime having done a local walk. We booked a table which is always a good idea at this popular pub. A reasonable choice on the menu and all 4 of us enjoyed our meals. Service is friendly and there is...More

Thank Stephen0903
Ljs186, Owner at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this review

Thanks Stephen, we are delighted you all enjoyed your visit and thanks for taking the time to review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! H & A team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a group of 21 people into the pub conservatory area for a sunday meal. It went seamlessly thanks to pre-ordering and the pub's efficiency. Highly recommended for such a big group.

Thank Moira B
Ljs186, Owner at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased you all had a lovely time!]H & A team

Reviewed 12 April 2017

We stopped here for lunch after a very pleasant walk from Bath. The pub has lots of seating inside and out, and has a good choice of lagers and beers on tap. The menu is interesting – a good mix of traditional (burgers etc) with...More

Thank thehippo22
Ljs186, Owner at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we are delighted you both enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Just to clarify, we don't really call them "chips", we say "handcut chunky fries" which is what they are..deepfried handcut potatoes, fresh! And delicious!

Reviewed 3 April 2017

Stir fry noodles very tastless with lumps of duck thrown in mushrooms totally saturated in fat and burnt... could not eat the dish.More

Thank bianca517
Ljs186, Owner at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your meal, however there really is no need to be quite so rude - our chefs are all experienced and skilled and do not appreciate being slated online. Why didn't you say something at the time? We don't want...More

Reviewed 25 March 2017

A really pleasant atmosphere with attentative staff, good menu, clean with excellent views from car park once a railway. Quite a bit of history hear and not over pretentious like so many places. Was quite and not over crowded . We had a family lunch...More

Thank the-earl-of-wessex
Reviewed 22 March 2017

I have eaten here a good few times over the last few years. I find on the whole staff are attentive and menu has a great selection incl. veggie dishes and smaller portions (starter/lunch size and dinner size for certain dishes). What i have noticed...More

Thank plm24
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We visited for Sunday lunch. Excellent beef roast with plenty of veg. Nice atmosphere and staff. Well worth a visit.

Thank SonicBandit
Ljs186, Owner at The Hope and Anchor, responded to this review

Just to say thanks so much for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon! H & A team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rose & Crown Pub
108 reviews
2.72 km away
Restaurant at Combe Grove Manor
104 reviews
2.80 km away
The Inn at Freshford
325 reviews
3.01 km away
Restaurant at Homewood Park
128 reviews
2.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Lady Lena
109 reviews
1.30 km away
Prior Park Landscape Gardens (NT)
581 reviews
2.67 km away
Alexandra Park
237 reviews
3.50 km away
The Forum
8 reviews
4.00 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Ljs186
We are sorry to read your review of your time with us - as we explained when you arrived, at 12.45, your table had been given away because you had not turned up, the table was booked for 12.15 and, as you had not arrived by 12.35, we did give your table to waiting customers. As you say, it was Mother's Day and very busy, we did have a problem with overbooking, not our fault, the "Open Table" online bookings had not been sent through to us and we were doing our very best to accommodate everybody. It wasn't a new thing we were trying out! Your wife in fact said that you would be happy to sit around the coffee table, it was not our suggestion, but we were very grateful for her understanding. We were not aware that you were not happy with your food, if you had said something at the time we would have been more than happy to sort it out. Unfortunately, if people leave it and then complain online, the moment has passed. We are really sorry that this situation arose but if you had just rung to say that you were running late it could perhaps have been avoided.
11 March 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Ljs186
Just to say thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! H & A team
8 November 2015|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 146 Midford Road | Midford, Bath BA2 5SD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 832296
  • E-mail