We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant

5 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
+44 1643 823030
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good19%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
8:00 AM - 9:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
British, Gastropub, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
5 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Minehead Local resident Resident here for 19 years. Love the ambiance of the place now. Wow the new owners have a good eye for detail. However I preferred the food before. Currently chef trying too hard Too pretentious too many ingredients. Service poor for the...More

1  Thank Melanie R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with a table of 8 for a birthday meal, although the food was great, the service sadly let our evening down. There were several members of staff on the floor and few tables in the restaurant, yet at one point a member of staff...More

Thank missb20953
John R, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello missb20953, First of all, thank you for your frank and comprehensive review. I am sorry and disappointed that your service was not up to our normal high standards. The elements of service that you mention are explicitly in contravention of our procedures and expectations...More

Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We research going for a roast as my choice for birthday, we choose this from a quirky reply to another review from the owner and we weren’t disappointed we arrived early and it wasn’t a problem to be shown to our table , excellent food...More

1  Thank snowdrop19
John R, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Hi snowdrop19, Ahh, I remember you all! I think my responses may get me in trouble one day. It was great to meet you all and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Please come back again. Kind regards. John

Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Love love this hotel, accommodation was wonderful, food in their restaurant was first class . We stayed before and the standards had not dropped. Breakfast was full English locally produced, you could have anything you wanted. Hosts Jon was his usual happy chappie.

Thank greyash33
John R, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

hi greyash33, Standards will never drop on my watch! Glad you enjoyed and we will keep on trying to improve our customers experience. I'll remind Lisa how happy I am. All the best John

Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

I ate pork belly,it was just perfect. Followed by a chocolate brownie. My partner and I will definitely come back. We had amazing service from a lady,my partner asked if they had colmans English mustard in which she didn’t but she came back and asked...More

Thank cocopep80
John R, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hi cocopep80, So that's where my mustard went! We're really glad you enjoyed here and hopefully see you again someday. Kind regards. John

Reviewed 29 October 2017

A slightly odd place, right in the centre of a medieval village, which has opted for a green exterior and modern interior. We felt it lacked charm and character....There are better places to eat in Dunster.More

Thank Jen F
John R, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Hi Jen F, We've never been called odd apart from how unexpected it is to find such great food and service at such reasonable prices. "A slightly odd place that's opted for green outside and modern inside" - Odd? What did you want to see?...More

Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

We arrived here at 18.30 on a Sunday thinking hoping to get a Sunday eveing roast but were disapointed to find that it wasnt being offered despite forming part of the normal menu. We decided to stay on anyway and ordered our drinks (after waiting...More

Thank Toby W
JohnBridgend, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi Toby W, As you'll see from our previous feedback your experience was isolated and not in keeping with our regular service so I am sorry if on this occasion we missed the mark. An average Sunday would see between 60-80 covers but unfortunately, or...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017

Having been to the National Trusr, Dunster Castle. 7 of us called in for lunch, did not book a table that was no problem. One large table available, made to feel very welcome and dogs allowed.. Cracking Sunday lunch (me having good ole fish n...More

Thank geemandy17
Reviewed 21 October 2017

We walked out of a restaurant after waiting 20 mins to be asked if we even wanted a drink.Walked out disgusted. Walked further down the road and into your hotel.Showed us to a table took drink orders straight away.Took our order and I must say...More

Thank TessS2
JohnBridgend, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hi TessS2 We're glad to have helped out on your birthday. Kind regards. John and Lisa

A TripAdvisor Member
6717
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

The wife and I booked asked to book a table via a direct email which was quickly responded to so that was really nice. A very warm welcome and a very well thought out stylist modern resturant. We arrived just after 630 for a 7pm...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
JohnBridgend, Owner at Dunster Castle Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hello Sir, Thank you for your review and your kind comments. Although the items you had were described as such on the menu we would always be happy to replace any accompinaments to your main dish. Thank you again and look forward to looking after...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Dunster Hotels
Dunster Castle Hotel
147 reviews
.00 km away
Yarn Market Hotel
209 reviews
.11 km away
The Luttrell Arms
776 reviews
.12 km away
Premier Inn Minehead Hotel
214 reviews
2.11 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tea Room at Chapel House
202 reviews
.19 km away
Reeves Restaurant
465 reviews
.05 km away
Locks Victorian Tea Rooms
297 reviews
.05 km away
Hathaways
237 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dunster Castle
1,879 reviews
.21 km away
Dunster Working Watermill
277 reviews
.39 km away
Dunster Yarn Market
143 reviews
.10 km away
Dunster Beach
124 reviews
1.48 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MaryLisa W
9 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from John R | Property representative |
Hi Both. Yes, we are open. We've booked you in for 7pm and we'll put you by the window if you'd like. Would you just mind dropping us a telephone number, if you don't mind, so we can contact you in the event of unforeseen... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$14 - US$25
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Dunster
  • Phone Number: +44 1643 823030
  • E-mail
Description
Locally sourced ingredients freshly prepared by our team of chefs who deliver a great looking tasty dish. Great food served in exquisite surroundings with the friendliest service you'll ever find.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing