We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anton's Bistrot

$$ - $$$, British,
Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
+44 1749 673457
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good36%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“pate” (8 reviews)
“sea bass” (9 reviews)
“beef” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 322 reviews

Reviewed today

Compliments to the Chef ! could not fault anything, drinks and food combine. Definitely recommended.

Thank jennyskeates
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a bad joke.. Booked a table for party of friends to celebrate a birthday. Arrived, ordered drinks and food.. all seemed lovely. Then we are advised they had actually ran out of the vegetarian option.. The Birthday girl is a vegetarian. We are advised...More

Thank Richard H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped in for lunch and had the Ploughman's board and a Charcuterie board (for 2). Both were good sized with a pleasant array of morsels. Paired well with a fine brew. Crowded place, quite busy but seemed to be a fun and respected place.

Thank tb911
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review, pleased to hear you enjoyed lunch with us.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found this restaurant - part of the Crown hotel - lots of space and relaxed atmosphere The staff were very helpful The menu varied and good the food was good all round and we enjoyed the meal greatly Very nice experience

Thank Uday T
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

That's such a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to write it. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited Wells for some afternoon shopping and decided to stay on for an early evening meal. We had gone to Ask but they were full, so we came across this restaurant near by. It had a nice peaceful atmosphere and decor was clean and...More

Thank Allison C
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Great to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and thank you for your review.

Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

I could not have been more disappointed with our evening meal, practically everyone of our 6 meals was embarrassing. Ordering a rare venison steak for it to come out grey and the same for the medium rare ones ordered. No one checked back on the...More

Thank NLDines
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

You don't mention you had your whole meal, and drinks, complimentary, nor how obnoxious you were to our staff. Pleased to hear you're not coming back.

Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Best food in Wells...and we tried a few! Every course was outstanding and didn't disappoint...I don't normally do desserts but just had to and it was amazing. This is a must if you visit Wells.

Thank ridgway4159
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Wow! Thank you for a terrific review, much appreciated and so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us so much.

Reviewed 31 March 2018

Located in the market square next to the entrance to the cathedral. Food excellent, we had the Tuna and soup for starters and the venison for mains. No criticism over the food, service was good, not sure about some of the music playing but it...More

Thank peterKleen
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for your review; so pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. Please feel free to ask us to tweak the music and we'll do our best.

Reviewed 19 March 2018

We dived in here on a freezing snowy evening and were very pleased we did. The food was exceptional and the atmosphere and service just as good. I would highly recommend.

Thank sedleycar
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Fantastic review, thank you and for the recommendation too.

Reviewed 13 March 2018

The Bistrot was made famous on the back of the Hot Fuzz film which used it and the hotel for many scenes. It seems to me that some of the personnel think that is enough to make a good restaurant with some (but not all)...More

Thank The_Magpie_on_Tour
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Inaccurate comments about the Bistrot and Hot Fuzz; it was the exterior of The Crown - the non bistrot end - used in the film, the interior being The Royal Standard in Beaconsfield. Assumptions about our staff too. But never mind, glad you enjoyed your...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Wells
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1,036 reviews
.07 km away
The White Hart Hotel
362 reviews
.10 km away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
224 reviews
.10 km away
Premier Inn Wells (Somerset)
262 reviews
.79 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Courtyard Restaurant
456 reviews
.10 km away
Square Edge Cafe-Bar
288 reviews
.11 km away
TWENTYONE cafe + kitchen
139 reviews
.03 km away
Goodfellows
524 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wells Cathedral
2,857 reviews
.12 km away
Vicar's Close
782 reviews
.26 km away
The Bishop's Palace and Gardens
1,187 reviews
.21 km away
Wells Market Place
227 reviews
.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Anton's Bistrot staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$41
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 673457
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;