We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ruby Cantonese Restaurant

29 St. John Street, Lichfield WS13 6NU, England
+44 1543 251144
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good21%
  • Average12%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
29 St. John Street, Lichfield WS13 6NU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Had the buffet option meal here with a group of six which we enjoyed as we tried 6 different starters, 6 different mains , not much choice on the deserts though (don’t think the Chinese do deserts) Service was good (they were very busy, Saturday...More

Thank illoyduk
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took my wife to the Ruby for a birthday meal along with the mother in law and niece. We ordered starters of which non came together! My wife is a vegetarian and we ordered vegetarian spring rolls and when they came they were normal spring...More

Thank Jamie P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Located on St John St on way into Lichfield. Blink and you would miss it. Went for the Sunday Buffet ALL YOU CAN EAT and wasn't dissapointed. Service was attentive and quick without being rushed. Table of 7 in the window was perfect for us...More

Thank Gary W
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Evening dinner with friends, this great restaurant, unassumingly placed in Lichfield was a great find. Friendly attentive staff, great food and even things not on the menu for our spice loving friend. Eat enjoy and eat again quality at a very reasonable price.

Thank phillgoldsmith
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review we at the Ruby are so happy you enjoyed your meal & was well looked after by our wonderful staff..We hope to see you at the Ruby again in the near future 😀

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Ruby was recommended by colleagues who had visited earlier in the week. Really enjoyed the evening, the food was delicious and arrived quickly. Everything was fresh and well cooked. Will certainly return.

Thank Robert G
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Wow thank you very much 😀These are the lovely reviews we love to see & so happy you enjoyed your evening with us..hope to see you again in the near future 😊

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Have been to China Town in Soho London many times, but this place blows them all away. The Ruby food is always good and I just keep going back.

Thank 184adrian
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Wow thank you so much for your wonderful review we at the Ruby do really appreciate it..looking forward in seeing you soon

Reviewed 30 September 2017

Visited with an adult family group and failed to do our research first - we had not realised it would be all you can eat buffet. When we requested the a la carte menu we were told we would not want it! We insisted but...More

Thank kategrew
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Actually we would not welcome you back because all you did was complain & was very rude at the table in our packed restaurant that our well mannered customers wanted to be seated elsewear..You really do need to learn some table manners

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Went here on a Wednesday as a group of 18 people with 1 child for a birthday. Food was cooked fresh tasted wonderful and there was plenty of it. Thoroughly enjoyed the all you can eat Chinese and prefer the food being cooked fresh to...More

Thank Mrs Rachel H
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review 😊We look forward to seeing you back at Our Ruby in the near future

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Visited The Ruby on recommendation and on arrival were surprised on the shortage of customers, however the buffet had lots of choices and was served with politeness and efficiency. The food came with large helpings and was very enjoyable and good value at the price....More

Thank Mary B
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We came to celebrate my son's birthday. Unfortunately it wasn't what we'd hoped for, despite costing over £100. The restaurant is now an 'all you can eat' type establishment which has adversely affected the quality of food and service. There's efficient service and there's intimidating...More

2  Thank Budomaid
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for your constructive review 😊Seems like to me you was very well looked after by members of my top quality staff..top service you had there then 😊I am wondering though how did my king prawns 🍤 turn into battered balls 🤣

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Lal Bagh
783 reviews
.18 km away
The Angel Inn
92 reviews
.17 km away
Lime Pickle
36 reviews
.02 km away
Brewhouse & Kitchen Lichfield
133 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lichfield Cathedral
1,466 reviews
.48 km away
Beacon Park
249 reviews
.27 km away
Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum
253 reviews
.25 km away
Erasmus Darwin House
234 reviews
.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
James1539
8 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Norreena H | Property representative |
Hi James Thank you for your question However I consider all my waiters & waitresses to be top quality staff & it would be totally unfair of me as a boss to single any of them out on trip advisor who is better then who, Why... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29 St. John Street, Lichfield WS13 6NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Lichfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1543 251144
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing