We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Turks Head Pub

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Low Road | Hasketon, Woodbridge IP13 6JG, England
+44 1394 610343
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 20:00
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 201: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is in a very small village, that surely must be suffering from the surge of interest in what is clearly a very recent make over, which has been extremely well done. We went on a wet Monday in March, and there were a lot of people there, arriving in very swanky cars. We were warmly welcomed into a very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 596Stacey
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had lunch at the Turks Head today with 2 small children in tow. On arrival we were made very welcome by the friendly staff. I can highly recommend the steak sandwich. When it arrived my tired toddler decided he didn't want to sit still at the table. One of the staff very kindly found a game and played it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank thirtysomething2017
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We called at The Turks Head on the off chance for sunday lunch, they arranged a table for us straight away, by the time our drinks were poured the table was ready. Service from the staff was beyond amazing, our every need was attended to. The food was excellent, tasty, very well presented and fairly priced, we felt very comfortable... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Niki C
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Turks Head serves an excellent Sunday lunch. Although it's a little hard to find, this place is filled every Sunday and is obviously passed on by word of mouth. The price is very competitive and menu varied.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra C
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This has been a favourite for some time, but we were very disappointed on this occasion. Menu looked tempting and the food was beautiful to look at but in reality some of the combos were a bit weird. Scallops were nice, but the tapioca crisps and seaweed weren't entirely pleasant. One of our party had to send main course back... More 

Helpful?
Thank 57variety186387
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited The Turks Head for the first time today. After receiving a very warm welcome my friends and I enjoyed a delicious lunch. I went for the steak sandwich that was cooked to perfection. Our trio decided to share the banoffee pie for desert. The biscuit base, piled high with toffee, clotted cream and dotted with caramelised banana slices... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sallyorm
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I went here for sunday diner, Staff were very friendly and service was good. its a shame the menu was limited as we would have liked a bit more choice. My husband found it difficult to order a starter as choice not great, maybe. scotch egg, or goats cheese and onion tart for starters would be good..... More 

Helpful?
Thank Horseworld101
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Whilst the food is ok be prepared for a hefty bill. Starters at £11 and £9.50 , basket of 4 slices of bread £4 , glass of wine £8.90 . You get the idea ! There are so many great places to eat in Woodbridge and beyond that use fresh and locally sourced ingredients and don't charge these extortionate prices... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
JemimaW, Owner at Turks Head Pub, responded to this review

Dear Anon, I am rather baffled by your review. We have a large selection of wines by the glass. Our 175ml glasses of wine range from £4.20 for a lovely Chilean Sauvignon Blanc or Merlot to £7.20 for a rather special Pinot Noir. You can pay £11 for hand dived scallops or £7 for goats cheese, roasted beetroot and fennel... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lunch was good.Menu a little limited but it was early in the week. One of our party struggled for choice..Beer was good and wine was ok.

Helpful?
Thank Cube105
JemimaW, Owner at Turks Head Pub, responded to this review

Dear Cube, I am so glad you enjoyed your lunch. Between our set menu and our a la carte we do in fact have a choice of 7 starters and 11 mains. So there is quite a lot of choice. We hope to see you again soon. All the best Jemima More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have visited this pub many times was really good but returned recently and felt it had deteriorated long wait cold pub food just ok but expensive poor menu.

Helpful?
Thank joycehogg76
JemimaW, Owner at Turks Head Pub, responded to this review

Dear Joycehogg76, I'm not sure you have the correct pub. We have two log fires and underfloor heating. We are usually too toasty if anything. We have also only been reopened a year and you sound like you are talking about somewhere that has been around for a while. However if it is us you are talking about I am... More 

Travellers who viewed Turks Head Pub also viewed

Bromeswell, Woodbridge
Pettistree, Woodbridge
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to Turks Head Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$50
Cuisine
European, Pub, Gastropub, Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Wine and Beer
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 20:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Low Road | Hasketon, Woodbridge IP13 6JG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Woodbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1394 610343
Description
The Turks Head is a traditional pub and dining room. We serve excellent ales. We have an extensive wine list and a large selection of gins, with a dining room serving wonderful local seasonal produce. We are in the Good Food Guide. We welcome dogs in our bar and snug. We have a large garden and petanque pistes. Boule are available behind the bar.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Turks Head Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?