We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Specialist city steak restaurant situated in the heart of Newcastle Quayside, serving up the finest Himalayan salt dry-aged steaks, Yorkshire Wagyu and other great locally sourced meat, fish & vegetarian dishes.
PRICE RANGE
US$21 - US$55
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Seafood, Grill, British
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Wine and Beer, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
408
92
56
43
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
408
92
56
43
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef dripping chips steak wagyu chateaubriand mac and cheese onion rings hash browns brisket calamari black pudding potatoes cake salad king prawns cooked to perfection sharing board peppercorn sauce
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Myself and my partner couldn’t have asked for more. Our first time at Tomahawk but definitely won’t be our last. The food was second to none..(as we were told by friends). Showed up and shown straight to our table. Drinks were offered straight away as...well as water for the table which was a lovely touch, our waitress Sam couldn’t do enough for us. We never had to ask for more drinks and received such a great service and smile! Thank you Tomahawk, we will be back soon!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We were really looking forward to this - took our daughter up to the University here for the first time, so our first visit to the City. Our table was booked for 7.30pm. We ordered and then waited and waited and waited and our food...didn’t arrive until 9.00pm. With two young kids it really wasn’t ideal. It wasn’t even that busy - we were seated upstairs and there was only one other table occupied. Also, I asked for Gin with slimline tonic - I was told that all the tonics that they have are slimline, but normal tonic arrived both times that I ordered a drink. Also, no sparkling water in stock. Food was great, but perhaps anything would have tasted that good after an hour and a half wait!! Staff were very friendly but the pace needs seriously picking up. Several of them just at the bar having a chat rather than seeing to a very hungry table!!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you had a long wait for your food, all our food is prepared fresh when ordered so some dishes take a little longer than others, but...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Totally on spec very friendly young man and server was a. Lovely Geordie girl We had philly steak - very nice, hot and tasty Drinks were reasonable and then a cocktail, mojioto very niceMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us and that you enjoyed your philly steak and found it to be very nice hot...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were huge fans of Tomahawk, it was our go-to restaurant for celebrations or an excellent steak dinner (we’ve also visited other Tomahawks in the region when this one was fully booked). Unfortunately after our visit today, we are not keen to return… We had...a rare child-free Sunday so booked in for a late lunch. We did arrive a little early but there was no problem with seating us when we arrived, which was appreciated. The service was a little lacking in terms of our waitress not being overly chatty or engaged but we ordered our fillet steaks and looked forward to some delicious food. When the steaks arrived, they didn’t look as tasty as normal; we both loved the caramelised taste of the steaks on previous visits but this time the steak was not much better than something we could have cooked at home and both the steaks and sauces were lukewarm. We were hungry and the food was still tasty, just not up to the usual high standards, so we ate our food. In any case, no one come over to ask if everything was ok and a glass of wine my husband ordered to accompany dinner arrived just as he was finishing. The main event though happened on the table next to us. They arrived as we were eating our food and ordered drinks, including a bottle of red wine. Unfortunately the waitress dropped the bottle of wine as she arrived at their table and it splashed all over the gentleman’s top. A complete accident but it was the aftermath that was disappointing. It was decided to focus on cleaning the floor and no one from the restaurant had noted that my handbag had been extensively splashed with red wine and also my purchases from the Quayside Sunday Market had been destroyed. Fortunately the table next to us were (I hope) sufficiently compensated but we asked for our bill and were finally asked if everything was ok (funnily enough when we asked for the service charge to be removed). Again, no one really seemed to care. The service has always been hit and miss at Tomahawk but this experience when coupled with sub-par food means we will likely look for other options next time we fancy a steak or have something to celebrate.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by certain aspects of your recent visit with us and you found the food on this visit was not very warm, we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had the most amazing meal , excellent service. Highly recommend. Will definitely be back when we are in Newcastle again. Big thanks to Emma and staff who took great care of me when I wasn’t feeling well, Great TeamMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us and that you had the most amazing meal! Also we are very pleased to hear...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely beautiful steakhouse in the heart of Newcastle. The food was 10/10 and so was the service from our waitress Katie.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us and that you would recommend us and that you would give the food 10/10 alongside the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Poor, way too busy for the staff to cope. Staff rushed off their feet making mistakes and a manager who couldn’t cope. Our meal was far from perfect and neither was that of our table neighbours, also the other diners in the bar area left...waiting were left to stare at us eating our meals… not pleasantMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by certain aspects of your visit with us. We were at the last minute several key team members short and our team were...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and the food is decent however the higher management must be appalling: the staff were overworked and taking the brunt of the complaints from customers that was managements fault due to for poor organisation. We had to wait half...an hour for a table that we had booked and both food and drinks took a very long time. Would not return and I feel for all of the staff working there- higher management needs to sort themselves outMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by certain aspects of your recent visit with us and that you had to wait a little while for your table to be...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited the Tomahawk steakhouse after the Great North Run on Sunday. We had the sharing steak platter and it was delicious, steak cooked to perfection and tasty sides. Good value for money, would definitely recommend to those on a trip to Newcastle.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Customer Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us and that you enjoyed your steak sharing board and found the steaks were all cooked...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for Sunday lunch today, although this restaurant is lovely and I have enjoyed previous visits, the Sunday roast came out stone cold. I was looking forward to this, however the meat was cold, as was the veg that came out. Felt too awkward to...complain, but I can imagine the other diners had a cold Sunday roast too, it was like it had been kept under a hot plate for ages and just dished up on order. We were told the beef would be pink which is fine as I prefer rare meat, but the beef was so chewy I’m still thinking about how raw it was now. Never again, sorry tomahawkMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Customer Relations, Owner at Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed and found your Sunday Lunches' to be cold. Obviously if you had brought this to our attention when you were dining we...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Newcastle Central
1,680 reviews
.08 km away
Malmaison Newcastle
3,988 reviews
.14 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel
2,548 reviews
.29 km away
Baltic Quays Luxury Apartments
28 reviews
.36 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Six
2,799 reviews
.28 km away
The Brasserie at Sage Gateshead
298 reviews
.24 km away
Chez Mal Brasserie & Bar at Malmaison Newcastle
789 reviews
.15 km away
BALTIC Kitchen
262 reviews
.25 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Sage Gateshead
1,306 reviews
.25 km away
The Quayside
3,191 reviews
.07 km away
Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art
1,213 reviews
.29 km away
The Tyne Bridge
1,031 reviews
.33 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Reallyleavingsoon
24 September 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from vicago | Reviewed this property |
Phone: 0191 222 1122 - call the Restaurant. The mask rules are changing constantly.
0
Votes
toddNewcastle
20 December 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from kara c | Reviewed this property |
Yes you don’t have to eat there
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle

Yes, Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Tomahawk Steakhouse Newcastle is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4