We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Goose Sizzling Pub

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Unit 1 Eldon Gardens, Percy Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 7RA, England
+44 191 221 2208
Website
Today
08:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 08:00 - 00:00
Fri - Sat 08:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 129: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Came here today for lunch with my auntie it isn't the first time we have been , quite a few times now and each time we couldn't fault it one bit we had the traditional Carvery which is a variety of meats to choose from , comes with a yorksire unlimited amount of veg , mash etc which you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank lauren2303
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hi just finished my food in the goose , it was great , yes they made a mistake and forgot r food but they were very apologetic and that made all the difference. Bar staff were amazing especially Michael ,we will b back

Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
General Manager A, General Manager at The Goose Sizzling Pub, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, I'll make sure it gets passed onto our team. More 

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came up from Cambridge to visit family after a long while of being away and went here and it was absolutely brilliant value for money 10/10

Helpful?
Thank geordieboy1990
General Manager A, Manager at The Goose Sizzling Pub, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit with us, I'll pass your feedback onto the team. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

While the food is cheap I fonud food lukewarm & carrots were under cooked,will I be back for food never again ,might pop in for a drink.so disappointed😞

Helpful?
Thank yurkhon
General Manager A, Manager at The Goose Sizzling Pub, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I'll pass these comments onto the team so they can refocus on these areas. More 

Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We have been here many times, we came twice over new year, always busy, great atmosphere and friendly staff. Children welcome too.

Helpful?
Thank NCStace
General Manager A, Manager at The Goose Sizzling Pub, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, I'll pass your comments onto the team, looking forward to seeing you soon. More 

Chester-le-St
Level Contributor
231 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

We called in for a drink and the wife had a carvery.The beer was £2.85 for carling which is excellent value and the carvery was £7.20 and it was very nice.My wife had the pork with crackling,carrots,brussels,roast pots,mash,cauliflower cheese and green beans.She enjoyed very much and said she would return.Order your food at the bar and give them the table... More 

Helpful?
Thank BazzaChester_le_St
General Manager A, Manager at The Goose Sizzling Pub, responded to this review

I'm glad you had a pleasant experience, we hope to see you again soon, thanks for your feedback. More 

North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016

Centrally located in town, lots of seating, came on a busy evening but still got served quite quickly. No real ales is the downside for me personally. Reasonable priced drinks and the staff are friendly.

Helpful?
Thank 413gailg
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Attended pub today for lunch. Disabled access with small slope into main part. Disabled toilet radar key scheme. Food delicious and reasonably priced. Unfortunately tables set out wrong very cramped. Tight squeeze for wheelchair and pushchairs. Standing area cramped can be difficult access bar to order food or get drink. Staff pleasant but are seldom seen.

Helpful?
Thank Dionne T
Northumberland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016

Tipped up at this eatery with my wife AT 2pm the sunday before christmas 2016 what a big disappointment for the both of us I mean 2pm isn't late in the day to have a carvery you have to pay at the bar and you are given a ticket to give to the guy carving the meat 4 choice's of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bonecrusher_9
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

This is a good pub and very convenient for the bus station. We've visited several times and had the carvery. This pub has recently changed hands and on our recent visit early December 16 were very disappointed both with the service and the quality of the food. We ordered 2 starters and 2 carveries. After 20 minutes waiting for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marion B

Travellers who viewed The Goose Sizzling Pub also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Goose Sizzling Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$7
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Unit 1 Eldon Gardens, Percy Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 7RA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 221 2208
Description
Part of the Crown Carvery Chain

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Goose Sizzling Pub and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Goose Sizzling Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?