We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solomons

West rd, Newcastle upon Tyne NE5, England
+44 191 274 2323
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good13%
  • Average4%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (27 reviews)
“rogan josh” (4 reviews)
“garlic naan” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Halal, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
West rd, Newcastle upon Tyne NE5, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm been going for take-away for years. My recent visit was by far the worst experience I've had with them. The food was actually ok but it was cold. I think this probably down to them forgetting about the meal. I was told it would...More

Thank smalltime76
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this restaurant today and all I can say is please don't waste your money,I paid £93 with drinks,family of five,yes I would say that's good but the meals were disgusting ,we all ordered different as well and not one was good,such a shame as...More

5  Thank dawnarm71
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cold naans, bhuna had crunchy onion and devoid of tomatoes. Not good. Had i been at the restaurant I would have sent it back but unfortunately it was a takeaway.

Thank Angie M
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Dear Angie M, your comments have been passed over to management to look into and we apologise you were not happy with your meal.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Usually this is my first choice of venue for Indian food. However, last visit was awful. The food wasn't nice at all. Don't know if it's changed hands or what but it's near the bottom of my choice of venues now.

Thank jayne4369
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Dear jayne4369, your comments have been passed over to management to look into and we apologise you were not happy with your evening with us.

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Was a large group of us and the place was empty so that made me think it might not be that good but it was, of course service was great ( think the waiters were glad of something to do ) the food came out...More

Thank ks1912
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review ks1912.

Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

We ate here early on a Sunday evening. The service was excellent and the food good and sometimes very good. For our main courses we had the meat and vegetable thali to share. There were some tasty dishes although overall they could have been spicier....More

Thank MilesGary
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Dear MilesGary, Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Food here is absolutely fab, everything is always good. Only downside is can be a little expensive so can't afford to be a regular. More of a big treat meal.

Thank Mya27
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Thanks for the fab review Mya27, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback and we hope to see you again!

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Went to restaurant with a few friends. The lamb curry was decent. The chicken was dry. There was nothing in the bar when the girls wanted to get a drink for the meal as we do.. unfortunately we won't be going again.

Thank TastebudTaster
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Dear Tastebudtester we apologise you were not satisfied with your visit. Regards

Reviewed 25 February 2017

Surprised to see a few negative reviews to be honest - apart from one blip last year when there was some staff changes we have always had a 5* experience here. We had a meal for two on Valentines Day and it was as good...More

Thank Rubles2010
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the fab review Rubles2010 we really appreciate the kind feedback and hope to see you again soon. Regards

Reviewed 23 February 2017

This used to be a fabulous restaurant but after some bad meals here I left it for a few years and decided to give it one more try. The shami kebab I ordered was just like a Spam fritter without the taste and the Chilli...More

Thank iank141
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this review

Dear iank141, again we apologise for the dissatisfaction. Regards

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Achellos Italian Restaurant
276 reviews
1.48 km away
Rajnagar Bangladeshi Kitchen
80 reviews
1.41 km away
Juve Lounge
6 reviews
.99 km away
Nearby Attractions
The MetroCentre
394 reviews
3.12 km away
Newburn hall motor museum
77 reviews
3.60 km away
Namco Funscape
5 reviews
2.88 km away
Elswick Pool
11 reviews
3.45 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
jc0uls0n
Hi I am wanting to book a table for about 19 people , one of my friends does not like Indian food or spicy food is there anyway you could cook a plain dish for her I would be very grateful if you could .
22 September 2016|
Answer
Response from SolomonsGroup | Property representative |
Hi thank you for your question. Our chefs are happy to accommodate any requests we do also offer mild dishes as well as English dishes!
0
Votes
Christine G
Do you have disabled toilets
17 February 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Christine G
Do you have disabled toilets.
17 February 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$29 - US$39
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 23:30
Monday
17:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:30
Thursday
17:00 - 23:30
Friday
17:00 - 23:30
Saturday
17:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West rd, Newcastle upon Tyne NE5, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: +44 191 274 2323
  • E-mail