We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solomons

) #283 of 1,012 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne $$ - $$$ Indian, Asian,
West rd, Newcastle upon Tyne NE5, England
07579459360
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good13%
  • Average4%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (27 reviews)
“rogan josh” (4 reviews)
“garlic naan” (5 reviews)
Open Now
17:00 - 23:30All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Halal, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
West rd, Newcastle upon Tyne NE5, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 387 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Exceptional food and exceptional service as always. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Hands down best Indians in Newcastle

Thank Reece12335
Reviewed 4 days ago

Used to eat here quite a lot a few years ago but we drifted off to other restaurants, our meal was very poor some of it was cold some was tasteless part of our order was wrong. After talking to another couple their experience was...More

1  Thank dandelandan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One meal in the restaurant and one takeaway in the last month. Both fab and still our go-to Indians. We had what we always have in the restaurant - starters of Tandoori Mixed Kebab, King Prawn Bhaji an Onion Bhaji followed by main to share,...More

Thank Rubles2010
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the great review Rubles2010! We are really pleased you enjoyed your meals with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner visited this place for the first time today. I was unsure on visiting at first after mixed reviews but was pleasantly surprised as the food was really nice. Their chicken tikka massala is the best I've ever tasted! The restaurant had...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 29 June 2017

We picked this as it was not far from our hotel. We had visited an Solomons before and knew the food would be great. We were not disappointed. We were quickly taken to our table and seated. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The...More

Thank rashdah a
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the great review rashdah a!

Reviewed 11 May 2017

I'm been going for take-away for years. My recent visit was by far the worst experience I've had with them. The food was actually ok but it was cold. I think this probably down to them forgetting about the meal. I was told it would...More

Thank smalltime76
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Visited this restaurant today and all I can say is please don't waste your money,I paid £93 with drinks,family of five,yes I would say that's good but the meals were disgusting ,we all ordered different as well and not one was good,such a shame as...More

6  Thank dawnarm71
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Cold naans, bhuna had crunchy onion and devoid of tomatoes. Not good. Had i been at the restaurant I would have sent it back but unfortunately it was a takeaway.

Thank Angie M
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Angie M, your comments have been passed over to management to look into and we apologise you were not happy with your meal.

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Usually this is my first choice of venue for Indian food. However, last visit was awful. The food wasn't nice at all. Don't know if it's changed hands or what but it's near the bottom of my choice of venues now.

Thank jayne4369
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear jayne4369, your comments have been passed over to management to look into and we apologise you were not happy with your evening with us.

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Was a large group of us and the place was empty so that made me think it might not be that good but it was, of course service was great ( think the waiters were glad of something to do ) the food came out...More

Thank ks1912
SolomonsGroup, Public Relations Manager at Solomons, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for your kind review ks1912.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Achellos Italian Restaurant
305 reviews
1.48 km away
Rajnagar Bangladeshi Kitchen
85 reviews
1.42 km away
Juve Lounge
9 reviews
.99 km away
Nearby Attractions
intu MetroCentre
436 reviews
3.12 km away
Newburn hall motor museum
81 reviews
3.60 km away
Namco Funscape
6 reviews
2.88 km away
Elswick Pool
11 reviews
3.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jc0uls0n
22 September 2016|
Answer
Response from SolomonsGroup | Property representative |
Hi thank you for your question. Our chefs are happy to accommodate any requests we do also offer mild dishes as well as English dishes!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$29 - US$39
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 23:30
Monday
17:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:30
Thursday
17:00 - 23:30
Friday
17:00 - 23:30
Saturday
17:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West rd, Newcastle upon Tyne NE5, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Phone Number: 07579459360
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing