We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Bridge Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6AB, England
+44 1789 269462
Website
Today
09:30 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:30 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 09:30 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,148: English reviews
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a lovely meal,we really enjoyed the fish & chips in beautiful sunshine outside,great selection & plenty of beers & ales to choose from.Reasonably priced,great staff & surroundings

Helpful?
Thank T B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We called in for a late lunch on the Saturday of Shakespeare's Birthday Celebrations and asked to sit in the restaurant upstairs. The staff were friendly and helpful and found us a table for 3 by a window overlooking the RSC and the River Avon. The menu is varied and the staff were helpful in advising on choices to suit... More 

Helpful?
Thank DAP39
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Birthday meal for my beautiful friend, we have been here a few times before but this was our first time in the restaurant we normally just chill out in the bar downstairs and have some nibbles and cocktails. As this was a special occasion we ventured to the restaurant. Initially everything was positive and we were really excited for our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathie-Jay
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Great venue by the river, Fantastic beer on offer & plenty to choose from in terms of food. Very friendly staff & a great atmosphere. They even go out of the way to suggest some other drinks & gave us a small sample of a new product which was a nice touch. Would highly recommend this restaurant and bar for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dontlikemoaningbut
General Manager A, Manager at The Encore, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write us review and the strong recommendation. We're pleased that you enjoyed your experience at The Encore. Our staff will always do that little something extra to please. We hope you return again soon. John Guest Care Manager More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My family and I stopped by to presumably have a quick pub bite for lunch and instead got what I'd only describe as pub food at restaurant prices and portions. The food was OK but I could've bought the same thing at a small fish and chip takeaway shop. It took a very long time to come, the service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simona L
General Manager A, Manager at The Encore, responded to this review

Hi Simona, Thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. John Guest Care Manager More 

Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We popped in for a meal on our last night in Stratford. The food itself was ok - but the service was poor. Apparently it takes all 3 members of bar staff to enter an order into the till, ignoring the ever growing queue at the bar. They were supremely inept to the point we decided to go elsewhere rather... More 

Helpful?
Thank L825S
General Manager A, Manager at The Encore, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I can only apologise that on this occasion you had a negative experience, but thank you for bringing this to my attention and i will relay this back to our team to prevent any reacurrnce of this happing in the future. We hope this wont stop you returning... More 

Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked a table here mid week, and when we arrived it appeared there was one waitress for the whole restaurant. She was on the phone, so ushered us to a sofa to wait until she was free. The service was incredibly slow, we waited 20 minutes before ordering drinks, although the couple next to us waited half an hour before... More 

Helpful?
Thank bevmundo
General Manager A, Manager at The Encore, responded to this review

Hi Bev, Thanks for the taking the time to write us a review. We're pleased that you enjoyed your meal at The Encore. I Can only apologise you felt that the service was slow on this occasion, we can sometimes find ourselves busier than expected. We hope this doesn't deter you from returning again in future. John Guest Care Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely gastro pub. Best fish and chips. Good atmosphere. Friendly staff. Comfortable surroundings. Thoroughly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank louisa12342016
General Manager A, Manager at The Encore, responded to this review

Hi Louisa, Thanks for taking the time to write us a great 5* review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the fish and chips and our staff delivered a service that met your expectations. We hope on your next visit to Stratford you pop in to see us. John Guest Care Manager More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We chose to visit here after reading the reviews and were a little disappointed. They had run out of a lot of things on their menu so the choice was very limited. The quality of the food was very average and my partner had a burger which should have come with sweet potato fires and turned up with normal chips... More 

Helpful?
Thank DellboySussex
General Manager A, Manager at The Encore, responded to this review

Hi Dellboy, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us. I can only apologise and I will feed these comments back to our team. John Guest Care Manager More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What first greets you upon entering this pub and restaurant are the beautiful smiles of the girls behind the bar and serving in the restaurant. Their customer care and warm personalities are breathes of fresh air. The meal was very nice, but the discerning Italian food lover should not choose the pasta dishes. The linguine were overcooked and mushy. Desserts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mireille F

Travellers who viewed The Encore also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Encore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 22:30
Monday
09:30 - 00:00
Tuesday
09:30 - 00:00
Wednesday
09:30 - 00:00
Thursday
09:30 - 00:00
Friday
09:30 - 00:00
Saturday
09:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Bridge Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6AB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Stratford-upon-Avon
  • Phone Number: +44 1789 269462
Description
An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings,The Encore serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Encore and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Encore staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?