We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Hare and Hounds

$$ - $$$, British,
426 Lickey Road | Rednal B45 8UU, Birmingham B45 8UU, England
+44 121 457 9743
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good24%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“ham” (5 reviews)
“peas” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
426 Lickey Road | Rednal B45 8UU, Birmingham B45 8UU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On my first visit to the Old Hare and Hounds on the 28/9/17 I was delighted by the grand service and the igh quality of the food served there. The extensive menu has so much to choose from and it takes ages to decide what...More

Thank Jack R
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Jack R 2nd October Hi Jack Thanks for taking the time to feedback on your recent visit. We are so happy here at the Old hare and hounds that you enjoyed your visit. Please watch out for our new menu coming soon. Look forward to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Bought my parents here they had never visited before They both loved it here and said there food was lovely Will definitely be returning when they are in brum again Thank you for great food great service.More

1  Thank chelsey h
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Chelsey 2nd October Hi, Thanks for taking the time to feedback on your recent visit. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and especially your food. Watch out for our new menu coming soon. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks Jason...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Looking for lunch and called into this large pub with parking, chain pub old ember inns and menu pretty generic, very laid back at the bar but the food and service was OK 2 mains and a smirk off cider to share £18 Chicken with...More

Thank ScootsBirmingham
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Thanks for taking the time to feedback On your recent visit. Here at the Old Hare and Hounds we strive to deliver excellent service and products on every guests visit. As a we are a member of the Ember family we strive as a...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely lunch here, after a nice country walk. The pub is an Ember inn so you pretty much get a good meal for a reasonable price. We had a kilo of chicken wings to start and they were yummy! Steak and ale pie for main...More

Thank Charshe84
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Charsh84 Hi, Thanks for taking the time to rate us on your recent visit. We are really happy you enjoyed your visit and that the food was great. Our team are really friendly and happy to chat all the time. Look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 10 September 2017

Called in to our local, hoping for the usual atmosphere, service and a good meal, which we had come to expect. Unfortunately our last visit was not up to the usual standard, and we were assured by Management that things would change. What a disappointment!...More

2  Thank smiler1956
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Smiller1956 11th September HI, Thank you for taking the time to feedback On your recent visit. Firstly let me take this opportunity To apologise for your recent visit. As you mentioned we are a busy pub However level of service and customer Care is paramount...More

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Came here for lunch after a long walk up the licky hills country park. The car parks a bit narrow and the floor markings need a bit of updating but the pub it's self was quite welcoming. Was what you'd expect from a modernised country...More

1  Thank tompettit88
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

TomPettit88 11th September Hi Tom Thank you for taking the time to feedback On your recent visit. We are so happy you enjoyed your meal And enjoyed the pub. I will pass your comments onto our Maintenance department regarding the Markings in the car park....More

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Had lunch here with a friend recently and was pleasantly surprised. I had the steak pie with chips and peas . Food was nice and hot ,served quickly with only a short waiting time . Very good offers on the lunch menu .

Thank 1477don
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

1477don 11th September Hi Thank you for taking the time to feedback On your recent visit. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Meals and visit to the pub. We look forward to seeing you again Soon. Many thanks Jason and the Team

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Another visit to the Old Hare and Hounds. You can always guarantee that you will have a good meal. Their mixed grill is excellent with the chicken, ham and steak always cooked well.

Thank Sandra S
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sandra S 11th September Hi Sandra Thank you for taking the time to feedback o. Your recent visit. We are really pleased you enjoyed your meals and recent visit to the pub. Look forward to Seeing you again soon Many thanks Jason and the Team

Reviewed 27 August 2017

Tried the 3 course lunch special for £8.49 My tomato soup was hot & nice & came with piece crusty bread. Ham, 2 eggs, chips & peas was ok, good portion size Desserts came separately for some unknown reason, but my cheesecake & coffee was...More

Thank sportybirmingham
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent visit. We are very happy that you enjoyed your food, sorry about the music but this is fed direct to us by a company. Sorry to hear you didn't like one of our...More

Reviewed 18 August 2017

Had lunch here yesterday with 3 friends, what a surprise. I had a 2 course lunch, prawn cocktail followed by Chicken, new potatoes, peas and gravy. Prawn cocktail 10 out of 10. On the down side of main course, would have liked a variety of...More

Thank Frand4711
General Manager A, Manager at The Old Hare and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

frand4711 20th August Hi, Thank you for taking the time to rate us!!! Here at the Old Hare and Hounds we are really happy you enjoyed your visit. we so much look forward to seeing you soon Many Thanks Jason and the Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ruchi International
17 reviews
.87 km away
Lee's Kitchen
13 reviews
1.40 km away
Famous Cooking
6 reviews
1.38 km away
Himalaya Restaurant
649 reviews
1.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Blackwell Golf Club
5 reviews
4.29 km away
ABC Boat Hire
258 reviews
4.66 km away
Artrix
176 reviews
5.91 km away
Liz Monk Studio Pottery and Gallery
24 reviews
2.57 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
hayley d
30 August 2015|
Answer
Response from OHHTEAM | Property representative |
Hi Hayley, dogs are welcome in our beer garden. We put bowls out every morning & one of the businesses down the road even uses our car park for dog training lessons on Friday mornings! Hope to see you soon.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$10
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 12:30 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:30 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 426 Lickey Road | Rednal B45 8UU, Birmingham B45 8UU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Birmingham
  • Phone Number: +44 121 457 9743
Description
Community pub selling up to 11 cask ales. Full menu available serving food until 10pm. Monday Games night & Cask night Wednesday Music Quiz Friday Wine offers Saturday Regular live music Sunday General Quiz & wine offer
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing