We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
278 Thimble Mill Lane, Birmingham B7 5HD, England
+44 121 327 7879
Website
Today
11:30 - 23:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 22:00
Mon - Sat 11:30 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 235: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Traditional Cantonese food, not your standard sweet n sour pork. Stay away from the buffet and go for the a la carter as it's much better quality.

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We value all reviews from our customers and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Wing Wah. We hope that you have a lovely time on your next visit and that it is equally as enjoyable if not more so. More 

Birmingham England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

good grub , if your hungry its even better take it from an expert its ok found the peas to be very tasty for what its worth , they are little green round things

Helpful?
Thank robgrove1key
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We value all reviews from our customers and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Wing Wah. We hope that you have a lovely time on your next visit and that it is equally as enjoyable if not more so. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in for a quick buffet and was pleasantly surprised with the huge selection and the high quality of the food. Only queued for a few minutes to get our table as we was early for lunch. Looking forward to a second trip there at some point.

Helpful?
Thank Mike G
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We value all reviews from our customers and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Wing Wah. We hope that you have a lovely time on your next visit and that it is equally as enjoyable if not more so. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Situated just outside the City Centre next to Wing Yip Supermarket is the excellent Wing Wah. Often thought of as a buffet place it's so much more. No buffet on this day we chose from the a la carte. I had some roast duck & deep fried squid. However, with 7 people choosing there was a wealth of options to... More 

Helpful?
Thank IanVezy
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

We value all reviews from our customers and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Wing Wah. We hope that you have a lovely time on your next visit and that it is equally as enjoyable if not more so. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

Incredibly disappointing, a serious lack of choice in the food, upon arrival 3/4 dishes had run out and hadn't been refilled until we had asked. Even then, they refilled the beef in black bean sauce and the beef tasted off, no way that was fresh beef. There were also not hot plates, No Peking duck Forks had run out and... More 

Helpful?
Thank pedre a
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We, at Wing Wah try to please all our customers by producing delicious food coupled with good service . We endeavour to ensure all our customers have an enjoyable experience in a comfortable environment and we apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. I have forwarded your... More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

As per usual the food was as I expected which was quality and tasty. Can't go too far wrong. Danny the manager made it even more special as when he found out it was a birthday celebration he made it that little more special. I ordered well over the top but advantage there is what you don't finish you can... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony K
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

We value all reviews from our customers and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Wing Wah. We hope that you have a lovely time on your next visit and that it is equally as enjoyable if not more so. More 

Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016

The buffet here is great loads of choice always replenished and hot. We missed the ice cream as the ice cream maker was broken but we had a really good night out

Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

We value all reviews from our customers and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Wing Wah. We hope that you have a lovely time on your next visit and that it is equally as enjoyable if not more so. More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We have just left this restaurant after a very unenjoyable meal. We have visited wing wah in Coventry and found it to be fantastic. This was our first visit to this branch and we will not be returning! The food was standard at best, dried out and some of it cold. I found a large hair in a piece of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becca R
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We, at Wing Wah try to please all our customers by producing delicious food coupled with good service . We endeavour to ensure all our customers have an enjoyable experience in a comfortable environment and we apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. I have forwarded your... More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2016

Still THE place for a belt-busting experience. Also still very popular so you may need to book if the visit is important ( do not trust the on-line booking, the message does not get through to the front desk diary). Choice of buffets, standard excellent selection of dishes on the precooked and for the more adventurous, choosing a table top... More 

Helpful?
Thank david t
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

We value all reviews from our customers and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Wing Wah. We hope that you have a lovely time on your next visit and that it is equally as enjoyable if not more so. More 

Henley-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2016

I took some suppliers from Holland for lunch, make sure you ask for the Dim Sum and not the buffet. Some really fantastic dishes that are a long way from the usual Anglicised Chinese fare.

Helpful?
Thank Clutz7777
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

We value all reviews from our customers and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Wing Wah. We hope that you have a lovely time on your next visit and that it is equally as enjoyable if not more so. More 

Travellers who viewed Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$53 - US$53
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:30
Thursday
11:30 - 23:30
Friday
11:30 - 23:30
Saturday
11:30 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 278 Thimble Mill Lane, Birmingham B7 5HD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Birmingham
  • Phone Number: +44 121 327 7879

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?