We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery

Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England
+44 24 7667 2309
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good27%
  • Average13%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible33%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 188 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Bought the burger which was decidedly average. Chips were utterly inedible. Bone dry and chewy. Pasta from the salad bar was bland. Overall a poor experience. Had to join the carvery for the chips.. why? Why not cook some chips to go with my meal....More

Thank Phil H
Reviewed 2 days ago

on returning to my city of birth we decided to call in at lunchtime to the refurbished tollgate to try the carvery and on visiting the bar we purchased drink and a ticket for the small plate at £4.99 but you can pay £2 extra...More

Thank michael h
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Went here for the carvery, arrived at 6.30. Place was almost empty and the food wasn't good. Turkey was dried up and almost gone, roasts were cremated and mash had lumps in it. Edible but only just.

Thank elle196250
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thought we'd give this place another try since it has become a stonehouse as the food before was very poor. It doesn't seem to have improved at all! The staff seemed to be trying their best but it just wasn't enough, the place might have...More

Thank rebeccasherriff1
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Rebeccasherriff1, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time I've been in this place for over 20 years, and when my son suggested we go their for Sunday dinner as a family, I was a little apprehensive. But I'm glad we went. The food was amazing. And my kids and grandkids ate...More

Thank Susanheer1
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking your time to review. I am very happy you enjoyed your experience with us here at the Tollgate I will defiantly pass this message on to Danny. The team are really getting there so I really appreciate you positive comments there...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went at 5:50pm. This was a mistake. Most of the food was left over from lunch and very tired. The roast potatoes were over-cooked and hard. Some of the vegetables were finished and remained empty until just before we left. As we left fresh...More

Thank Geoff S
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Geoff Thankyou for taking the time to review us. I can assure you the food was not left from lunch as we do try to continuously keep our food as fresh as possible. However empty pots is not an excuse so I will feed...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely dinner tonight at the Tollgate. Stand in manager ... lovely! Visited table at different intervals to check food was good. Bar staff also lovely. Great value for great food. Would definitely recommend pizzas and FROSE!!!!

1  Thank r0xannehamil
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the carvery - well cooked gammon, turkey and beef bottomless potatoes and vegetables. For pud we had apple and caramel tart and strawberry cheesecake on state-of-the-art dishes. The service couldn't have been better. Thanks to Sinead, Bradley and Jack for making it a...More

1  Thank Karen K
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Karen K, Thankyou so much for your feedback is am pleased to see the results you have given us and couldn't be happier. I am very happy you enjoyed your experience with us at The Tollgate and we look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Greeted by staff on way in, promptly shown to booked table (bookings allowed us to expand earlier smaller booking to accommodate more guests and contacted us to confirm). A waiter was allocated to us for ordering drinks/meals as we were a large group and he...More

1  Thank Mini I
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Mini I, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! I have only been holding the Tollgate Pub for a week now and this comment is something for Jack to be proud of I am happy to say that you were the first biggest...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Tollgate the other week had carvery which was okay. So went back there today Sunday 20th and wasn't very happy. Waited ages at the bar to get served to pay for the carvery and drinks - but didn't have Carling. - disappointed ....More

Thank Karen G
General Manager A, Manager at The Tollgate Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Karen, I am sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us here at The Tollgate, due to a very busy afternoon we were slightly under staffed which means there was only one bar Team Member available. This was because the...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Good Honest Food Company
80 reviews
1.03 km away
Mocha Lounge
20 reviews
.77 km away
The Holyhead
220 reviews
1.55 km away
Rainbow Inn
89 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
Allesley Park
49 reviews
.34 km away
Historic Spon Street
95 reviews
2.77 km away
Coventry Watch Museum Project Limited
33 reviews
2.74 km away
Planet Ice Coventry
76 reviews
2.81 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Fraser M
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from moley70 | Reviewed this property |
Don't think this is a question, it's a statement, and very true, I agree with everything the this person has said, I am also Very near and would have been lovely to walk around, especially as the garden has been sorted, but... More
1
Vote
joycejakeman
13 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from reggie2005 | Reviewed this property |
Finished but tbh I went tonight and it was awful!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Holyhead Road, Coventry CV5 8HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Coventry
  • Phone Number: +44 24 7667 2309
Description
At Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery we’re a friendly bunch and pride ourselves on giving the warmest of welcomes. So when you pop over to our place, whether it’s to catch up with friends over a refreshing drink or because you just can’t be bothered to cook, we hope you’ll find it like a home from home – without the washing up!

We’ve something for all the family - from freshly carved, slow cooked roasts, stonebaked pizzas made from 100% fresh dough, tasty pub classics like hand battered fish, plus a range of burgers and vegetarian dishes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing