We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

the bull and anchor pub

233 wheelright lane, Coventry, England
+44 24 7636 5528
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$
DETAILS
233 wheelright lane, Coventry, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The worst lunch ever. Roast potatoes and parsnips ....I have never seen something like that before.....grey inside, looks they were left from previous Sunday reheated in fryer on old oil....disgusting. Won't never back.More

Thank Agnieszka N
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Agnie, I am sad that we did not meet your expectations and that we have disappointed you, I would like extend my apologies and I will be looking into these issues to ensure we can improve upon these matters. I look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Dropped in on the off-chance of a table, ordered the megasauras steak, was fab, will be back, son had double daddy burger, again he polished it off, desserts were good too, staff friendlyMore

Thank Vicky220876
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Vicky, I’m very glad to hear that you have had a great experience with us here the other day, and I will be passing on your kind comments onto all the team at the next team meeting. We look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came in on a Wednesday night. Only one girl serving behind the bar so long wait to be served and even longer wait to receive our order. As the evening went on dirty glasses mounted up on the bar with no sign of staff collecting...More

Thank viola342017
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Viola, We are very sorry to hear that you have not been satisfied with your visit to us, we will be looking into this visit for you to rectify the issues and ensure we can improve our service. We hope we can look forward...More

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Came in here today like I have done many times ... disappointed all the tables were reserved and it was 2pm never ever seen this in a hungry horse ... surely putting a sign up to say would be better no tables unless booked !!...More

Thank Loula79
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Loula, Im sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with your last two visits with us, i will be speaking to the manager today to ensure that all the issues that you have mentioned can be discussed and to ensure we can improve...More

Reviewed 28 March 2017

Apart from the screaming kids and children running around, I would say this was a pretty good experience. The food was excellent (as ever!) and the staff were great, always friendly and willing to have a chat. Nothing can be done about the screaming kids...More

Thank Sandwellman
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I am happy to hear about your visit to us the other day, we are all happy to know that we gave you a good experience, and hope that we can see you again very soon. Kind Regards, Kellie

Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Family lunch to celebrate my birthday. Booked a table, as usual, so we sat where we wished. Good all round meal, and four happy diners!More

Thank Oldcop8093
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Here we are all excited to know that you have enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to greeting you again hopefully very soon. I will be raising this compliment at the next team meeting to ensure the team know they...More

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Awful food! First we ordered then sat down, to be told what we ordered wasn't available. Then our food came separately but that didn't matter anyway as we're given no cutlery to eat with! Lasagne came out covered in cheese to hide the fact it...More

Thank Steffo J
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Steffo, Im sorry that you have been disappointed with your visit with us, we will be speaking with the team members at the next team meeting to tell them that this is unacceptable and we will be looking for ways to rectify these issues. ...More

Reviewed 13 March 2017

Went for an evening meal. Great staff good food served quickly. The downside, which is not the fault of the Bull& Anchor, is the noisy customers. I really don't know why people have to shout across the width of a table to hold a conversation....More

Thank lordbrian2016
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Thank you very much for your kind review and glad you have enjoyed visiting us. Im sorry about the noisy customers hopefully next time you visit it will be quieter. We are excited to see you again really soon. Kind Regards, Kellie

Reviewed 12 March 2017

Food was lovely, excellent service and minimum wait for food which arrived hot. Clean pub generally and even the toilets were clean, which is unusual !

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank JoHaines
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Jo, We are glad to hear of this good experience with us, and glad to hear that you will recommend us, we are looking forward to greeting you back very soon.  Kind Regards, Kellie

Reviewed 10 March 2017

I come to this hungry horse all the time with family and friends, I love the environment and how friendly the staff are. The food here is very good the quantity and quality stops me going anywhere else.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank declantaylor1978
con563649, Manager at the bull and anchor pub, responded to this review

Dear Declan, We are all pleased to hear that you have enjoyed yourself with us and we hope to welcome you back to us very soon. Kind Regards, Conor

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
JP's Kitchen
14 reviews
1.59 km away
Nashaa
337 reviews
1.46 km away
Ricoh Arena
93 reviews
.95 km away
Hollybush
56 reviews
1.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Astley Book Farm
147 reviews
3.92 km away
Coventry Transport Museum
2,824 reviews
4.98 km away
Miners Welfare Park
20 reviews
3.62 km away
Bedworth Civic Hall
29 reviews
3.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from the bull and anchor pub staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 233 wheelright lane, Coventry, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Coventry
  • Phone Number: +44 24 7636 5528
  • E-mail