We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Swan Pub

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
27-29 High Street | The Swan Hotel, Arundel BN18 9AG, England
441903882314
Website
Today
07:00 - 21:30
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 21:00
Mon - Thu 07:00 - 21:30
Fri - Sat 08:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 262: English reviews
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked for 1:30pm Saturday for 4 people. Service and food disappointing. The turkey/sausages/stuffing quite average but the vegetables were terrible. Although there were 4 of us we were given 3 small bowls of vegetable meaning we were expected to share 3 parsnips? When I pointed this out we were told that's they way the chef doled them out. I then... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane S
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The Swan sits in a great central location. The rooms are lovely and well decorated. Enjoyed a party atmosphere when we got back, but all quiet by 11.00 for those who wanted to sleep! Only criticism was the breakfast was a bit luke warm

Helpful?
Thank Anniesplanny
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear Anniesplanny, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm pleased that you felt the rooms were lovely and that we had the right balance of party and peace! I will pass on your comments with regard to the breakfast to my chefs as our breakfasts are cooked freshly and therefore should be lovely and hot - apologies... More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a traditional pub in central Arundel, a town that was literally packed on Saturday evening. We didn't have a reservation, hence we tried and fortunately (this was around 7pm) they had a table for two. The beer was very good, a tasty aromatic ale perfect for the season. The menu was interesting, with some classics and some interesting... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marco B
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear Marco B, Thank you for your review - I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you and you felt us to be a 'solid choice'! It is also good to know that you enjoyed the ale and the food. We hope to see you again in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

We were staying nearby. So we used the Swan. We found the Swan staff very friendly.We had a very enjoyable visit. A nice relaxing atmosphere. When next in the area we will be going back.

Helpful?
Thank terence f
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear terence f, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Swan, and we look forward to seeing you again whenever you are next in the area. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

We had a lot of extra guests added at the last minute for my husband's 40th birthday party recently and our original venue was unable to accommodate the late additions. I found The Swan (through Trip Advisor!) and asked if there was any chance they could host a party of 21 people with only a few day's notice...and they could!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna-Lisa D
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear Anna-Lisa D, Thank you very much for reviewing us. I'm thrilled that we were able to accommodate you and to hear that you are so happy with your experience - we find that organising bigger parties' food orders beforehand means that everyone can relax on the day! We hope to see you again in future - whether for another... More 

Littlehampton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

Always keen to see their visitors and assist them to have an enjoyable experience whether it be reading the newspaper with your pint or joining friends for coffee, meeting a party for a special meal or staying the night. Nothing too much trouble.

Helpful?
1 Thank CarolHart
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear CarolHart, Thank you for your kind words. We pride ourselves on being able to cater for a variety of different individuals, groups and requirements. My staff enjoy interacting with a single person at the bar but also assisting big parties for various occasions. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

An excellent location in the middle of picturesque Arundel. Lovely interior, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and proper Sunday Lunch. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank tombarker123
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear tombarker123, Thank you for reviewing and for highly recommending us. I'm delighted that you considered your meal to be a 'proper' Sunday Lunch! We hope to see you again in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

We stayed in Arundel for one night and the Swan was recommended for our evening meal, we were not disappointed, excellent food.

Helpful?
Thank Charliemoon
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear Charliemoon, Thank you for your review. It is good to know that you 'were not disappointed' and I hope you would consider eating with us again if you were in the area, or perhaps stay in one of our boutique rooms. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

When we stay in Arundel we always use the Swan pub as our watering hole. The staff are always friendly and polite. They do a lovely pint of Hsb and offer a varied menu for food

Helpful?
Thank gray_nina
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear gray_nina, Thanks for your comments. It is great to hear that you always come into our pub when you are visiting the area. We look forward to seeing you again whenever you are in Arundel next. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Petersfield
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

My wife and I were visiting Arundel to view the various antique shops and as I had stayed and eaten at this hostelry in the past and enjoyed my stay and the food it was an obvious selection for lunch. Unfortunately we found little on the menu except the fish and chips which, incidentally, was very good, that we wre... More 

Helpful?
Thank U8696YHpaulg
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Pub, responded to this review

Dear U8696YHpaulg, Thank you for your review - we do appreciate the feedback. I am glad you thought the fish and chips were very good but would be interested to know if you have any other comments on particular dishes - please feel free to email me at swanhotel.arundelmanager@fullers.co.uk. I am also pleased that you enjoyed staying in our rooms... More 

Travellers who viewed The Swan Pub also viewed

Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to The Swan Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$31
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover, Validated Parking
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
07:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
07:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
07:00 - 21:30
Thursday
07:00 - 21:30
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27-29 High Street | The Swan Hotel, Arundel BN18 9AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Arun District  >  Arundel
  • Phone Number: 441903882314
  • This restaurant is at The Swan Hotel
Description
Whether you're after a quiet drink with friends or a meal with the family, The Swan is perfect for you. Our traditionally styled bar is open all day 'til 11pm (later on Fridays and Saturdays, and for hotel guests), serving outstanding Fuller's and Gales ales, a great range of spirits and wines, as well as soft drinks for the family. Don't forget to bring the dog too, as our bar is very pet friendly!Our restaurant serves up a great selection of pub favorites with a great deal of locally sourced produce being used, and our chefs use their creative flair with delicious daily changing specials! Food is served 12-3pm 6-9pm Monday to Friday, 12-9.30pm on Saturdays and 12-7pm on Sundays. Booking recommended.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Swan Pub and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
mathraki island
2 months ago
london
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?