We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox Goes Free

Charlton Road | Nr Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0HU, England
+44 1243 811461
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (43 reviews)
“sunday roast” (24 reviews)
“risotto” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Charlton Road | Nr Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0HU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 954 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

If I lived closer I’d be in the pub everyday! Great selection of dishes to choose from and sitting inside or outside you won’t complain! Fish and chips is a favourite of mine

Thank iainMitch71
Reviewed 2 days ago

Birthday lunch on a Sunday. Booking paid off. Much to the disgust of a latecomer those who booked were served first. A really good roast dinner with all the trimmings at a reasonable price in a briliant location. It was a lovely sunny day so...More

Thank Rob J
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This pub has a beautiful garden and is perfect for a summer drink. We stayed on for a meal. It was an expensive tough steak. It was sinuey and not particularly tasty. Very average chips and the rest of the dish has faded from my...More

2  Thank BindiB
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your recent review. I was very sorry to read that your experience was not of the highest satisfaction. I would very much appreciate it if you would contact me directly or foward a contact number so that I may speak to you....More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Went Father's Day afternoon, great meal very friendly staff. We were never rushed, food was excellent along with cask ales. The chocolate orange cheese cake was heavenly. A bit out of the way but worth the visit.

Thank CliveG917
Reviewed 3 days ago

Clearly a very popular venue in a small village, which means people are happy to make the journey. A proper pub with rooms and a good atmosphere in and out. Decor beams and old church chairs but nicely done and well presented table. Service very...More

Thank Whittlesford
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We visited here for a family meal (12+2 high chairs) after a visit to Goodwood. We booked on the back of a friends recommendation, and it didn’t disappoint! Fortunately we booked, and did so for when they started serving food as it got really busy...More

Thank mrmowgli
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Had lunch with a large group of people. The food was excellent, and the service friendly and efficient.

Thank bookend
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have visited this beautiful pub several times now and it still does not disappoint. We sat in the garden with a bottle of tinwood before our meal which provided a relaxing and sociable setting for our group of four. We love that you serve...More

Thank lucy h
Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to go there for a birthday treat. Had drinks there before and it has a nice garden. Phoned and booked. I was surprised at 4.70 for a diet coke. which I feel was a rip off. They only had diet coke in bottles,...More

1  Thank riponman1959
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your visit. I was very sorry to read that it was not at the very highest standard, a matter we tried to rectify at the time when you brought it to our attention. I...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked weeks in advance for supper at 6pm on a Saturday evening, to be told on arrival that we ‘couldn’t have, as the kitchen only opens 6.15pm’ Perplexed and astonished! We had been told that there would be a ‘bar menu’ available, if we arrived...More

3  Thank rabby123
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review. I was very sorry to read your response, especially about how you had been dealt with. Please could you foward me a contact number so that I may discuss this matter with you. I hope to speak to you soon...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Chichester
The Goodwood Hotel
1,632 reviews
4.71 km away
Park House Hotel & Spa
460 reviews
6.23 km away
The Foresters Arms
85 reviews
6.26 km away
Chichester Park Hotel
770 reviews
7.24 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Partridge Inn
347 reviews
1.11 km away
Gallery Tea Rooms
35 reviews
1.13 km away
Wattle & Daub
13 reviews
1.36 km away
Nearby Attractions
Weald & Downland Open Living Museum
1,049 reviews
1.37 km away
Bignor Roman Villa
177 reviews
6.70 km away
Chichester Watersports
13 reviews
6.93 km away
Tangmere Military Aviation Museum
652 reviews
7.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MarkJA59
17 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Sarah C | Reviewed this property |
I've no idea whether they do, you would have to ask the restaurant direct.
0
Votes
Dugong_13
18 August 2016|
Answer
Response from David H |
My lady is vegetarian and enjoyed the food saying it was better than the average pub choice. Seemed to be at least two choices for each of starter, main and dessert. Look at the menu of the website for specifics. Haven't... More
0
Votes
Dugong_13
18 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from KrazyKatlover | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure what they have for vegetarians as I'm a meat eater but I'm sure they cater for all dietary needs....take a look at the A La Carte menu online and like most good establishments, I'm also sure the menu changes... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Charlton Road | Nr Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0HU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Chichester
  • Phone Number: +44 1243 811461
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;