We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Fox and Hounds

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Funtington Common | Funtington, Chichester PO18 9LL, England
+44 1243 575246
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 22:30
Mon - Fri 10:00 - 23:00
Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 272: English reviews
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having been so impressed after visiting yesterday lunchtime, and really enjoying the seafood platter, with excellent service, todays offering, which sadly compared only to a 'conveyor belt' carvery, left me utterly disappointed! VERY rare roast beef (undercooked) and luke warm vegetables totally undoes yesterday! Sadly we wont be risking such a disappointment again 😩

Helpful?
Thank jeff261159
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
155 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Meeting up with friends at the last minute we had trouble booking lunch. The Fox & Hounds could take us at 12:00 as long as we were finished by 13:30 as they had a booking at that time. Parked in their car park without trouble & made welcome on arrival at bar. Shown to table & friendly waitress handed out... More 

Helpful?
Thank latetraveller100
Foxand H, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write and let us know that you enjoyed your lunch , and hope to see you again soon . More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We phoned fairly late and were fitted in for a Sunday lunch at 2pm ... should have gone for early as roast potatoes had obviously been cooked ages beforehand and so had the yorkshire pudding. Veg not quite hot enough sadly after having to go up for it ourselves but the meat really was good, I had beef and pork... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JulieHolidays22
Foxand H, General Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Good evening I'm sorry you were not completely satisfied with your visit, i will talk to the chef about the temperature ,the veg bowls are not too large so we can replenish them often so it should be hot at all times. please accept our apology Hayley More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First visit in the fox and hound with my family today. I ordered the steak and ended up paying £18 for fat which I thought was absolutely disgusting! The drinks were so watered down and heard the table next to us complain about watered down beer too. The waitress was rude and had a bad attitude. My family and I... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jordyn G
Foxand H, jointly written by the chef/proprietor & the general manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Slanderous,scathing & unknowledgeable Any self respecting steak eater knows that the cooking of a rib eye steak blue 'AS REQUESTED' will not cook the fat, which is an integral part of a rib eye, thus ending in a ribeye which is not at its best. As for the watered down drinks!! i think you will find that is illegal More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

We had been looking at coming to this pub for quite some time, as the reviews have always been great, and they are dog friendly. We booked in advance as we knew how busy it can get on a Sunday, and although we were assured on the phone we had a table, once we got there most of the bar... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank sjade26
Foxand H, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

We are very disappointed that you felt that the service was not up to standard. We pride ourselves on customer service and great food always. Sundays is always very busy day for us,with our Sunday Carvery. We always welcome people to eat in our bar area and dogs are welcome too. Bar and restaurant service is the same throughout ,... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I visited this evening on the off-chance after work. We were told there was an (understandable) hiatus in food orders off the specials board until 6pm but didn't mind waiting. Our food came out earlier than anticipated and was excellent. I went for the faggots and my wife went for the Rib Eye steak. It was all... More 

Helpful?
Thank HummersOriginal
Foxand H, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time on writing your review ,and glad that you enjoyed your meals. Our daily specials are constantly changed due to their popularity and high demand. Its great to see our Specials appreciated . Hope to see you soon . More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

Good food and a very nice Sunday Roast - Carvery style - well worth a visit and dog friendly also, so ideal for the pooch. It gets busy so always a good sign and the food did not disappoint!

Helpful?
Thank Russell H
Foxand H, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed our Sunday Carvery, and always nice to hear that your dog enjoyed the experience too.Dogs are always welcome in the bar area . Hope to see you soon . More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

we had been driving around for ages looking for a pub that would serve food before 6pm The Fox and Hounds is a lovely country pub on back road to chichester, very nice people looking after us, a huge big lovely welcome, chess set ready if you want to play, good choice of food, we had fish and chips and... More 

Helpful?
Thank debutaunt
Foxand H, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Fox and Hounds , We are pleased that you enjoyed our great choices of food , and the service. We serve food daily from 12pm until 9.30. Sundays we serve our carvery until 8pm . pre theatre bookings can be taken . More 

Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016

The majority of reviews appear to concern the Carvery so thought I would add my review of breakfast. Super friendly pub with relaxed vibe. Staff are attentive and proficient. Ate with a group of four friends, two of whom ate meat. Myself and a friend had the veggie breakfast and it is excellent. The veggie sausages are my favourite and... More 

Helpful?
Thank HappySUPPER
Foxand H, Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Its good to hear that you and your friends enjoyed our weekend breakfast.Look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2016

Food was tasteless, a very disappointing meal . I didn't have high expectations but I was still very disappointed. I hardly ate anything as I found it so awful. The service however was excellent and the atmosphere relaxed.

Helpful?
2 Thank LizRowen
Foxand H, General Manager at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Good evening I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal with us, presuming your referring to christmas day I'm slightly shocked as we had a lot of good feedback and have had a lot of repeat booking for 2017 christmas already however we take all feedback (positive and negative) seriously and would like to discuss this further with you.... More 

Travellers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
West Ashling, Chichester
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$45
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Funtington Common | Funtington, Chichester PO18 9LL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Chichester
  • Phone Number: +44 1243 575246
Description
The Fox & Hounds pub & restaurant offers fine dining in relaxed, elegant surroundings in the charming village of Funtington, near Chichester in West Sussex, boasting a truly fantastic wine list, well-stocked bar with a wide range of real ales, large garden and impeccable, friendly service.We are open for breakfast and serve meals all day. we are famous for our Sunday Carvery and traditional pub atmosphere. We are be opening our own Village shop in Early 2013

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Fox and Hounds and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
portsmouth
10 days ago
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Fox and Hounds staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?