We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan at Stoford

) #78 of 210 Restaurants in Salisbury $$ - $$$ , British,
Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
+44 1722 790236
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (7 reviews)
“pork belly” (8 reviews)
“ice cream” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 244 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

When we arrived the bar was very busy with only one person serving. I ordered a white wine spritzer which came with very flat lemonade, so tried again with soda water which was better although took a long time to arrive. Told we could sit...More

Thank Joanne A
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Stayed here on route home from Portsmouth to Cheshire. Bar food was processed, frozen fish which had been deep fried too many times. Appeared to be under staffed at breakfast, when breakfast finally arrived bacon was hard and cold. As other reviewers have mentioned rooms...More

Thank Angela9691
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here for lunch en route to the new forest, bar service a bit slow which may be due to in experience. Food came out quickly which is what we wanted. However, the car park is across a very, very busy road so if you...More

Thank applegate69
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although it is located by the A36, the pub and its gardens are peaceful and quite. The staff will go that extra mile to deliver your food and drinks across the road where you can sit by the river. We had fish and chips and...More

Thank Ewa L
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that my team looked after you. We don't generally deliver food across the road, but I am delighted that they had the opportunity to go that extra mile. It is a lovely setting. Liz

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we ordered a small fish and chips, gammon carbonara and a beef and ale pie. I was told by the bar staff it would be 5 minutes, to which i chuckled and commented "it must be microwaved then". The bar staff replied "we have 2...More

Thank gooner49
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your food. If you were not happy with your food, we would have gladly exchanged it for you. We generally get excellent feedback about our food, so I can only apologise that...More

Reviewed 7 May 2017

Stopped here for morning coffee on the way to Salisbury. Staff friendly, but general 'atmosphere' rather drab. Extortionate £2.75 for a mediocre cup of coffee in a road-side pub that could not even offer brown sugar! It certainly put me off stopping there for dinner...More

Thank Janus2000
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you found your coffee mediocre. Liz

Reviewed 29 April 2017

Really nice people here - only my sister and I actually in the pub (it was nearly 3 p.m.) but we had a lovely meal served by two super ladies. Chatty and pleasant and the food was excellent - would definitely like to go back...More

Thank Lolaandrews
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for 5 star review. I am glad you were well looked after and hope you do visit us again soon. Liz

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Not having been to the Swan for some years was pleasantly surprised at the high standards now achieved . The food was cook to perfection the menu is diverse and interesting and the service is very good. Will definatley be going there again

Thank Rodney B
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, much appreciated. Liz

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

A few days break over the Easter holiday lovely room, could do with slightly larger TV bit of a strain to watch. Breakfast very nice from continental to full English just get down early. Overall a lovely stay 7/10.

Thank Blakey3
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

I am delighted you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your kind review. Liz

Reviewed 4 April 2017

When I booked the table for myself and my daughter over the phone, I was spoken to by a very friendly and polite member of staff. We were off to a good start!. The menu gave us plenty of choice and was good value. The...More

Thank corry h
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, it was great reading for me. We hope you visit again soon. Liz

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Pelican Inn Restaurant
97 reviews
.00 km away
Greyhound Inn
262 reviews
.77 km away
The Ship Inn
224 reviews
1.47 km away
The White Horse Pub
116 reviews
1.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wilton House
249 reviews
.91 km away
The White Horse
6 reviews
1.50 km away
Church of St. Mary and St. Nicholas
62 reviews
.71 km away
Wilton Shopping Village
96 reviews
.47 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:30
Monday
07:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 23:00
Thursday
07:00 - 23:00
Friday
07:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1722 790236
  • E-mail
Description
The Swan at Stoford is a lovely historical coaching inn set in rural Wiltshire, yet very accessible on the A36. 6 miles from Salisbury, it is an ideal place to base yourself for tourist attractions in the area, including Stonehenge, Wilton House, Longleat, Old Sarum airfield and much more. With 9 letting rooms, a lovely restaurant, a spacious function room with a Skittles Alley, a cottage garden and a great riverside garden perfect for marquees, BBQs and outdoor parties. The Swan is a family run business with an emphasis on customer service and a guaranteed warm welcome.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing