We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

RiverHouse - CLOSED

10 Thames Side, Windsor SL4 1QN, England
+44 1753 620010
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible21%
8 Jun 2015
“Great location if sunny”
10 May 2015
“Such a disappointment”
Restaurant Hours
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
10 Thames Side, Windsor SL4 1QN, England
More restaurants in Windsor
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

They've got a superb location along the Thames and provide great view outside. Stuff were friendly enough to enjoy even my daughter made a bit mess. If fancy for a sweet, Eton Mess is worth trying.

1  Thank Normadroaming
BoatmanWindsor, Owner at RiverHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2015

The staff and I thank you for your lovely comments and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Reviewed 10 May 2015

Having one of the best locations in Windsor I was very excited when I heard there was new management and we would have a new restaurant. However the new owners don't seem to have done any market research to understand customers needs. Issue # 1...More

Thank mwwindsor
BoatmanWindsor, Owner at RiverHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2015

Sorry you were led to believe that the Boatman Pub-Food-Venue was still the Riverhouse restaurant under new management. As I am sure you can understand, the business cannot survive just on a summer of guests sitting outside by the river - so changed to an...More

Reviewed 26 April 2015

Friend lives in Slough. I Live in Ascot. Windsor obvious place. Saw dubious reviews but went there anyway. Location fantasdtic, As was Meal (we both had steak - I am fussy but cooked to perfection.) We had drinks outside. They offered us clean blankets. Staff...More

2  Thank berkshirejane
BoatmanWindsor, Owner at RiverHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2015

Thank you for the lovely review - the staff and I are so pleased that you were pleased! You are spot-on about the marketing - just waiting for our marketing lady to come up with a plan - and we are currently looking at heaters...More

Reviewed 23 April 2015 via mobile

So about 9 of us arrive, sat outside as it was sunny, stunning location. After 20 minutes we asked if we could order please. Yes you have to order at the bar or at the outside bar/till..... So we take the orders for the party,...More

1  Thank I_am_the_Client
BoatmanWindsor, Owner at RiverHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Really sorry you were disappointed - you may not have been aware that we have recently changed ownership and name - to the BOATMAN - Pub - Food - Venue (we are currently trying to get this amended on Trip Advisor). We don't advertise ourselves...More

Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

The restaurant is now under new management and has changed its name to the Boatman.. We have been disappointed to find that they do not offer Sunday Lunch or have any type of light lunch (such as baguettes/sandwiches). The prices are still high with an...More

Thank Paul G
BoatmanWindsor, Owner at RiverHouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

The Boatman Pub - Food - Venue (previously the Riverhouse Restaurant) has indeed recently changed it's name and ownership. It is no longer a 'restaurant' - but a Pub that serves Food and is also a Venue for group bookings. We took the decision to...More

Reviewed 16 January 2015

Any vegetarians beware... The Sunday vegetarian roast consisted solely of roast vegetables which the meateaters had as accompaniments to their main dish. When I asked where the protein was I was brought a side salad with SUGARED cashew nuts.

1  Thank UKVal12
Reviewed 13 January 2015 via mobile

Noticed from a local newspaper that their management company has gone under administration - this place is full of cost saving, and most regrettably they start with food. The worst fish & chips i had last year. Waste of terrific opportunity.

1  Thank lx6g
Reviewed 11 December 2014

This place has a great location, but it seems to somehow miss the opportunity to use is. The food was OK, the service was hopeless and the wine list poor.

Thank Jan V
Reviewed 5 December 2014

Terrible terrible terrible .... So much potential , it's such a waste . This place has one of the best summer locations in Windsor and has a great outdoor seating area .. Unfortunately it is just very badly run , staff have no idea which...More

1  Thank Gideon H
Reviewed 9 November 2014

We called in here for a drink after visiting the Tower of London as it is very near the train station. It is well designed and furnished and charges London prices!. The staff were friendly and the food smelled very good. It was early evening...More

2  Thank Portley11
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Gilbey's Bar & Restaurant - Eton
446 reviews
.17 km away
Flaming Cow
521 reviews
.14 km away
The George Inn
264 reviews
.14 km away
Crown & Cushion
73 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Windsor Castle
8,804 reviews
.38 km away
St. George's Chapel
1,781 reviews
.34 km away
Fudge Kitchen
622 reviews
.33 km away
Tastes Delicatessen
13 reviews
.18 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$26 - US$40
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Groups, View
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Thames Side, Windsor SL4 1QN, England
  • Public Transportation: Windsor and Eton Riverside Railway Station
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Windsor and Maidenhead  >  Windsor
  • Phone Number: +44 1753 620010
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing