We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Plas Derwen

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Monmouth Road | Abergavenny, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales
+44 1873 853144
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good food. Varied menu. Staff superb, comfortable atmosphere. Always a reliable venue for family occasions. Child friendly and very customer focused. Kate, Adam and their team are very welcoming. Recommended

Helpful?
1 Thank T1CHT2014
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff looked miserable, table was sticky and dirty, food at lunch was bland and chips were awful! A pleasant atmosphere though and good for parking. For the price of the food.. not again but for a drink yeah I would come back

Helpful?
Thank festivecrazygirl
Management response:

We apologise that you were not satisfied with your experience, if you would like to discuss your complaint further please feel welcome to contact us directly on 01873 853144 or email plasderwen@sabrain.com More 

Abergavenny, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a family get together here Christmas week. One of my brothers thought this might be a good place, but asked what my sister and I thought and/or if we could suggest somewhere else as we live locally. On the experience I had here a few years ago I thought it would be better to look elsewhere (on that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
Management response:

We apologise that you were not satisfied with your experience, if you would like to discuss your complaint further please feel welcome to contact us directly on 01873 853144 or email plasderwen@sabrain.com More 

Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here recently feeling apprehensive after visiting a few years ago. We needn't have been. The service was great, very attentive waiting staff. The food came quickly. The room was a little cold but i suppose that couldn't be helped as it was Baltic outside. Thank you all

Helpful?
Thank TheFarmer2004
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very friendly staff who were happy to offer free puds when two of our party found the meal they had ordered was not up to expectations.

Helpful?
Thank shelizlee
Llantilio Crossenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We visited this establishment around 10 years ago and ended up walking out due to very poor service. It has taken us this long to revisit and I am glad we did. The site is in a good location and looks as if it would be nice to visit on a summers evening. The restaurant style is very basic and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve522014
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

onion rings!!!!!!! had the steak burger and the first bite was amazing, then i had the onion ring that were recommended, just gorgeous!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ph1lboy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

been hear twice well worth it the xmas dinner was out off this world the staff are helpful such a nice place to relax

Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

15 of us ate here last night, it was absolutely fabulous. The food was plentiful and delicious. The beef fell apart, turkey was very tasty, the veg and gravy was plentiful. Dessert was to die for!!! All the staff were very helpful. Thank you very much to Kate and team for a lovely night.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Locks Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2016

There is a busy and popular restaurant, but we ate in the bar, which welcomed our well behaved collie with a bowl of water. Some of the children in the restaurant were less well behaved, which is unfortunately becoming the norm these days.Good choice of Sunday roasts, we had beef and turkey, there's a sharing platter if you fancy a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard S

Travellers who viewed The Plas Derwen also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Plas Derwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Monmouth Road | Abergavenny, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Abergavenny
  • Phone Number: +44 1873 853144

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Plas Derwen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?