We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Robert Stewarts

149 Ballyskeagh Road, Belfast BT17 9LL, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9030 8807
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good17%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
149 Ballyskeagh Road, Belfast BT17 9LL, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent food and excellent friendly service from karen and molly would recommend to everyone especially to visitors to Northern Ireland as a lot of historyMore

Thank Glenda J
BobStewartsBelfast, Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Greetings "Ms" Thank you for your Trippy contribution including the reference to the "history" aspect. Indeed the road way that Robert Stewart's pub is beside was in the 1700's aye and most likely before that an arterial route out of the "Town" that became Belfast...More

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a super meal great variety of dishes to choose from very friendly lovely atmosphere. Will be back

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BobStewartsBelfast, Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Well hello "Fabulous" yourself. Exceedingly helpful your positive remarks on and about Bob's--Oh! & especially the "Will be back". Cheers.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Went and had Sunday Lunch . Great food and very pleasant and helpful staff. Decor was nice and had a nice alternative to Sunday Lunch.

Thank Bushman19
BobStewartsBelfast, Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi ya doin "Bushman 19" Thank you--- not a lot more to say.

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Watery seafood chowder with frozen seafood for 11.50, ready meal not restaurant quality. Also prize draw for 5* TripAdvisor review advertised every - hardly going to lead to unbiased reviews. Probably the only reason why there are so many good reviews.More

2  Thank Clare M
BobStewartsBelfast, Guest Relations Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Def out of bed wrong side is you Clare M on the day you call in with us here at Robert Stewart's. How one arrives at the grand proclamation POOR FOOD ( does that refer / mean ALL the various dishes on offer?????) on the...More

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Called in for a light lunch today and was blown away by the crab claws on the starters menu. Massive portion and beautifully done. Please don't ever take them off the menu!More

Thank Sarah H
BobStewartsBelfast, General Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

You sure ain't no lemon drop Sarah H no siree !!!. That stated thank you for the compliment about our "Crab Claws" dish. It is receiving very positive comments from our patrons when our staff are clearing plates etc from tables. So there you go----...More

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Great food, great ambience. Warm cosy pub. A top spot for a Sunday dinner and a pint of Guinness. Staff are very friendly and helpfulMore

Thank Warren K
BobStewartsBelfast, "Tired & emotional but focused" at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Warren K Warren K you is the man !"£$%^&*()_+ Now PUB that's the word PUB not restaurant-- PUB and always has been has auld Bob Stewart's been since Napoleonic times when the demise of the Bell Inn happened, which evaporated from the site of the...More

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Today was my first visit to Bobs in nearly 10 years and we had a lovely meal. The roast beef was delicious, the veg was fresh and full of flavour. My stuffed chicken in bacon was very good and we both struggled to finish our...More

Thank roymcf
BobStewartsBelfast, Guest Relations Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi ya "roymcf" boutcha. From memory trusting we do not have the wrong table that we suspect you were sitting at, both the lovely lady and yourself were pleasant and cordial folk to wait on at table. Hope you do not let another decade slip...More

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Came here for the first time today with my partner. Had high expectations and was not disappointed. The roast beef was absolutely outstanding. Full of flavour and very tender. Roast potatoes were great as were the rest of the veg. All staff were welcoming and...More

Thank Louise H
BobStewartsBelfast, Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Well hello you "Louise H" Just a wee "Wise Old Owl" suggestion to your good self. Reference your possible "planned visit" to our wee pub sometime. This being when kith & kin from "Old Blighty" come to visit with you . May we most cordially...More

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely setting , wholesome food. Good choice of food and always have nice specials . Desserts are great too. Friendly , nice ambience , no children ( it's a pub ) which is nice . Excellent serviceMore

Thank Hughf
BobStewartsBelfast, Public Relations Manager at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Well hello "Hughf" Your Trippy insertion sounds just about right re Bob's country pub. Not a lot more to add really ------though your comment "no children (it's a pub ) is pertinent in that unlike a café or a white linen table cloth eating premises...More

Reviewed 26 September 2017

Bob Stewarts has been a favourite of mine for a long time. The atmosphere in the bar is great and the décor is very oldey worldey. I like that. The food is fabulous. Good range on the menu with a good selection of daily specials....More

Thank Myles J
BobStewartsBelfast, Owner at Robert Stewarts, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Myles J Valued is the "CORE" word in your appraisal of the time you spent on the premises of Robert Stewart's public house. Which can get a bit lost in the mix of the day by all of us both staff persons aye and on...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Tap Room at Hilden Brewery
143 reviews
2.93 km away
The Crafty Hound
71 reviews
2.79 km away
Applegreen
72 reviews
1.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
Drumbo Park Greyhound Stadium
200 reviews
1.09 km away
Colin Glen Forest Park
66 reviews
4.05 km away
Island Arts Centre
23 reviews
3.95 km away
Castle Gardens
25 reviews
4.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Cyril H
I am very fortunate that I live within walking distance from Robert Stewarts or (Bob stewarts pup/restaurant) to locals. I have frequented the 'bar' for more than thirty five years and have many happy memories. Friday night at Bob's was always a meeting place for the chosen few, which always reminded me of the T.V. American comedy 'Cheers'. The stranger that came into the bar, left as a friend. The real locals always sat on their own bar stools or around the same area, so as a so called "blow in" then, I was very careful not to offend. Many of those locals have become life long friends, unfortunately some have departed to a higher level where the SPIRITS are plentiful!! When Jackie Gilmore obtained the then cosy pub no restaurant existed hovever he had the foresight to expanded the building to accommodate the eating area that we can see today. Thank goodness he has still retained the cosy bar where the locals still meet up. Never did I envisage that my "local" would become one of the best eating establishment in Northern Ireland, so you can see why the folk in Drumbeg, Lambeg and Ballyskeagh are so, so fortunate. Thanks Jackie, keep up the good work
23 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Roberta B | Reviewed this property |
What you have described is exactly whay Robert Stewart's has the ambience it holds. I commented on Trip Advisor - urging people to go as the food is delicious & the ambience so lovely & the staff very friendly (making yo... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$37
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 149 Ballyskeagh Road, Belfast BT17 9LL, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9030 8807
  • E-mail
Description
ROBERT STEWARTS SPIRIT GROCERS is located on a narrow country road that threads its way out of the leafy glades of south Belfast via the Upper Malone precinct. The road continues onwards in the general direction to the town of Lisburn which in recent years was decreed a CITY. The actual premises is a primarily two zone affair.A public bar of which no decent pub should be devoid of. This coupled to a nooks and crannies lounge bar handsomely ajoined with a slightly more formal dinning facility called the company room.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing