We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

House of Zen

) #93 of 833 Restaurants in Belfast $$ - $$$ Chinese, Asian,
3 St Annes Square | Unit 3 St Anne’s Square, Belfast BT1 2LR, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9027 8688
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good24%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (33 reviews)
“fried rice” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Contemporary, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3 St Annes Square | Unit 3 St Anne’s Square, Belfast BT1 2LR, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Wow! A feast for the taste buds here in this modern chic Chinese. It's all about balance - from the dark decor balanced by clever lighting at the tables, to superb spicing in the duck stir-fry, with plenty of chilli to make that a "proper"...More

Thank traut
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Dinner with work mates, restaurant chosen by local colleague. Food was really tasty and portions very generous. Price ok, but drinks, particularly water expensive at about £5.00 for soda or tonic water. Final bill with drinks was over £30.00 a head so not cheap. Busy...More

Thank Mike C
Reviewed 1 week ago

My parents and I booked for lunch as there is an offer, £9.99 for a starter and main. I was incredibly impressed with the quality of the food, especially considering the price. Service was also very efficient. My only complaint is that there wasn't much...More

Thank Noel H
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have lived in Hong Kong and Singapore for years and been heavily disappointed with Chinese food in the UK ever since until going to this place. Its really really good and of a REAL Chinese standards. Ignore the bad reviews- they would not recognise...More

1  Thank fibiScotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were lucky to get a booth, so we were quite private. Service was only OK. One of our starters did not arrive and we had to hustle to find a waitress to get the missing dish - no apology. All the staff wanted to...More

Thank F1roger
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very dark and loud background noise. Glad to get out. I have had better Chinese takeaway food. Disappointed with all aspects of this restaurant. I will not be back.

Thank BOH765
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food and service. The pork and chicken dumplings were delicious. My fiance enjoyed the House of Zen signature main dish, the beef was very tender. The choice of puddings was also very good for a Chinese restaurant and I would highly recommend the chocolate...More

Thank Lizzie H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to The House Of Zen for a birthday meal on as I had eaten here previously unfortunately this time I was very disappointed.Once we were seated I couldn't help but notice the very loud background noise it could have been air conditioning I'm...More

Thank Lylehill39
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My sons partner booked us here for dinner. What a choice. The restaurant is fabulous and the ambience great. The menu was extensive with lots of takes on dishes that sounded familiar....the food when it arrived was amazing and very generous portions . I've visited...More

Thank jstan54
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had been looking forward to visiting here, having been in the restaurant one afternoon and noticing some appetising looking dishes. When asked if I wanted a drink, I asked for tea. The waitress brought black tea with milk and sugar. I said that I...More

Thank TallulahR
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Muddlers Club
343 reviews
.19 km away
Coppi Restaurant
1,023 reviews
.03 km away
Hadskis
666 reviews
.17 km away
The Dirty Onion
299 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cathedral Quarter
638 reviews
.14 km away
St. Anne's Cathedral
360 reviews
.09 km away
MAC Theatre
158 reviews
.05 km away
Northern Ireland War Memorial Museum
31 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Hayley J
30 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Linda H | Reviewed this property |
Better to make a reservation as its always very busy.
0
Votes
Sarah L
26 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from dawnecallender | Reviewed this property |
Im sure if you ask they would be willing to accommodate. The staff were very friendly and accommodating
2
Votes
Sarah L
26 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rosslyn S | Reviewed this property |
Can't see this being a problem but just to be sure give the restaurant a ring .
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$32
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Digital Payments, Private Dining
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
13:30 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:30
Saturday
13:00 - 12:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3 St Annes Square | Unit 3 St Anne’s Square, Belfast BT1 2LR, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  Belfast
  • Phone Number: +44 28 9027 8688
  • E-mail
Description
Cocooned in the Heart of the Cathedral Quarter is the newest addition to the Zen Restaurant Group, the Cool and Elegant House of Zen. The House of Zen blends a little bit of The Orient into the Traditional cobbled streets and cosy bars of the Cathedral Quarter in Belfast.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing