We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peggy Scotts Restaurant

A90 Northbound | Finavon, Forfar DD8 3QE, Scotland
+44 1307 850472
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good33%
  • Average18%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“lentil soup” (20 reviews)
“cakes” (37 reviews)
“bacon roll” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Grill, Scottish
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
A90 Northbound | Finavon, Forfar DD8 3QE, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 260 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

I have been using this establishment for many years on my journey to Aberdeen and have noticed a steady decline in the level of service and the quality of the food. I knew that the business had been up for sale for a lengthy period...More

Thank alexthoms
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped off for a quick bite to eat. I had the lentil soup and my husband had one of the all day breakfasts. Food was tasty enough but nothing special given the price that they charge. Seating areas and toilets very clean, staff not the...More

Thank Donna F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i was very pleased with my food but felt there was a bit tension between members of staff just seemed to be an atmospere,heard the manageress speaking out of turn to other members of staff.we could not wait to leaveMore

Thank francesallan73
Brechin Castle C, Director of Sales at Peggy Scotts Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are very happy that you were pleased with your food. However, terribly sorry that you felt an atmosphere, and tension between the staff when you visited yesterday. We have not been made aware of anything that would have caused this. Sorry that you could...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Peggy Scott's could easily fit on to any highway in the good old United States of America. Not that I've ever been to that big new country but I'd imagine their business model would fit right in, en Route Sixty Six, as it's really a...More

1  Thank Angus E
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been going to Peggy Scotts for more years than I can remember on my regular trips to Aberdeen. As soon as walked in yesterday morning I sensed there was something different. Did not see any of the usual staff members and the lady...More

1  Thank James B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been here a few years ago and the food was decent homemade fare. Today it was pretty poor freezer grub. Ordered 2 x haddock & chips and 2 x soft drink for £24. Reasonable if the quality was good, it was not. Fish was...More

Thank Weirdytwins
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

I have used this place fairly regularly over recent years but noticed that in my last two visits over the last two weeks the place has gone seriously downhill. Today I had to ask for a tray - and look for a seat beyond 10...More

Thank BigDave1958
Brechin Castle C, Marketing at Peggy Scotts Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

We are very sorry you have not enjoyed your past two experiences. We have been closed for 12 days and only re-opened on Saturday the 12th after a total kitchen re-furbishment. The coffee is the same as it has always been, as are the cakes...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

I ordered a steak pie and chips thinking I would get some thing home cooked as it looks like that sort of place however I was so wrong the steak pie was micro waved to death the actual meat inside it was grey now you...More

2  Thank wrngames
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Visited here with my boyfriend for lunch on our way home. He ordered macaroni and chips and I ordered a cheeseburger and chips. We were not impressed with any of it. The burger wasn't great and the chips were disgusting. The macaroni looked and tasted...More

Thank Ailsa R
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Stopped here for breakfast and it was well worth it. My pancakes b bacon ad maple syrup was delicious.

Thank carolynlm
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Finavon Hotel
40 reviews
.95 km away
The Drovers Inn
364 reviews
7.71 km away
Brechin Castle Garden Centre
207 reviews
7.69 km away
North Street Chip Shop
41 reviews
8.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Murton Trust
36 reviews
6.79 km away
Redwings Mountains
25 reviews
6.07 km away
Station Park
5 reviews
7.48 km away
Forfar Indoor Sports
5 reviews
7.41 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
PhillyTwo
18 May 2017|
Answer
Response from NinaScott | Reviewed this property |
Hi, Sorry for the delay in replying to the question. I actually do not know the answer but a phone call to the restaurant before setting off, could get the answer. Nina Scott
0
Votes
L M
25 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Sandy D | Reviewed this property |
Don't think so
1
Vote
lergyheggies
6 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Sandy D | Reviewed this property |
Never had fish
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Grill, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Parking Available
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 19:00
Monday
07:00 - 19:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 19:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 19:00
Thursday
07:00 - 19:00
Friday
07:00 - 19:00
Saturday
07:00 - 19:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: A90 Northbound | Finavon, Forfar DD8 3QE, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Angus  >  Forfar
  • Phone Number: +44 1307 850472
  • E-mail
Description
This restaurant / cafe is on the A90 Nr.Forfar Scotland. It has been refurbished to a high standard, and a godsend if trawling the A90, which has miles and miles of nowhere as convenient as Peggy Scotts
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing