We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
51 Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AB, Scotland
+44 1586 551666
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great find - owner really friendly and accommodating. Came here after big walk to Mull of Kintyre lighthouse so we were all starving. Came with gluten intolerant friends who were well-catered for here. Wide-ranging menu with all-day breakfast, baked potatoes, casseroles, sausage and mash, pie and beans, all wholesome stuff. I had baked potato with cheese and beans which had... More 

Helpful?
Thank MadameRenard77
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

4 of us called around 11am on a saturday morning. We all had full breakfast one didn't want fresh mushrooms he was given something else, the breakfast was full freshly cooked and the plates were warm the coffee was freshly made to our request extra shots not a problem the menu was fairly extensive the owner/ chef was very friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
152 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Definitely not the place to order coffee and a scone.The coffee from a dispensing machine was pretty grim, and the scone , whilst heated up, tasted four days old. You can do better elsewhere .

Helpful?
Thank LanarkshireKillieboy
Kathryn B, Owner at Fresh Bytes, responded to this review

All our scones are freshly baked and we always heat them up as the majority of our customers prefer them that way. Our coffee is Lavazza and is very popular. If you had complained at the time we would have done everything we could to rectify your problem. More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We have been coming here for several years as I always get a great choice of meals and cakes. I'm gluten and lactose intolerant as well as having IBS. The people are friendly and helpful and have been known to share recipes with me which I still use regularly. The premises are simple and clean and nobody minds if you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie20091973
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

I ordered a cheese scone and a coffee. The coffee tasted like dishwater (it was from a dispensing machine) and the scone was heated up so quickly I can only assume it was microwaved. Aren't fresh ones normally served cold?

Helpful?
1 Thank Marrowontour
Kathryn B, Owner at Fresh Bytes, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were disappointed with both your scone and coffee. If we had known we would had responded with immediate replacements. We use a Lavazza recommended machine and have no control over strength of the coffee dispensed but we could have added an extra shot if you like your coffee stronger. All scones are heated up when... More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We were visiting Campbeltown for the day with our Guide Dog pup (Kenzie, 14 months old). We only wanted a quick snack. This cafe was the perfect find! We were welcomed by a very friendly couple who had no problem with a dog. We ordered Coffees, a sandwich and a cake-not a tall order. The service was prompt and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SHECheshire
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We recently moved to the area & stumbled across this little gem of a place, being a Coeliac I find it usually quite difficult in a lot of cafes/ restaurants etc to have a good choice in any food that I can safely eat, here I was treated to a great choice of meals that I could order. I chose... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anyak111
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Me and my family were staying near Campbeltown and whilst walking around the town felt like a cup of coffee and a small bite to eat. On the 'Campbeltown tourist map' 'Fresh Bytes' was mentioned so we thought we would give it a go. Unfortunately though, and much to my disappointment, we never got to try any food or drink... More 

Helpful?
Thank Urnshehe
Kathryn B, Owner at Fresh Bytes, responded to this review

I thoroughly apologise for your negative experience at Fresh Bytes. Unfortunately on the day in question ( and other times) we had a local lady in who does not seem to know about personal hygiene. We know she is lonely and spends the whole day in one of the cafes in town( and alas this was our day!) We, and... More 

Al Khobar
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Well worth a visit any day of the week especially if you have an allergy to something. Awesome food and huge portions...love this place everyone is so friendly....hope I've got the place right for the review...this cafe is on Main Street across from the Town Hall....

Helpful?
1 Thank Abdulkareem A
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Didn't know what to choose, owner suggested warm orange rhubarb cake with fresh cream. Spectacular! Delicious cake, lovely spice with a nice rhubarb tang. Small jug of cream on the side so able to choose how little or how much to have.

Helpful?
Thank Barb E

Travellers who viewed Fresh Bytes also viewed

Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Been to Fresh Bytes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Takeout, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 51 Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AB, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Argyll and Bute  >  Kintyre Peninsula  >  Campbeltown
  • Phone Number: +44 1586 551666

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fresh Bytes and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Perth, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fresh Bytes staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?