We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ghillie Dhu

2-6 Rutland Place, Edinburgh EH1 2AD, Scotland
+44 131 222 9930
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good29%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (17 reviews)
“haggis” (34 reviews)
“fish and chips” (24 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Fast food, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2-6 Rutland Place, Edinburgh EH1 2AD, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,019)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Never been here before but really enjoyed it - had a 3 course meal and drinks - great Scottish dancing and music - would certainly go back again

Thank petejohn7722
Reviewed 6 days ago

We had booked a party night Monday 4 Dec 2017. Delays in tables being ready meant purchase of more expensive drinks. The venue was lovely and staff polite but a bit ‘cold’ and did nothing to generate a party feel. The main disappointment was the...More

Thank Barbara S
Central E, General Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Barbara S, Many thanks for taking the time to review your most recent visit to us at Ghillie Dhu. First of all, I'd like to extend my apologies that you did not enjoy yourself, and found many aspects of the evening disappointing. I am...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I reserved a table for lunch as I assumed it would be busy with Christmas shoppers etc. It was actually quite quiet which was nice after the mobs at the Christmas Market!! I love the building and decor. Food was perfect and the waiter was...More

Thank Shirleygmw
Central E, General Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Shirleygmw, Thanks for your lovely review after your recent visit to Ghillie Dhu! I'm glad we provided a welcome stop after spending a busy day a the Christmas Markets! I'll pass on your nice comments about our staff, and hope you pop back in...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went on a Sunday early evening and it was very quiet and a little chilly inside, however this didnt ruin our visit the building is beautiful and good selection of drinks at reasonable pricesMore

1  Thank Splat8
Central E, General Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Splat8, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Ghillie Dhu - we really appreciate it! We totally agree (not that we're biased or anything!) that our building is really beautiful, and we're glad that you found a good selection of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a party night at the Ghillie Dhu on Monday 4th December 2017. We met in the bar downstairs and had a couple of drinks before our table upstairs was ready. Drinks were fairly expensive but that’s Edinburgh prices. The venue upstairs was amazing...More

Thank Mel_Porche
Central E, General Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Mel_Porche, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Ghillie Dhu for your Festive Party. I'm glad to hear that there were many parts of the night that were enjoyable, and that you thought the set up of the room...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful venue, food was the smallest portion size I have ever seen every person cleared their plate even had to stop at McDonald's on way home starving may I add I don't eat large portions not at all value for money .More

1  Thank Carolineanne45
Central E, General Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Carolineanne45, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Ghillie Dhu. I am sorry to hear that you felt like the portion sizes were too small on the evening, we do try to provide an excellent product and service for the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointing Christmas Party night at Ghillie Dhu - too many people crammed into a small venue. Whilst the meal was of a good standard the time taken to serve everyone was poor. There was little room between the tables to move and mingle. Once...More

Thank Keith791
Central E, General Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Keith791, Many thanks for your review regarding your recent experience at Ghillie Dhu. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your evening, we do try to provide an excellent service for the price provided. We do allow guests that are not...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Difficult to find details on the website for a St Andrews Night do. Venue looked superb. We missed the piper as we came in a different entrance so that was disappointing. Very little room for dancing after the meal. The tables could have been moved...More

Thank Andypandypuddin
Central E, General Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Andypandypuddin, Many thanks for your review from your recent visit to Ghillie Dhu! I apologise for any confusion on the evening with regards to entering the venue and finding the auditorium where the dinner was taking place. I am glad to hear that you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Attended our office Christmas party night here last night. Not impressed. The food was distinctly average and wasn't very hot. Having waited so long to get it we all ate it, but no-one in our party was very complimentary. We were told to arrive for...More

Thank JaniceGlasgow
Central E, General Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi JaniceGlasgow, Many thanks for your review regarding your recent experience at Ghillie Dhu. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your evening, we do try to provide an excellent service for the price provided. We always appreciate feedback as to how...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A bit dark and dingy food average soup tasted as if it was made from a packet, a bit dear for what it wasMore

Thank Tylerglo
Central E, General Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Tylerglo, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Ghillie Dhu. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your lunch experience, this is never our aim. I have passed your comments on to the chefs for review, and...More

Nearby
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in
industrial Britain had their most desirable
neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes.
Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest
citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind
grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel
crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and
sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Usquabae Whisky Bar
557 reviews
.08 km away
Kyloe Restaurant at Rutland Hotel
1,723 reviews
.04 km away
Angels Share
616 reviews
.10 km away
The Pompadour by Galvin
566 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edinburgh Gin Distillery
1,242 reviews
.02 km away
Charlotte Square
95 reviews
.21 km away
St Cuthbert's Church
70 reviews
.14 km away
Church of St John the Evangelist
53 reviews
.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jennywade2017
30 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Scott P | Reviewed this property |
walk-ins are welcome and the dress code is casual to dressy
0
Votes
Liz V
12 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from oktschuss | Reviewed this property |
Hi Liz I'm not sure and it's been a while. You should contact the restaurant directly Best
1
Vote
Google Translation
ASTHMOMMA
2 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from venue_manager70 | Property representative |
Hi! We have Ceilidhs every Friday and Saturday don't worry :)
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$33
Cuisine
Bar, Fast food, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2-6 Rutland Place, Edinburgh EH1 2AD, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > West End
  • Neighbourhood: West End
  • Phone Number: +44 131 222 9930
  • E-mail
Description
Originally St Thomas Episcopal Church, Ghillie Dhu has been beautifully restored to showcase its traditional features. With an enviable location tucked in at the West End of the city centre, we are a short distance from Haymarket Train Station and directly opposite all major bus routes. Awarded Best Small Venue at the Scottish Event Awards two years running the team pride ourselves on the quality of catering and service we provide.Ghillie Dhu benefits from a dedicated and experienced Events Team who are poised to look after your event from enquiry right through to completion. Our Chef has created a variety of mouth-watering menus from the best produce that Scotland's larder can offer.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing