We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Tron

$
Neighbourhood:
Old Town
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
9 Hunter Square, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
+44 131 225 3784
Website
Today
10:00 - 01:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 223: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The Service was pretty quick and we ate in the bottom bar. Toasties were very nice and served quite quickly with two children this is always a plus. The decor is very shabby and sadly the carpet was dirty and sticky where we sat on table 34. Maybe scrubbing the toilet cubicle walls and doors could be beneficial as my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sar T
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped into this pub with a friend yesterday evening for couple drinks and some food. Had been previously but for drinks only. Ordered drinks and 7oz Gammon for both of us in upstairs bar. There wasn't any problem and food arrived reasonably quickly.However the guy arrived with the food placed both plates on the table and disappeared quickly without a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill O
General Manager A, General Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Tron, we appreciate all feedback. We are very often praised on our team's great service, and I am very sorry to hear, and can only apologize that the service on your visit wasn't up to standard. I hope you can give us another chance to show... More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Tron after a quick Web search of nearby places to eat on our recent visit to Edinburgh. The pub was busy (Rugby was on) but we found a table upstairs. We ordered food and drinks (which we had to ask to be poured as they were forgotten.) Food came relatively quickly. There was very little chicken in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimberley M
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi Kimberley, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Our chicken curry is one of our most popular dishes so I am surprised to hear you didn't think it was up to standard and can only apologise for this. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your deserts and felt we were good value for money. Regards Adam More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my 2nd visit to The Tron, the first visit was early 2016 on that occasion the food was delivered on time but I was over billed, the management rectified this with not issues. I visited again on the 9th of February the service at the bar was prompt and the bar person was very good, unfortunately after that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi Paul, thanks for taking the time to leave us your review. We appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative. I can only apologise for the mix up in your food order and the substandard food you received, I can assure you this is not a common occurrence. Hopefully you will give us another chance to make a better impression.... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Don't ever bother with this place. The worst gin and tonic I've ever had. And the attempt at nachos was pathetic. I could have done so much better just popping across to the grocery store.

Helpful?
Thank bubblybeky
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave your review, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your recent visit to the Tron, we offer a number of different varieties of Gin in the hope that there is something for everyone. If you wish to discuss your experience further then please contact the pub directly at ilove@thetronedinburgh.co.uk. Regards Adam More 

North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped in here for lunch - 2 burgers and chips, 1 pint and 1 Pepsi for £14. I was surprised how delicious the burger was. Good, fast service from friendly bartender. Located right off the Royal Mile. Best lunch deal we found on our week-long trip to Edinburgh!

Helpful?
Thank Heather M
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi Heather, thank you very much for taking the time to leave your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and we will hopefully see you back next time you're in Edinburgh. Regards Adam More 

turku
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a meal at the Tron for dinner, I ordered grilled salmon. The food was one of the worst dishes I've ever had! The fish was tasteless, somehow overcooked and raw at the same time. How is that even possible? Luckily the potato mash and beans were good. The atmposphere wasn't also that nice, full of young people drinking cheap... More 

Helpful?
Thank paukkumaissi
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your food wasn't up to standard on your visit. If you would like to discuss the issue further, please contact us directly at ilove@thetronedinburgh.co.uk. We are very popular with students, and we completely understand that this isn't everyone's cup of tea. We usually receive great feedback... More 

Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

We were on a quest to find a toastie and found a pretty decent one here, the cheese and tomato being my favorite. The vibe of the place was relaxed and casual. They also had a good selection of booze, including our new found favorite Crabbie's (alcoholic ginger beer).

Helpful?
Thank margiethebrave
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi Margiethebrave, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am glad to hear that your quest was successful and you found your toastie. I will make sure I pass your feedback on to the team. Regards Adam More 

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
375 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2016

We had a great food experience here. My best Steak and Guinness Pie all through Scotland. the pub seemed to have a student profile and we felt old inside here, even though we're young at heart. The interior a bit simple. Still the staff was great and prices reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank high_low73
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your review! We strive to provide excellent quality food and brilliant service at all times, so we are very happy to hear that this is the case. I will make sure to pass your feedback onto the team. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Kirsty Duty Manager More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

The decline of the barstaff: Asked to leave a table we'd been at for 3hrs without prior notice for a group of guys that left after 40mins Ordered food which was brought without them clearing previous dishes. Asked for a jammy donut (baileys + chambord) Apparently they don't make cocktails Got knocked of stool by guy who stole my drink... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shambles8984
General Manager A, Manager at The Tron, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative. If you would like to discuss your complaint in more detail please contact myself directly at ilove@thetronedinburgh.co.uk and I would be happy to address all of your concerns raised. I hope your recent experiences will not put you off coming... More 

Travellers who viewed The Tron also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Tron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Waitstaff, Street Parking
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 01:00
Monday
10:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 01:00
Thursday
10:00 - 01:00
Friday
10:00 - 01:00
Saturday
10:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Hunter Square, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > Old Town
  • Neighbourhood: Old Town
  • Phone Number: +44 131 225 3784
Description
Large 3 level pub in the centre of Edinburgh. We have some of the cheapest drink selections in town so we are very popular with students and backpackers. Traditional pub food served at brilliantly low prices.

We are not affiliated with the venue known as the Tron Kirk.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Tron staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood