We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Roseleaf

$$ - $$$, British,
23-24 Sandport Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6EW, Scotland
+44 131 476 5268
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good20%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (117 reviews)
“eggs benedict” (53 reviews)
“cullen skink” (47 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
23-24 Sandport Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6EW, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Good as always, great beer, great service, great food, regularly have lunch here, never disappointed.

Thank RegularTraveler1000
JONNYFILEITH, Owner at Roseleaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your repeat custom and for taking the time to review us even though your a regular :0)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We'd love to get to the Roseleaf more often, but we live 7000 km away so it's a bit of a challenge. However, we spent most of September visiting family in Edinburgh and pledged we would get back to the Roseleaf -- since had a...More

Thank fred_cameron
JONNYFILEITH, Owner at Roseleaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great that we still float your boat and many thanks for your return custom. Hopefully see you back again with a lot less gap in between!

A TripAdvisor Member
55
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were there today and we're absolutely amazed. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and we expected a good bar meal. But what we get was overwhelming. The crew in the kitchen is absolutely marvellous and prepared the food, even if it is a...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
JONNYFILEITH, Owner at Roseleaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We'll take best bar food in Scotland any day!!! It means a lot as there is so many:) You know where we are when your next in the area:)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for a meal with 7 people. We were well looked after and the service and food was good. The starters especially were excellent. a couple of us had burgers which we found a little rich (from memory it was beef and porkbelly). Cant...More

Thank James R
JONNYFILEITH, Owner at Roseleaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Cheers for coming in and that your group was happy. Prices do reflect quality ingredients and I can vouch that ours are barrie!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came in for brunch and chose The Big Yin. At £10.95 it needed to be good and it was. A big plateful of deliciousness; egg, bacon, black pudding, sausage, beans, potato patty, tomato, masses of hot buttered toast and great coffee. Great atmosphere and really...More

Thank Jackie L
JONNYFILEITH, Owner at Roseleaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Jackie, it is indeed a wee bit more but all the ingredients are tasty & worth it:)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Brilliant atmosphere and just gorgeous food which I've had in the past but couldn't eat last week as I'm on a strict diet. So my option was the soup but I was advised that it might be too hot for me. So the lovely staff...More

Thank Sarah L
JONNYFILEITH, Owner at Roseleaf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Chuffed we brought you some lifetime sunshine in Leith:) Hope to see you back soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Met with a warm & friendly greeting that pervaded the whole place. Sevice was excellent, & efficient. Draught beer in great condition. Food SUBLIME.

Thank Dave J
JONNYFILEITH, Owner at Roseleaf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks Dave and glad you enjoyed the warm welcome. Its always here if you fancy a return visit:)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Best espresso martini in town. Not on the cocktail menu, however they will do it if it's quiet. Nice relaxed place

Thank kerryanne1980
JONNYFILEITH, Owner at Roseleaf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

You weren't supposed to tell anyone!!! Thanks for appreciating though:)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There's something about The Roseleaf which keeps customers coming back. Something safe. Eclectic. Reliable. Honest. Welcoming. Warm. Staff come and go. Times change. But The Roseleaf remains a sanctuary. The only thing that appears to have changed in five years is the fries. Once upon...More

Thank Pedalpower
JONNYFILEITH, Owner at Roseleaf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and for your lovely words. The mackerel is a true belly hugging embrace!!! The double dipped chips are a smidgin healthier without loosing the flavour. We hope to still be doing the same in the next...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came in and it was packed full of locals, table was not ready as it is a smaller place but the staff saved us a table as soon as one was ready. The staff and service was excellent. We have the soup both th fish...More

Thank currycook
JONNYFILEITH, Owner at Roseleaf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback and balanced review. We are only a wee place with a kitchen to reflect in the size department! Glad the overall experience was excellent and hope to see you back soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kezban Mediterranean Restaurant
366 reviews
.14 km away
The Kitchin
2,897 reviews
.13 km away
Mimi's Bakehouse
1,479 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Leith
212 reviews
.53 km away
Leith Market
12 reviews
.14 km away
South Leith Parish Church
5 reviews
.47 km away
Escape Room Scotland - Edinburgh
136 reviews
.43 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sam P
6 April 2017|
Answer
Response from JONNYFILEITH | Property representative |
All breakfast items are under £10:) Email us at the bar and we can send you a menu.
1
Vote
DeniseCl8
5 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JONNYFILEITH | Property representative |
Sorry it took so long to get back... hope you found a bus ok. The No.22 is the most frequent and comes very close to us:)
0
Votes
AnnaKMorris
15 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JONNYFILEITH | Property representative |
We allow dogs in after food service which is around 10pm:)
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$19
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Monday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Friday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 23-24 Sandport Place | Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6EW, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh
  • Phone Number: +44 131 476 5268
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing