We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Loudons Cafe and Bakery

94B Fountainbridge, Edinburgh EH3 9QA, Scotland
+44 131 228 9774
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (130 reviews)
“eggs benedict” (85 reviews)
“cakes” (61 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Soups, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
94B Fountainbridge, Edinburgh EH3 9QA, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Visited here last week with friends, staff very friendly and accommodating, I opted for the pancakes, bacon and maple syrup! I was not disapointed! Portion sizes are very generous and even with a big appetite I struggled to finish it! Drinks lovely, their coconut hot...More

Thank TheScottishJetsetter
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I love this place. It had been a while since I have made it over to Loudons and I was pleasantly surprised to see some meaningful changes to the menu and the service. The staff really know what they are doing and were very polite...More

Thank David B
Craig W, General Manager at Loudons Cafe and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi there and thank you very much for this lovely review! It's a real pleasure to hear that you feel Loudons has only got better since your last visit and we really appreciate the recommendation too! Ratings of 10 out of 10 for our food...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing awful but nothing great other than the price. High price and below average performance equals "not again". Unannounced 45p rise in price for guest coffee -£3 for a tiny flat white! Pancakes with banana and bacon very stodgy, overly sweet and two small slices...More

Thank Simon H
Craig W, General Manager at Loudons Cafe and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us on here. In our eyes, not managing to WOW our customers is almost as bad as getting it wrong! We believe our prices are competitive but that relies on the food and service being...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had over an hour to kill having flown into Edinburgh on an early flight. Loudons was less than 5 minutes' walk from my meeting in Semple Street, so I ordered the full English breakfast. The young staff were friendly and courteous, not rushing to...More

Thank WanderingJJ
Craig W, General Manager at Loudons Cafe and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there and thank you for your review! It's a real pleasure to hear that we serve a range of purposes and we're happy to be a stop-gap when our guests enjoy the experience as much as you did! It's especially great to hear that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had to wait outside for half an hour. When we finally got a table our server was not nice. And on top of that the noice was unbearable. The food was ok, not more than that.More

Thank Ninna S
Craig W, General Manager at Loudons Cafe and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us on here, we try to use all feedback that we are provided with to improve in the future. The wait at the door can sometimes be quite long but we aim to get most...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The breakfast here is very expensive and and just a bit strange The veggie sausages are not anything remotely close to a sausage And the beans are strange Lovely atmosphere and great staff and customer service thoughMore

Thank Katie W
Craig W, General Manager at Loudons Cafe and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review us on here. Our Veggie Breakfast is usually very well received and we can only apologise that it wasn't up to standard on your visit. Admittedly, the sausages are our take on a classic but we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Personally I felt this place was pretty overpriced for mediocre pastries/coffee - my danish swirl was no better than in starbucks or any other coffee chain, and I could have made equally good french press coffee at home. Atmosphere and interior was also reminiscent of...More

Thank Florence R
Craig W, General Manager at Loudons Cafe and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there and thank you for your review. It is really disappointing to hear that you weren't wowed by your visit to our restaurant! Whilst we serve a huge amount more than just coffee and cakes these days, we ensure that coffee and cakes remain...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice atmosphere and good location. Food is good but expensive for what it is Herbal teas (tiny pot) had to ask for more hot water very expensiveMore

Thank ramona s
Craig W, General Manager at Loudons Cafe and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review us on here! At Loudons, we have a commitment to producing everything we serve from scratch with only a small few exceptions. This does come at a cost to our business however we try to make...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Starting our hen weekend we decided on brekky at Loudons after another hen recommended it. A short walk from our apartment and a queue at the door! Popular venue! We were seated quick as we took tables at door. Staff were hospitable moving tables together....More

Thank janet g
Craig W, General Manager at Loudons Cafe and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review us on here. It sounds as if you had a great time with us from not having to wait long for a table being put together to enjoying the food and drinks. It would be great...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been several times with a friend. The place is lovely, and the staff are very kind. Recently we had a fruit scone, a cheese and chives scone, a tea and a smoothie; the scones are amazing, they are quite big and definitively homemade....More

Thank fenny_91
Craig W, General Manager at Loudons Cafe and Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there and thank you for your review! With regards to our pricing, we try to stay as competitive as possible and check our prices with other restaurants around Edinburgh. Ultimately, it is up to us to provide great value for money and that is...More

Nearby
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in
industrial Britain had their most desirable
neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes.
Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest
citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind
grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel
crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and
sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Indaba
830 reviews
.26 km away
Badabing
212 reviews
.07 km away
Zizzi - Edinburgh Quay
287 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
King's Theatre
141 reviews
.37 km away
Edinburgh International Conference Centre
38 reviews
.28 km away
Odeon Cinema
24 reviews
.32 km away
Escape Reality
72 reviews
.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
suesuesue2008
3 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from 221AndrewM | Reviewed this property |
Ditto - took bus - public transport excellent, with an app you can preload. Call them, they are v helpful!
0
Votes
Megan M
19 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Douglas1688 | Property representative |
Hi Megan, We are dog friendly. Hope to see you soon. Regards Douglas
1
Vote
James H
16 October 2016|
Answer
Response from WSR2I | Reviewed this property |
Only went in for breakfast and did not consider a beer, sorry I cannot answer your question. I can only assume that if it is on their menu, they will serve beer as long as it is within the licensing hours.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$12
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 94B Fountainbridge, Edinburgh EH3 9QA, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > West End
  • Neighbourhood: West End
  • Phone Number: +44 131 228 9774
  • E-mail
Description
We are an independent family run and family friendly cafe and bakery. Freshly made is our hallmark....everything is made daily including soups, salads, quiches, pizza, bread and cakes.
Uncompromising in our coffee beans supplied by Artisan Roast and our loose leaf teas from Pekoe Tea.

We serve up one of the best breakfasts and all day Weekend brunches in town and are famed for our Eggs Benny.

We feel that customers with food intolerances should not have to put up with bland choices and pride ourselves in creating interesting and tasty cakes, bread, soups etc. that can be enjoyed by vegans, vegetarians and coeliacs alike.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing