We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Slug and Lettuce

) #1,642 of 1,856 Restaurants in Edinburgh $$ - $$$ , , European
Omini Centre, Leith Walk, Edinburgh EH1 3BN, Scotland
+44 131 524 7700
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good24%
  • Average20%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible20%
1 week ago
“Improved cleanliness but slow service ”
4 weeks ago
“Wasn't Impressed”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Gastropub, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Omini Centre, Leith Walk, Edinburgh EH1 3BN, Scotland
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Seemed cleaner than previous visits and looked like some of the seating had been refreshed. Cocktails were on offer so bartenders were busy making them meaning service was very slow at the bar. Food came quickly and nachos were good (huge portions)More

Thank bifflet
SandLManager, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I'm glad to hear you our cleanliness had improved since your last visit - we have had our furniture upholstered and we think its looking much better. I apologise that you had...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had an amazing time at this slug and lettuce on a hen party. We did the cocktail making session organised by last night of freedom. the cocktail making was brilliant! The Aussie who did this was very friendly and accommodating! you get a glass...More

Thank Helen W
SandLManager, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there, Many thanks for leaving us a lovely review. I'm very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent Cocktail Masterclass - we think its a fab night out and a fun addition to any hen party. I will pass your comments on to Tim...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sat down for a meal and drinks. After some considerable time no members of staff even acknowledge we were in the restaurant. We then left and went to a much nicer restaurant in the Omni Centre!More

Thank Chris B
SandLManager, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us some much appreciated feedback. I'm disappointed visit to hear about your recent visit to S&L - a warm welcome is something that we pride ourselves on and I apologise that on this occasion we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went there for lunch with mother today, we had a drink and something to eat, then we ordered another drink; as we had finished eating we found ourselves watching the girl behind the bar make the drinks. I was just having a glass of...More

3  Thank Samantha H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely decor and I can't get enough of the half price cocktails Friday - Sunday! Delicious margaritas!More

Thank DMC2405
SandLManager, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. Its great to hear you enjoy visiting S&L - our half-price cocktail deal is definitely one of our most popular offers. We have a fantastic range of offers on throughout...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the slug and lettuce as part of a hen party organised by ChilliSauce. Luckily, I didn't have high expectations of the restaurant as it has a very strong 'pub chain' vibe. However, I was not prepared for the food to be so...More

Thank shamsy33
SandLManager, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us some much appreciated feedback. I'm extremely disappointed to hear about your recent visit to S&L - we absolutely do not want our guests to leave feeling 'disgusted'. Firstly, I apologise that we had run...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service was friendly. However food was overpriced for what it was. Nachos with a limited sprinkling of cheese and tiny pots of salsa, soured, cream, etc at a daylight robbery cost. Smothered chicken presented an incredibly small piece of chicken on the bone with dry...More

1  Thank scotsguy31
SandLManager, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit to S&L. With regards to the food you had, we have to stick to the specifications that are given to us...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went in for a drink with a friend last night. Despite there being a few staff behind the bar they seemed to be more interested in pottering about behind the bar than serving. After being ignored for nearly 10 minutes I decided I didn't...More

1  Thank Jean O
SandLManager, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us some much appreciated feedback. I apologise that you did not enjoy your recent visit to S&L - it is disappointing to hear that you felt ignored by our team as we pride ourselves on...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with my fiancé for dinner and drinks. The table was very sticky to begin with and we couldn't pin point someone to re wipe it for us as everyone was running about. I ordered the fish cakes but they were off the menu which...More

2  Thank AlexV85
SandLManager, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm very unhappy to hear about your recent visit to S&L - it is clear that there have been various errors made throughout your evening with us and for that I can only...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service is very nice and sympathetic, the food is realy good, unfortunately there is TOO HOT and that is their biggest problem!!!. Time to invest in good air conditioning!!!More

Thank paulfergusonn
SandLManager, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed the service and food. With regards to our air conditioning - this is a frustrating on-going issue which we are still trying to rectify. Hopefully by your...More

Nearby
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to
malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton
have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a
mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village
found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything
but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street;
even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and
art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Steak Edinburgh
925 reviews
.10 km away
The Conan Doyle
928 reviews
.10 km away
COSMO Edinburgh
1,579 reviews
.05 km away
Giuliano's
817 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edinburgh Playhouse
836 reviews
.09 km away
Sherlock Holmes Statue
66 reviews
.06 km away
Dugald Stewart Monument
10 reviews
.22 km away
St Paul's and St George's Church
10 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
emerald1111
Hi Thinking of the slug and lettuce for light meal before theatre. Has anyone had the buffet menu for 4.95. Was it plentiful and is it served on a saturday. Do they cater for mobility.Could mail them but think asking people who have been have a better idea/truer opinion Any other tips etc very much appreciated.
17 September 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from daviePerth | Reviewed this property |
Hi Sorry for the late reply but just back from holiday. Sorry but didn't know they did a buffet menu but wouldn't think at that price you won't get very much.I would think the fact that the Omni Centre has a Cinema and... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, Gastropub, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 01:00
Saturday
10:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Omini Centre, Leith Walk, Edinburgh EH1 3BN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Edinburgh>  > Broughton & Calton
  • Neighbourhood: Broughton & Calton
  • Phone Number: +44 131 524 7700
  • E-mail
Description
The Slug and Lettuce is just right for combining with any event that's going on - located as we are at the top of Leith Walk in the Omni Leisure development centre, right next door to the Playhouse Theatre. At The Slug we pride ourselves on catering for all occasions - a place to relax and take things easy even if it's just for a coffee or you want a pre or post-theatre meal. Or maybe you'd like to meet up for drinks - or enjoy a proper night out on the town? Whatever you're looking for, we aim to exceed your expectations.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing