Rogue

Rogue

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1334 470354+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tue
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wed
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thu
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Fri
12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Sat
12:00 pm - 1:00 am
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Does this restaurant offer highchairs for toddlers?
About
Rogue is the exciting new Restaurant and Cocktail Bar on South Street! Dry Aged Beef, Locally Landed Seafood, Champagne, Gin Cocktails. We even have our own on site Gin Distillery!
PRICE RANGE
RM 42.00 – RM 424.00
CUISINES
Bar
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles672 reviews
Excellent
448
Very good
98
Average
77
Poor
21
Terrible
28
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

RBrady66
Dundee4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
My husband and I were given an Itison voucher as a gift and overall we thought the whole experience at Rogue was lovely. Our starters and steak mains were delicious. We were both disappointed though when our cheese and biscuit plates came. There is an additional charge of £5 per person for this if you opt to have it instead of one of the desserts that are included in the deal. What came was a very meagre portion of 3 small pieces of cheese, two of the tiniest oatcakes I've seen and a smudge of apple sauce. Come on guys, either make this plate worth the extra £5 or scrap the additional charge.
Written 9 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogueStAndrews
Dear RBrady66, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your starters and steaks on your recent visit to Rogue. We are proud to use only the very best local and sustainable produce in our kitchen, and I am glad your thought your dishes were delicious. We are proud to use cheeses from I.J. Mellis, one of our many local suppliers. I am sorry to hear that your felt your portion was not sufficient. We are always happy to offer more oatcakes if our guests request them, and I am certain that if you raised your concerns with the team at the time of your visit they would have been more than happy to rectify this for you. I hope to welcome you back to Rogue again soon for more local and sustainable steaks! Kindest regards, Ben Scott, Restaurant Supervisor
Written 11 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pioneer69776
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
We booked the private room at Rogue for a large group for my son's 21st birthday. We had a fantastic evening, looked after by our waiter, Lucas who was very attentive . I had arranged everything with Jenny the Manageress, who was very helpful and responded to any questions very quickly. We had ordered a birthday cake from a local baker, and they even collected that for us and let us come early to decorate the room with balloons etc. The food was lovely as was the wine. I would highly recommend Rogue.
Written 24 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogueStAndrews
Dear Pioneer69776, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. All of us here at Rogue are so pleased to here you enjoyed your recent visit to Rogue for your son's 21st birthday. I will be sure to pass your kind words onto Jenny and Lukasz, who will be thrilled to hear from you. I hope to welcome you all back to Rogue again in the near future. Kindest regards, Ben Scott, Restaurant Supervisor
Written 24 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

phatjohn
13 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 couples
My husband and I visited this afternoon to use a 3 course steak dining voucher our daughter had given us for Christmas. We ordered the soup to start which was lovely but when it came to ordering the main course I expected to be able to order a side dish with my steak and sauce but was told the only option was chips served with the steak. I did query this as the voucher did specify that a side dish was included and I had hoped to order the Mac and cheese but was told that it was only chips. That said, the meal was really lovely and the staff were all very helpful.
Written 9 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogueStAndrews
Dear Phatjohn, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your steak dining experience at Rogue. We are proud to use only the best local and sustainable produce at Rogue, and I will be sure to pass your kind words on to the rest of the team. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Rogue again soon. Kindest regards, Jennifer Hunter GM Rogue
Written 11 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stuart M
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
After having a delicious meal at Rogue previously we were very disappointed with the quality of food during this visit. I ordered crab claws to start which had virtually no crab meat in them. My steak arrived with two different type of fries that I certainly did not order and although the steak was perfect there were no other sides. My wife ordered the beef short rib - this meat should have been falling off the bone but it was tough as old boots and basically inedible - this restaurant is not cheap - the very least they can do is get the food right!
Written 2 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogueStAndrews
Dear Stuart, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. As a growing business, we always appreciate all feedback our guests have. I am sorry to hear about your crab starter, you did not raise this issue at the time of visiting and we would have most definitely sought to rectify this for you. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your steak. We take pride in using only the best local and sustainable beef, dry-ageing each cut ourselves in house for a minimum of 50 days. In regards to your steak sides, as stated on our menu, you ordered both our truffle and Parmesan fries, as well as our beef dripping hand-cut chips, and this is what you were served. All of our steaks come with a choice of side and sauce, and if you wished any other accompaniments, you are welcome to order some. Your wife's beef short rib does sound like this was not up to standard, and when you raised this issue with our staff, we did offer a replacement or a choice of another dish, as well as removing the dish from your final bill. I am sorry if you felt this was not a sufficient resolution. I do hope to welcome you back to Rogue again soon to prove this was a one-off experience. If you wish to discuss your visit further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on gm@rogue-standrews.com Kindest regards, Jennifer Hunter GM, Rogue
Written 11 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anne H
Lenzie50 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
The restaurant has a lively atmosphere but the service was slow. The seafood sharing platter starter was fantastic. However, the server did not have knowledge about the menu and the fish pie was the first time I have ever seen it with mussels in their shells inside the pie - rather awkward to pick out all the shells. Flavours were good though. But I felt it was overpriced - £4 for five pieces of asparagus is a bit much! Also a friend had arranged a bottle of wine for us as a surprise and the restaurant didn't give it to us.
Written 9 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogueStAndrews
Dear Anne, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our atmosphere and our smokehouse sharing platter to start. We are proud to use only the best local and sustainable seafood Scotland has to offer in our restaurant. We have recently launched our fish pie on the menu, and your feedback is much appreciated. I will be sure to feed this back to the kitchen in our next management meeting. I hope to welcome to back to Rogue again soon, and if you wish to discuss your experience further please do contact me directly on gm@rogue-standrews.com Kindest regards, Jennifer Hunter, GM, Rogue
Written 11 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Valerie B
Cardiff208 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
This is a trendy restaurant in the heart of St Andrews. It's cosy and intimate with curved, leather seating in a series of perimeter booths and interesting lighting in the brewing section at the end. The menu was promising but at £35 for a ribeye steak I was expecting something akin to the steaks I've had in the USA. In the event, the steak was dry and disappointing. Certainly not worth £35. Would not go here again.
Written 10 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogueStAndrews
Dear Valerie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our venues atmosphere and decor. We have worked hard to develop a modern, sophisticated and intriguing venue for our guests. I am sorry to hear that you felt your steak was not value for money. We are known worldwide for our commitment to local and sustainable beef, dry-ageing each cut for a minimum of of 50-day. If you had raised your concerns at the time of your visit we would have been more than happy to rectify this for you. I hope to welcome you back to Rogue again soon. Kindest regards, Jennifer Hunter GM, Rogue
Written 11 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

AliE
London5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 family
Unfortunately we were placed at the back of the restaurant, next to toilets just separated by a screen, which was not what we had expected. We arrived at 7.30 to be told that several menu items were unavailable. We felt pushed to order food by the waiting staff, who had clearly had no training in the menu items or how to serve food. My husband who was not very hungry, just asked if it was possible to have a starter instead of a main. The waitress said she would check with the chef. Along with the mains, a small portion of turbot dressed with cress arrived. When the bill arrived, he was charged £28 for the pleasure. We did question it and we were only charged the starter menu price, but it was certainly not a pleasant experience and awkward having to complain in a place where we had expected to enjoy a relaxed family celebratory meal. The food itself was fine, fairly limited menu if you don’t want steak, but unfortunate as with a bit of effort, training and investment in staff and supplies, this restaurant could live up to its hidden gem vision.
Written 22 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Wyandour
381 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 friends
We ate on Saturday, a table of four, family had given both couples gift vouchers. Choice of five starters, Two with supplements. Very good quality though small portions. Choice of three mains, Two with supplements! Sirloin steaks were very good served with chips and sauce. But we all ordered vegetables which... Surprise there were a supplement each! We all had desserts which, though small portions, we're very good. We all had drinks wines very varied range though some extremely expensive. Service throughout was excellent. You may gather supplements really rile me. This is a very good restaurant but I think I shall stick to the Vine leaf for a really good meal.
Written 20 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogueStAndrews
Dear Wyandour, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all feedback from our guests. We are delighted you enjoyed your food. We strive to produce the best quality food and stock a variety of wine to provide something for all to enjoy. The vouchers you had were 3 courses including Sirloin steaks which come with beef dripping hand-cut chips and your choice of sauce which we believe is great value for money. Indeed, additional sides carry an extra charge and you are able to upgrade your starter and steaks to premium cuts for a small supplement charge, this is simply to give you the most variety possible. We thank you for choosing to dine in Rogue and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Jenny Hunter, General Manager, Rogue
Written 5 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lindalou132
Glasgow3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 none
My husband and I visited this restaurant on a family recommendation and I have to say the restaurant itself is lovely and has a real good atmosphere, it is predominantly a steak house but has other options for the non meat eater , when we arrived the waitress told us the specials and after looking at menu I decided to opt for the Lobster …….. we had our starters (just as well) when our mains arrived I could not believe the size of the Lobster that was on my plate I have seen bigger langoustine I believe that if a restaurant is offering Lobster it should be of a decent size and if it is on the smaller side be priced appropriately. in effect I had myself an extremely expensive portion of French Fries and not Parmesan fries that were offered with the Lobster . I don’t like leaving negative reviews but on this occasion I think it is justified.
Written 5 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rogue
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, all our lobster is priced on the day which changes all the time I can only apologise about the size of the lobsters. I will relay all your comments to our kitchen team. Riki Smith GM Rogue
Written 7 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rosie A
Aberdeen28 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
On a girls weekend in St. Andrews looking for somewhere nice to eat that wasn’t too fancy. This was perfect for that - lovely decor and ambience. They had a lot missing from the menu like the lobster. Disappointed for the price of the scallops you got 1 scallop cut into 3 pieces (pic attached) - maybe they were low on scallops too? Steak was lovely and mac and cheese was delicious.
Written 18 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogueStAndrews
Dear Rosie A, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad to hear that you felt Rogue was the perfect fit for your girls weekend in St Andrews, and that your enjoyed your steaks and mac and cheese. As a venue committed to using only local and sustainable seafood, I am sure that you can understand that this sometimes means we may not have certain items on our menu. I will pass your comments on to the team, and look forward to welcoming you back to Rogue again soon. Kind regards, Jennifer Hunter GM Rogue
Written 24 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TNF84
Kirkcaldy17 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
Lovely surroundings but meal failed to deliver,medium ordered steak returned as rare then brought back with very little change. £4.00 charged for 6 small mushrooms and two tomatoes. Chocolate tart sweet was horrendous. The staff were very good and attentive and we recieved £12.00 credit . Not about the money its about the experience and based on that wont return.
Written 15 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogueStAndrews
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am sorry to hear that you had to send your steak back as it was cooked to the wrong temperature, the Madagascan chocolate tart is served with olive oil gel, black cherry sobert and vanilla cream and we have had some great feedback from customers since adding it to the dessert menu, I am sorry to hear you did not like it. if you like to talk any more please dont hesitate to contact me on hello@rogue-standrews.com Thank you Riki Smith General Manager
Written 17 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

walkmanFife
Cupar404 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
Booked Sunday brunch here to entertain a couple of friends who were staying for the weekend. Booking was done on a whim on spotting an Itison offer. Itison deal was fine and the booking process online was straightforward. The Rogue booking system worked well, giving an instant email confirmation. Had never been to Rogue before so didn't quite know what to expect, but all was fine. Was surprised to learn they have sides of been hanging in view in glass fridges and a gin distillery behind glass, but it all adds to the interest. Our booking was at 1215, when it was pretty quiet but it started to get pretty busy around 1230. We were warmly received and given a table and menus. It took a while for us to order as one of us was a bit late in arriving, but once our order was taken it was delivered reasonably speedily, given how busy it was. The deal involved a glass of Prosecco which was fairly small, but was fine as some of us were driving, and in fact it was enough. There was also tap water provided. We all ordered different things and all really enjoyed them. I had poached eggs, garlicy tomatoes and mushrooms and vegetarian haggis, which was a great combo, I thought. The poached eggs were great, one of them just perfect, the other slightly harder than I would have preferred, but that is a very minor point. My wife ordered a sandwich and asked for it without fries but they delivered it with them anyway. In the event this was fine as we shared them all out and they were jolly nice! Overall, a very good experience. As well as the food being decent and the service good, the decor and style is very pleasant contemporary and the ambiance good. Most of the customers were relatively young - we were easily the oldest people there! I can't remember exactly what we paid for the Itison deal but it seemed great value and I would look out for it again. I'm also hoping to be back fairly soon for a lunch or dinner to sample the long-hung beef steaks, which looked amazing. All in all, on the basis of this experience, would certainly recommend.
Written 24 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogueStAndrews
Dear walkmanFife, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a kind review. I am very pleased to hear that Rogue took you by surprise, especially with our in-house gin distillery and dry-aging cabinets. I am also glad you enjoyed your brunch, and the points you have raised I will feedback to the kitchen to make sure these are ironed out in future. I hope to welcome you back to Rogue again soon. Kindest regards, Ben Scott, Restaurant Supervisor
Written 24 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Elma G
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 none
Waiting staff very pleasant and helpful. Meal extremely disappointing. My husband had the smallest scallops and lobster we have ever seen. I had turbot to start, nicely cooked but no seasoning at all. My main was pork belly, the skin was like a wet floppy band aid and a thick layer of soft slimy fat under it, this was served in a bowl of tasteless broth with chillies and spring onions floating in it, needless to say I sent it back and ordered the safe bet of fish and chips, disappointingly the batter was very greasy and soggy and the chips were like soggy wedges, I removed the batter and ate the fish, the only decent thing on the plate was the tartare sauce, again nothing was seasoned.I complained about it, the waitress handled all of this very well and deducted 20% off the bill, but we feel we were still robbed of £80. Also the presentation was sloppy. We were really looking forward to going out but just feel like we’ve been fleeced.
Written 11 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rogue
Hello, Firstly I would like to apologise if you felt that you did not enjoy your experience here at Rogue. I will be relaying all your comments back to the kitchen team to see where we can improve. The lobster is delivered to us fresh everyday and the price reflects the weight and changes daily. Riki Smith GM Rogue
Written 12 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Staly gosc
Dunfermline4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 couples
To celebrate our double birthday we decided to have a dinner at Rogue. Starters gave us a great hope for main meal. Mushroom soup was very unique in taste , very good. Same truffle and parmesan chips which we ordered after clients recomendation on FB. Ive order fish and chips but despite lovely presentation and big portion whole dish was not edible , sunk with oil - chips and batter . Fish itself was only ok but the rest absolutely disqusting for such recommended restaurant . Beef mince in burger was not properly mixed with spices , part of burger had a lots of black pepper powder not disolved in a meat . When waitress took.plates when we finished i complained as above but no reaction. Unfortunately our bday dinner was not great. I hope management keep eye more carefully at the kitchen .
Written 12 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rogue
Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave us review, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit with us and I can only apologise I will be talking to our kitchen team about your comments. Thanks Riki Smith GM Rogue
Written 14 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jambowiggy
Livingston76 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
Very disappointing afternoon tea. The bread on the sandwiches was hard as if it had been sitting out for a while, The scones were lovely. The cakes were very disappointing. They were meant to be made by a specialist bakery in St Andrews. However 2 looked identical to Mr Kipling's French Fancies. A lady who was sitting across from us having afternoon tea, came over and asked if she could see our cakes. She mentioned she had complained about her cakes to the server as they did not meet her expectations. She thought ours looked the same as she had been served. She said no one was listening to her complaint. A short while later, a young lady come over to her table and apologised saying they had not had their delivery from the cake shop and some of the cakes were brought in from another source. (Mr Kipling maybe?). Anyway she then presented the lady with a voucher for the restaurant. I mentioned we thought some of the cakes were Mr K's and she did not deny it. Anyway we finished our tea, paid for our extra drink and expected some kind of response re the poor quality of cakes. Nothing. So we left and will not be in a rush to return.
Written 18 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RogueStAndrews
Hi Jambowiggy, Thank your for taking the time to leave us a review. I am keen to work with you directly to resolve your comments, so please do contact me directly on gm@rogue-standrews.com Kindest regards, Jennifer Hunter GM, Rogue
Written 24 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 665
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Sponsored
Dune
$$ - $$$ · Bar, Seafood, British, Scottish
The Grange Inn
$$$$ · European, British, Scottish
The Tavern at Strathkinness
$$ - $$$ · Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
The Criterion
$$ - $$$ · Bar, Pub, Scottish
Ziggy's
$$ - $$$ · American
The Saint Bar & Kitchen
$$ - $$$ · British, Scottish
Mitchell's Deli
$$ - $$$ · British, Healthy, Scottish
The Adamson
$$ - $$$ · European, British, Grill, Contemporary
The Jigger Inn
$$ - $$$ · Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Rogue, St. Andrews - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

All St. Andrews HotelsSt. Andrews Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. Andrews
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire