We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Brooklyn Cafe

) #6 of 46 Dessert in Glasgow #388 of 2,059 Places to Eat in Glasgow $$ - $$$ Cafe, British,
21-23 Minard Road | Shawlands, Glasgow G41 2HR, Scotland
+44 141 632 3427
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good24%
  • Average13%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (12 reviews)
“pulled pork” (33 reviews)
“ribs” (20 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 20:00All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
21-23 Minard Road | Shawlands, Glasgow G41 2HR, Scotland
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 290 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Visited today for breakfast and ordered salmon & scrambled eggs. Coffee was lovely, soft drinks fine & food was enjoyable, probably a bit expensive for what it was but nice enough. Unfortunately, I found a small bit of wire in the food whilst chewing. The...More

Thank KRG-27X
Reviewed 6 days ago

I had a Greek salad. Simple enough, lettuce leaves, feta and olive. Yet the chef drowned the salad in a dressing. This was bad enough as the leaves were soaking and dripping of a dressing that wasn't plain olive oil or even a vinaigrette. It...More

Thank C-JMcE
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Such a shame that this long running establishment has taken such a nose dive in recent years. Very overpriced for very basic food. Rude staff, the guy with dark hair was extremely bad mannered and unhelpful. Bill was charged wrong twice and staff were not...More

Thank Rachael O
Brooklyn1931, Manager at The Brooklyn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Rachael, We have looked at your review but we can't use it to move forward as we are unable to confirm when you were in or who you dealt with when you were in. If you could supply us a little more information about...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

At ~£45 for Lunch (2 adults and 2 kids), I felt it was a bit expensive for what we got. We eat out a lot in the south side (and in general) and I feel the other options provide better quality for the same price...More

Thank Silkyscarf
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On our way home from Glasgow and decided to stop for breakfast at Shawlands. The first cafe we tried stopped serving breakfast at 11.00am so we walked around the area and found the Brooklyn which advertised all day breakfast. I ordered a full breakfast and...More

Thank Alan H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had a fantastic breakfast at the Brooklyn cafe - the food quality was really good, i found it very welcoming and we were accommodated with a request to sit downstairs due to mobility. Staff are friendly and service is efficient. Our bill for a...More

Thank Ggirl78
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for brunch with family and friends - Mum and Dad say "excellent service from Michael!" Iced coffees went down a treat considering the weather, and as a semi-regular it's great to have somewhere where you know the staff will always be personable and...More

Thank IrateContender
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here recently and enjoyed the chili con carne. The vegetarian burger and sweet potato fries were good too. Service good too. Overall, a tad expensive.

Thank Fergal1
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time visit, came in for a roll to take away but got advised into a Rodeo Pizza by Micheal who worked the bar. Also got a personalised milkshake with pistachio and fudge brownie icecream. Great stuff!

Thank Visitor_2400
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

£19.93 ! For two bagels and tea ! A bagel (instead of a roll ) with bacon and a fried egg . Cup of tea . A bagel with sausage and a cup of earl gray tea . That's it . £19.93!! Absolutely will never...More

Thank christohidis
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Strange Brew
101 reviews
.15 km away
Buongiorno
244 reviews
.07 km away
Salt & Vinegar
73 reviews
.05 km away
The Indian On Skirving Street
35 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Strathaven Airfield
17 reviews
.81 km away
Queens Park
12 reviews
.65 km away
The Hidden Gardens
10 reviews
1.24 km away
Pollokshields Burgh Hall
8 reviews
.89 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
ashley g
Hello, I felt compelled to contact you after our visit to your café yesterday as what happened really bothered me for the rest of the day (and night!) Basically, myself with 3 other adults, 1 child and a baby were at our table chatting away and hadn’t noticed that my baby had picked up the drinks menu and was as baby’s do- eating it! I was then shocked when one of your staff members (could have actually been the manager) came up to my baby and snatched the menu out of his mouth and said “these are for other customers”. I immediately apologised but then for the rest of our meal I couldn’t enjoy myself. Why would he snatch something out of a 9 month old babies hand/mouth and in such a violent manner. He could of very easily said to me “would you mind not letting him do that” which of course I would have done but I just felt it was totally unnecessary and I felt completely awkward for the rest of our lunch! I’ve honestly never experienced anything like it and he has totally put me off coming back in again with my baby as apparently you are not child friendly!
15 May 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Brooklyn1931 | Property representative |
Hi AshleyG Thanks for letting us know about this incident. I am the Manager and running a basic time line from when this was posted I have presumed this happened on Sunday 14th May. I was off over the weekend and so far... More
0
Votes
chrisy0_0
Why does the person who answers complaints not take it on the chin. Berating customers makes me not want to visit. Not everyone is going to like what you do, but acerbic comments just make the business look bad 👎
21 November 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Tom P | Reviewed this property |
Been going to this cafe for years and never found any of the staff like this. In fact just the opposite, always willing to help and very apologetic if any mistakes have been made. We all have off days, maybe you were unlucky... More
2
Votes
Thomas H
Your manager was rude &very. Patronising Did not care about our complaints over poor food served cold
27 July 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from James M | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I had a lovely experience and had no reason to speak to the manager as we were there as customers and had a great service.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$28
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 20:00
Monday
08:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 20:00
Thursday
08:00 - 20:00
Friday
08:00 - 20:00
Saturday
08:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 21-23 Minard Road | Shawlands, Glasgow G41 2HR, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow
  • Phone Number: +44 141 632 3427
  • E-mail
Description
Open since 1931, The Brooklyn Café has served its fair share of customers. With an American/Italian menu in the restaurant patrons can choose from plenty of classics from a freshly rolled pizza to full rack of babyback ribs and everything in between!Leaving with a smile on your face is a safe bet though as the homemade Ice-Cream has been a massive hit and is made daily on site. With more experience than most of the the surrounding eateries put together the Brooklyn café know how to keep everyone happy.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing