We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Merchant

97-99 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland
+44 141 553 1577
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (95 reviews)
“seafood” (67 reviews)
“venison” (46 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
97-99 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Delicious food - especially recommend the fillet steak, and the cheese board is amazing. Lovely staff and atmosphere. Right in the centre of the Merchant City.

1  Thank Brian H
Maria N, Owner at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Our fillet steaks are often praised, and for good reason! We only use selected suppliers and all our beef is matured aged which gives it its depth of flavour. Thank you for your review Brian, hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We came upon this restaurant by sheer coincidence and greatly enjoyed the set menu dinner which offered very good quality food at reasonable prices. The restaurant was directly opposite the City Halls and Old Fruithalls and was full the night we went for pre-theatre dinner...More

Thank PatrickLLLLL
Maria N, Owner at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review Patrick!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its been years since I have eaten in this restaurant and based on my experience tonight would not go back. Saturday night restaurant less than half full no comparison to how it used to be. Plenty of hard working staff but food was poor and...More

1  Thank carolinemorrison
Maria N, Owner at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear of your disappointment! We noted that you dined on the Easter weekend when all the restaurants in the Merchant City were especially quiet. We very rarely have any negative feedback especially about a perennial best seller like our mussels. If you had...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Third time here and still excellent. Great tasting quality food, really well presented and great service. Lovely area of Glasgow easy to get to and good parking nearby. Restaurant has lovely decor and atmosphere.

Thank faypat
Maria N, Owner at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had our wedding dinner in the City Merchant 29 years ago shortly after Tony opened the restaurant. We like to return on our anniversary. Enjoyed an excellent pre theatre dinner yesterday. Great quality at very reasonable price. Friendly helpful staff Highly recommenedMore

Thank david b
Maria N, Owner at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you David! We strive to maintain a consistent level of excellence and hopefully this is reflected in the quality of food and service too. Please contact me on 0141 553 1577 to arrange your anniversary booking so we can make it as memorable as...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my partner were recommended the restaurant by a chap named Bo. We arrived on a busy Friday for the pre-theatre menu. The restaurant is a cozy wee spot in Merchant city, in the midst of lovely cocktail bars and next to the Merchant...More

Thank KristyLikesSnow
Maria N, Owner at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Kirsty for your lovely review, see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had Itison voucher for seafood platter, menu gave choice of starters and desserts also, which was really good. We had Cullen Skink and Mussels - both starters delicious. Hot seafood platter was also delicious though of a fish platter than seafood. Great service, would recommend...More

Thank Mary J
Maria N, Owner at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you glad you enjoyed your lunch

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Took my HUSBAND here for his Birthday .we both had the trio starter which was lovely a little piece of salmon,scallops,and King prawn. all tasty then we had the seabream with veg and our extras were mash potatoes and chips .I also had desserts and...More

Thank Caroline G
Maria N, Owner at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Caroline, thank you for your kind review. Our toilet heaters hadn't been switched on, our bad, sincere apologies.Re toilets, they are being refurbished this coming weekend. We are reviewing the décor in the main restaurant and will be making some changes soon, so once...More

Reviewed 15 March 2018

Was very pleased by the fact that using a voucher, had no negative effect on the quality of the seafood platter or on the professional and friendly service we received from our waitress, Gabriella. I have never been disappointed by this restaurant and yesterday was...More

1  Thank Yvonne B
Maria N, Owner at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Yvonne!

Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

This was our first visit here & will be back. I had the tasty soup of the day which was carrot, celeriac & potato piping hot & delicious, my daughter had the blue cheese tart with salad equally great food. Mains of salmon, thyme potatoes...More

Thank kathylivy
Maria N, Owner at City Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Kathy! Its lovely to hear we made you both happy!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 92 hotels in Glasgow
Brunswick Hotel
483 reviews
.12 km away
Babbity Bowster
136 reviews
.16 km away
Rab Ha's Hotel
14 reviews
.18 km away
Fraser Suites Glasgow
1,148 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Qua
1,680 reviews
.10 km away
Koolba
1,666 reviews
.02 km away
The Wilson Street Pantry
233 reviews
.08 km away
Picnic
97 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sharmanka Kinetic Theatre
300 reviews
.22 km away
Glasgow Police Museum
311 reviews
.10 km away
Merchant City
692 reviews
.07 km away
Escape Reality
398 reviews
.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Natalie C
18 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Hardygirl | Reviewed this property |
Hmm I don't see a question!
0
Votes
0123bettyboo
9 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Mariemcvie | Reviewed this property |
Yes! When I was there last week my husband and I ate from an itison lunch menu deal. The chap next to us had the a la carte menu. So no problems here!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$48
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 97-99 Candleriggs | Merchant City, Glasgow G1 1NP, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Glasgow>  > City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: City Centre
  • Phone Number: +44 141 553 1577
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing