We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Alexander Bain Wetherspoons

Market Place, Wick KW1 4LP, Scotland
+44 1955 609920
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good37%
  • Average28%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
5 days ago
“Attractive pub”
6 days ago
“Wick's defacto meeting place”
Closes in 28 min
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
DETAILS
Market Place, Wick KW1 4LP, Scotland
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

It's a wetherspoons so very basic. It's cheap , coffee 1/5. Staff of course very friendly . Out of the pubs in wick go in this one. Avoid the others.

Thank Bill C
Reviewed 5 days ago

Historic building with modern interior. Goood beer and usual low prices from westherspoons We thought this looked a nice pub in centre of town. No parking outside as in precinct

Thank Richard C
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Standard, cheap microwave food. Spacious building. Well trained staff. Always a corner to drink coffee and read the paper. Even caters for a veggie like myself.

Thank Robert C
Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in here a couple of times. Evening meal and next day for breakfast. A really good place. Food was excellent, good choice of beers and a friendly staff. Good atmosphere and a good crowd of locals in. Same the next day too. Wick is...More

Thank ARKAYESS
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently visited here while staying here on business. Quite happy they were showing the champions league on the tv. Pubs and places to eat are few and far between up here but it's always nice to pop into a Wetherspoons. The offers were great on...More

Thank Kevin D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Only two real ales, if you count Doombar as one, and seriously dried up mash. And music! Not Wetherspoon standard at allMore

Thank Canalsidekid
The-Alexander-Bain, Manager at The Alexander Bain Wetherspoons, responded to this review

Unfortunately due to lack of demand we only stock 2 ales on the pumps at a time - this is so we can offer our customers the best quality and value pints in the county. Doom Bar is an incredibly popular real ale within the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here for dinner on the first day of our NC500 adventure after a busy day exploring. Being a Wetherspoons we knew what type of food would be available. We tried ordering via the app but gave up when it wouldn't load the menu!...More

Thank Kelly C
The-Alexander-Bain, Manager at The Alexander Bain Wetherspoons, responded to this review

Thanks for posting a review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Here on a one night stay fantastic pulled chicken with hot sauce it was a special on Wednesday night , haggis neeps and tatties with a whisky sauce fantastic and a double glenmorangie at £3.25 and a pint at £2.19 was a result . The...More

Thank Lorraine B
The-Alexander-Bain, Manager at The Alexander Bain Wetherspoons, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a visitor I sat at a table....youth going around cleaning tables...spoke to him...ignored. Went to counter snd discovered that is where you order. Nothing to indicate this. Ordered Soup.....totally watered down..... and a half slice of bread. Poor everything.More

1  Thank Alex R
The-Alexander-Bain, Manager at The Alexander Bain Wetherspoons, responded to this review

Sorry that our soup was not to your liking. I can assure you that our soup is never watered down. The front of our menus explain how to place your order and also detail our new downloadable App so that you can order from your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had a lovely wrap but my partner was less impressed with his chicken burger but for 2 drinks and lunch for under £15 you couldn't possibly complain. Staff were nice place was clean xxx

Thank Pixiest21
The-Alexander-Bain, Manager at The Alexander Bain Wetherspoons, responded to this review

Thanks very much, I hope the staff were able to attend to any query you had with your meal.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
No 1 Bistro
217 reviews
.34 km away
Wickers World
64 reviews
.34 km away
Bord de L'eau
201 reviews
.06 km away
Devitas Pizzeria & Cafe
147 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wick Heritage Museum
177 reviews
.35 km away
Pulteney Distillery Visitor Centre
132 reviews
.94 km away
Caithness Seacoast
81 reviews
.53 km away
The Nuclear and Caithness Archives
8 reviews
.39 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Rachel H
This isn't really a question but I saw the answer to my review I did. It was only the peas that were cold the rest was fine
16 April 2017|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
0des
would like to see a menu
30 March 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Compo-in-Caithness | Reviewed this property |
0des: I see that you are from Wick so why not just pop in and take a look. There is a menu on each table and no obligation to buy.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$40
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 01:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place, Wick KW1 4LP, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Caithness and Sutherland  >  Wick
  • Phone Number: +44 1955 609920
  • E-mail