We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cafe 1

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
75 Castle Street, Inverness IV2 3EA, Scotland
+44 1463 226200
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 21:30
Sat 12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

813 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 757: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Came to restaurant with my family to celebrate my dads 60th at beginning of March 2017 all the way from Glasgow , absol love the food, great atmosphere, staff very attentive and service great . Will be a celebration to remember . Thank you xx

Helpful?
Thank Maxine F
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Hi Maxine I so happy to hear that your family had a lovely time with us, especially as you came all the way from Glasgow. Will see you again soon. Thanks More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had the place to ourselves for a very early theatre supper. The staff were superb. Our cocktails, food, and the service were all splendid. Great value too Very highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank mdmheath
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Hi It is always nice to see such nice reviews. We do pride ourselves in our service food and atmosphere. I will pass this on to the staff. Thanks More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was meaning to go for ages as i had heard it was always superb and it didnt disappoint. Food is amazing and the service from the staff was brilliant, very accomidating. Has a busy atmosphere about it very social not uptight or pretensious at all. If you dont mind paying a little more than usual for good quality you wont... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 8tsh
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for a great review. I am very happy you enjoyed your experience with us. It is good to hear you enjoyed the food, the service and the atmosphere. Thanks More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I have been meaning to try cafe 1 for a while, and expected good things. The service was efficient and friendly and the restaurant was half full on a weekday evening. We ordered mussels for starters to share, although they were very tasty they were tiny baby mussels and not many of them. Mains were a pasta... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Hi Rob Your review does help and I am happy that you have brought this to our attention. We are always looking at ways to improve the dishes that we offer. I will discuss this further with our Head Chef. Also, thank you for the kind review of the waiting staff. Thanks More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited Cafe 1 recently for an early evening meal with my partner. I was disappointed with my starter of scallops and black pudding as the scallops were very small, certainly not the "King" scallops I was expecting! Main was rump steak which was nice but nothing special - I have had better, less pricey meals elsewhere. The service was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank alan4maree
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Hi I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your evening. Every dish that leaves our kitchen needs to be correct and I wish this was brought to me attention on the evening your were dinning with us. You are correct that we currently have a young staff team and present. It can be difficult for them to get... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well! Where to start.. we were on TripAdvisor looking for places to eat, cafè 1 was in this category. We checked the "terrible" reviews as we normally do and read the owners responses, these were hilarious! Hats off to Norman! Not only did these customers bend the truth, they also tried to mislead others. Norman however investigated these "faults" further... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Hi Scott I glad someone can appreciate my sense of humour. We pride ourselves on good food and good staff. We have measures in place to ensure the the customers receive the service they deserve. Thank you for your very kind comments, I will let the staff know. More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited with 3 others. Food was good especially the burger which was amazing - so succulent. My friend had the vegan burger which wasn't great unfortunately. Service was excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank AliE241
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Hi We appreciate comments like these. Would you be able to email me and expand on the vegan burger as we need to get this product right for everyone. Please email me at info@cafe1.net Thanks More 

Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a wonderful dinner in this restaurant tonight. My husband and son agreed the food was excellent. The staff are very attentive and the service was what you would expect in a quality establishment.

Helpful?
1 Thank Annafka12
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments. We are currently working with a lot of new staff, I am pleased to hear they are meeting standards and that you and your family enjoyed their meal. Thank You More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited for an evening meal with 3 friends as a conclusion to a long weekend of hill walking. Two of us had the sirloin steak & chips with peppercorn sauce which was amazing. The partridge starter was also equally good. However other members of our party were disappointed with their choice from the menu and the hake was apparently dry... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben D
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Hi Firstly I am please you enjoyed enjoyed your steak, you will have needed that after your hill walking. Could you email me the date and time you were in the restaurant so that i can investigate this further, info@cafe1.net Thanks More 

scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely lunch at Cafe 1 with friends for my first visit there, it won't be the last. I always fret a bit when I'm going to somewhere non-veggie thinking it will be veg lasagne again but I needn't have worried. Lots of choices for meat-eating pals and veggie me. Opted for the zucchini croquettes, butternut squash pasta then... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank trippytoesScotland
Norman M, Manager at Cafe 1, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments. The zucchini croquettes are one of my favourites. We like to have a variety of choices for everyone. We are eager to find more Vegan dishes to include in our menu so that more people can feel included in the Cafe1 family, any ideas?? email info@cafe1.net Thanks More 

Travellers who viewed Cafe 1 also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Cafe 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$58 - US$59
Cuisine
European, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75 Castle Street, Inverness IV2 3EA, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Inverness
  • Phone Number: +44 1463 226200

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe 1 staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?