We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

George's

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
19 Queensgate, Inverness IV1 1DF, Scotland
+44 1463 226644
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 354: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stumbled upon George's on a short trip to Inverness, and couldn't believe our luck in finding a restaurant that served S Indian food. We had a masala dosa each and a chick pea masala to share. The food was very good, nicely spiced, and delivered with a smile. We'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank CurlySaz
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
RESTAURANT'S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Having traveled across south India we went to George's for the first time to try our local cuisine. Tasty dishes (offered in mild, medium or hot) and great service mean we'll be back here again soon. Highly recommended. Between two we shared Idli with sambar and coconut chutney to start followed by Fish Moilee, Vegtable Chettinad with Kerela Parata for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
About Restaurant's Favourite Review
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to georges thia restaurant tonight and I can only describe it as awful. To start we had the fish cakes, immediately sent back as they could literally stop swim in oil. The main, a red thia curry can only be described as mediocre. Also selected was vegetables on fire, they could not even be cut with the knife provide... More 

Helpful?
Thank jinxy2
KARTHIKAPPALLIL g, Manager at George's, responded to this review

Terribly sorry that this misunderstanding was not resolved in house. We accept that the fried fish cakes were a little more oily than the customer would have liked. In regards to the dish "veg on fire" this is a Thai fried vegetable dish made incorporating fresh vegetables stir fried and served on a sizzling platter . The vegetables still have... More 

London, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While waiting for a bus To Culloden, I saw South Indian food sign and popped across the street to look at the menu. I was gleeful to find my favourite dosa on the menu. Well, three dosa (2 masala dosa and a chicken tikka dosa) in 2 days and I'm in food heaven. These dosa were wonderful, absolutely wonderful. Given... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rlbcanada
KARTHIKAPPALLIL g, Owner at George's, responded to this review

In highland only one place in Inverness only can get you the best dosa, thanks for you great reviews about us will see you again next time you visiting Inverness thanks More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been a foodie, I will never recommend this place to anyone whom I am a well-wisher (at least for the buffet which I have tried with my family, they don't know what to prepare for Veg buffet). After travelling long you expect some respect and comfort which I did not receive from the staff who was servicing us for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amit G
KARTHIKAPPALLIL g, Owner at George's, responded to this review

Hi amit, I am george making all the food for sona tour group for last 4 years , we never had complaint anything else with any of our group also I do the food star tour for 200 people in one day ,you only 15 people have been there in our restaurent I make sure that till now we make... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a group of 15. Came on a tour to inverness. Prebooked and paid. The staff was arrogant. Chef didnt serve as per our requirement. on one occassion staff was rude with our child asking rudely yes or no. Ice cream served was less than a scoop. they were removing the plates even before we finished as if they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rajeshtvkrishnan
KARTHIKAPPALLIL g, Owner at George's, responded to this review

We find that your reviews are totally wrong because no any member of staff never rude to any of the customers ever , this is completely wrong because I make sure our waitresses are Scottish origin I leave here now become 10 years Scottish staff never rude to any one specially in our restaurant be cool,you & your friend having... More 

Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having looked at the trip advisor site for a steer I was seriously trying to work out how this restaurant gets high ratings. The entrance should have alerted us to what lay beneath! Pretty run down entrance to basement level room. Friday eve but was dead. As for Indian/ Thai - it looks like an American diner and cheap on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Highdad
KARTHIKAPPALLIL g, Owner at George's, responded to this review

I found that your reviews make us more better , in that day when you are eating our music charger was broken we trying to fix but can' t do that so head Chef george coming always evening at 6 because of parking problems so you been there in restaurant at 5.15pm so only one chef is there in the... More 

Glasgow, Scotland,UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My partner and I visited on Saturday 15 April after a few drinks. Both of our dishes were very tasty and also the portions were fine. We very rarely have starters as we cannot finish our main meal. Anyway it is worth a visit, this was our first time at Georges.

Helpful?
Thank Danny H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Visited y'day for a return trip to George's. A colleague ordered the same as my previous visit, the holi basil fish - it was as I remembered it, soft delicious, rich fish and vegetables in sauce. We also ordered a chicken Thai curry that was full of flavour, a slightly sad, tho very crisp iceberg salad came with it. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank anedinburghman
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2017

if you want to feel pampered and eating in great surroundings then make sure you make a visit here. Wonderful food. Great hosts. Can have under one roof different types of south Indian food and good thing is every food is class by itself.

Helpful?
Thank vivekjain0178

Travellers who viewed George's also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to George's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:30
Thursday
12:00 - 22:30
Friday
12:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 19 Queensgate, Inverness IV1 1DF, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Inverness
  • Phone Number: +44 1463 226644
Description
we serve very authentic thai food &south indian food also tandoori dishes my tandoori authentic indian , george is the head cheff of this restaurent never get changed the cheff , george is completely dedicated in this restaurent , george is worked as a head cheff in holiday inn bangaloor also goa for 5 to 10 years also sous cheff A in italiyan cruise line costa for 8 years , george been worked before as a second cheff in culloden house hotel also worked as a head cheff in bella italiya inverness , george make amusing thai & south indian food in georges , if you try one's in georges he will be feel the perfection of the authentic dishes specially masala dosa also tom yum soups lots vegetarian dishes try for the best

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from George's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?