We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pancake Place

$$ - $$$, Cafe, British
108 High Street, Elgin IV30 1BW, Scotland
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible23%
13 May 2018
“Breakfast”
14 Jan 2018
“Gone downhill”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Scottish, Cafe, British
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
108 High Street, Elgin IV30 1BW, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2017

The staff are very nice nothing is to much for them, the food is very good too and its not just pancakes they do and there milkshakes are out of this world

Thank Susan P
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Went into the restaurant at 4.15pm yesterday as not one member of staff was about to seat us we waited 15 mins and still no one was about so we left the restaurant. I was very disappointed that I had travelled from Inverness to Elgin...More

1  Thank Jennifer R
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Went with a friend, we were greeted by a nice young waitress who seated us in a booth near the front of the restaurant. Our order was taken quickly but found it was quite a wait for the food to come, and when it did...More

Thank Rm1459
Paul M, General Manager at The Pancake Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Without knowing what you ordered it is difficult to investigate the quality of the food you received but I am glad that you found our staff member attentive, even if you didn't feel the manager on duty took your complaint as seriously. We do acknowledge...More

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

I took my wife and 3 small children here for a family treat. The kids really enjoyed the pancakes and the milkshakes. The staff were very friendly and the service was good. We've been here before and will be back. It is located on the...More

Thank Clement C
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

The menu at the pancake place is very good and based on price I think it is quite reasonable hence why I have given 2 stars instead of just the one! I visited on two occasions over the past few months, I like to give...More

Thank RNM1985
Paul M, General Manager at The Pancake Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Mmmm, sweetcorn in Scotch Broth that's a new one on me as well, I spoke to the manager about it and she couldn't recall seeing that either so perhaps one of the kitchen staff got over-creative on her day off. We normally get rave reviews...More

Reviewed 9 January 2017

Visited with family and stood for over 10 minutes while a young girl cleaned a table never acknowledged us or apologised for our wait. Another staff member came out and apologised and said they where really busy however there were plenty of empty seats. Finally...More

Thank juliemcgrath85
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Went for breakfast of four items - took a long time to come - didn't seem that busy. When the breakfast did come it didn't look too brilliant - was hungry so eat it. Went to pay and she tried to over charge me, she...More

Thank 19angelagray
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Came here with my two children as we love pancakes and the name sounds very promising, and on walking in I should have known better as the waitress that served us was very dour faced & unfriendly and the decor inside was tired. Anyway we...More

1  Thank Lesley H
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We enjoyed our visit. Were seated quickly and the booth seating although looking a little dated was comfortable. Maybe a touch up of the existing chairs and tables could be done but I'd not suggest swapping out for chairs. They don't make it easy to...More

Thank DavidMacarthur
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Soup of the day was tomato.tasted horrible.very over priced.£3.50.medium fresh orange £2.50.tasted as if it was from a cheap carton from a supermarket.just a few other costemers in,service is very slow.almost ended up walking out.only came here cos its sunday and most other places were...More

1  Thank steven6765
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Elgin
The Mansefield Hotel
202 reviews
.35 km away
Sunninghill Hotel
103 reviews
.41 km away
Royal Hotel
159 reviews
.63 km away
Laichmoray Hotel
337 reviews
.66 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ada Turkish Restauarant
207 reviews
.10 km away
Pizzeria Toscana
359 reviews
.12 km away
Scribbles
325 reviews
.12 km away
Pattaya Thai Restaurant
182 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glen Moray Distillery
260 reviews
1.58 km away
Elgin Cathedral
634 reviews
.63 km away
Pluscarden Abbey
96 reviews
.97 km away
Elgin Museum
86 reviews
.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Pancake Place staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$10
Cuisine
Scottish, Cafe, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 108 High Street, Elgin IV30 1BW, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Moray  >  Elgin
Description
A wide selection of breakfast, lunch and dinner options, served to your table in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing