We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fern Cottage Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ferry Road | Fern Cottage, Pitlochry PH16 5DD, Scotland
+44 1796 473840
Website
Today
10:30 - 21:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:30 - 21:00
Sat - Sun 10:30 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

873 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 816: English reviews
Glasgow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Surprised on a cold Thursday night in February to find several other tables occupied. The town seemed very quiet, but the restaurant was warm and had a good atmosphere. Good selection of food, freshly cooked and using local ingredients. Some Mediterranean dishes alongside Scottish ones, good sized portions. Definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Homewright
glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had been looking forward to a nice meal as we had enjoyed ourselves there in the past. However, this time there seemed to be little effort to please guests. The menu was extremely limited, and although our meals were Ok the lack of choice, possibly because of the time of year, was disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank mags1941
TeamFernCottage, Responder at Fern Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review

Unfortunately, as it would appear that no comments were passed on to ourselves during your visit, it is difficult to know which, dinner or lunch, you are referring to , we are at a bit of a loss as to which you can be describing! For the benefit of the Tripadvisor community whilst we do slightly reduce the number of... More 

West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been fans of the Fern Cottage for many years. It had been closed for a while but has re-opened and we went back in December 2016 for dinner after a visit to the theatre. There were 9 of us 8 adults and 1 child. We were welcomed on arrival and served by a very happy and informative server.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Happywanderers T
TeamFernCottage, Responder at Fern Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very glad that you and your party had an enjoyable evening with us. We hope to welcome you back again More 

Invergordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017

I went here with my friend for an evening meal, it looked nice and the reviews sounded good. Looking at the menu we both realised it seemed slightly overpriced. The food was pleasant enough but very simply cooked and not really worth the money, a garlic mushroom starter was nearly £6 and it was a very simply cooked dish with... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnneN37
TeamFernCottage, Responder at Fern Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the restaurant. We source the best quality of fresh food available and this is cooked to order. We could of course bring in cheaper frozen products, as many do and offer cheaper meals but this would not sit with our ethos of offering the best freshest food that we... More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016

My wife and I were on a very long evening drive from the central belt, up the A9 and eventually going across to Roy Bridge one Friday evening in December, with no plan for eats. What to do? I know, let's divert into Pitlochry and see what's open. Once parked, we were met with quiet streets and darkened shop and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Will M
TeamFernCottage, Responder at Fern Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks WillM for your lovely review. We are so glad that your "divert" led you to us and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Quite an extensive menu and food served was well presented and cooked. The venison and lamb were particularly delicious. Serving staff struggled to cope however. Wine waitress was hesitant and ill at ease pouring the wine - resting the neck of the bottle on the lip of the glasses while she poured was unusual. The other waitress managed to order... More 

Helpful?
Thank imduncan
TeamFernCottage, Responder at Fern Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review

Firstly thankyou for your review and the comments that you did enjoy your food. We can only apologise for the level of service given. The "wine waitress" was new and was as you say hesitant - she has since decided that the restaurant business is not a career for her and is no longer with us! The other has been... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Had another enjoyable visit to Pitlochry whilst attending the theatre with my wife and friends . Decided to try the Fern Cottage after reading a few TripAdvisor reviews. The meal and the service were unfortunately just average which was a Pity as we had built our hopes up on the various different dishes we ordered . Will try somewhere different... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom J
TeamFernCottage, Responder at Fern Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not seem to enjoy your visit with us. As you say this is not what we usually hear from our customers as the many reviews on this site will testify too - however as you did not comment on anything whilst you were with us it is difficult to respond appropriately or rectify matters... More 

Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Nice to see somewhere truly offering a distinctive menu which this certainly does with the Turkish connection. Everything we ate was excellent. The only complaint was it was a little chilly, but the outdoor temperature had just dropped. Still, I think it's the first time I've seen a diner with coat on and hood up!

Helpful?
Thank GreenTs
TeamFernCottage, Responder at Fern Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal with us. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back at some time More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal as always the steaks are fantastic.As was the service romantic setting,lovely log burner cosy.thanks again

Helpful?
Thank William K
TeamFernCottage, Responder at Fern Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks - as always a pleasure having you dine with us. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016

We were very 'last minute' so pleased they could seat us and serve up a simple but delicious table d'hôte. A warm welcome and very good service.

Helpful?
Thank Peedieduchess
TeamFernCottage, Responder at Fern Cottage Restaurant, responded to this review

Thans Peedieduchess for taking the time to post a review. We would always advise booking ahead as we can get very busy especially for pre-show menus, Glad you enjoyed your visit with us- hopefully we will see you again. More 

Travellers who viewed Fern Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Grandtully, Pitlochry
 

Been to Fern Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Mediterranean, European, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 21:30
Monday
10:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
10:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
10:30 - 21:00
Thursday
10:30 - 21:00
Friday
10:30 - 21:00
Saturday
10:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ferry Road | Fern Cottage, Pitlochry PH16 5DD, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Perth and Kinross  >  Pitlochry
  • Phone Number: +44 1796 473840
Description
Fern Cottage Restaurant in the heart of Pitlochry is a firm favourite, both for local residents and visitors to Highland Perthshire. We are located as close as you can get to the heart of this picturesque Victorian town. Fern Cottage Restaurant offers a warm Highland welcome, truly tasty food and personal service for every customer. Our menus have an emphasis on flavour, the freshness of Scotlands' larder and a taste of the Mediterranean. There is now more than ever on offer with different menus at lunch and dinner times. Retaining much of the original ethos of using Scottish, seasonal ingredients to create dishes with a Mediterranean twist, our food is cooked to order and guarantees a treat for your taste-buds, whether a classic or a contemporary dish. Fern Cottage is now on winter hours. We will be open for lunches from 12noon with last orders at 2.15pm. We will re-open for pre-theatre or a la carte in the evening all using seasonal produce - we offer you something special every time. Head Chef Rifat Aycan has created the new menus using an exciting new range of dishes packed with flavour and all beautifully presented. Whether front of house or 'behind the kitchen door, every member of our team is dedicated to ensuring you enjoy your visit, spread the word and come back for more!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fern Cottage Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Falkirk, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Fern Cottage Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?